Thirteen Rules or the Difficulty of Sexpressing Oneself / Conversations with Pupils and Teachers

Films by Stefan HAYN and talk with Clemens KRÜMMEL

Image (from top to bottom): Filmstills of "Thirteen Rules or the Difficulty of Sexpressing Oneself," 1998, 50 min and "Conversations with Pupils and Teachers," in cooperation with Anja-Christin Remmert, 2000, 45 min.

 

Two films integrated in Stefan Hayn’s installation shown at the exhibition Looking at the Present through Rear-View Mirrors will be presented on the big screen. After the screening art historian Clemens Krümmel and the artist will talk about the films and Hayn’s artistic practice.

In Dreizehn Regeln oder Die Schwierigkeit sich auszudrücken (1998) (Thirteen Rules, or the Difficulty of Expressing Oneself), Copi’s Feydeau/Chekhov parody L’homosexuel ou La difficulté de s’exprimer (1971) meets Ad Reinhardt’s disassembly of artistic identity The Artist in Search of a Code of Ethics (released in 1960 in reaction to the labels “abstract expressionism” and “pop art”) – one could say that in this confrontation the “anti-oedipal” stipulations of “modern” and “postmodern” image production are exploding – or imploding – against the background of the, often intensely violent, underlying mother-father-child-relationships – and vice versa.
Gespräche mit Schülern und Lehrern (2000) (Discussions with Students and Teachers) makes the relevant institutional and historical framework (some ten years after the German reunification), as well as the specific individual attempts to deal with these explosions and implosions, visible and audible from different generations’ perspectives.
Stefan Hayn, 8 May 2017

Dreizehn Regeln oder Die Schwierigkeit sich auszudrücken (Thirteen Rules or the Difficulty of Sexpressing Oneself)
after texts by Ad Reinhardt and Copi
1998, 50 min, colour and b/w
Director: Stefan Hayn
with: Roswitha Schaab, Charlotte Algermissen, Stefan Hayn, Rüdiger Tomczak, Heinz Emigholz, Kirsi Mikkola, Michael Taubenheim, Rudolf Barmettler, Anja-Christin Remmert, Martha Wilson, Julia Bantzer, Stefan Flach, Alexander Heimberg
Camera: Patrick Popow, Bernadette Paassen, Sandra Merseburger
Sound/music: Klaus Barm, Filmorchester Babelsberg

Gespräche mit Schülern und Lehrern (Conversations with Pupils and Teachers)
at three schools of Berlin: Otto Wels-Grundschule Kreuzberg, Ludwig Erhard-Gesamtschule Lichtenberg, Erich Fried-Gymnasium Friedrichshain
2000, 45 min, colour
Director, editing: Stefan Hayn in collaboration with Anja-Christin Remmert
Camera/sound: Anja-Christin Remmert, Stefan Flach, Klaus Barm

 

Stefan Hayn lives in Berlin. His films released since 1989 question artistic as well as cinematic categorisation, and reject simplistic genre attributions. His works (films, painting, essays) have been presented in a wide range of art and film contexts. He has taught at Berlin University of the Arts, specializing in the interrelations of film and painting.

Stefan Hayn is a painter and filmmaker. In his more recent works he attempts to enable an emotional experience of film-immanent processes or – in comparisons within the exhibition space – processes of painterly or filmic perception including their social-historical and biographical-individual connections. He also reflects on artistic approaches aiming towards openness in conceptual-essayistic works. He presents his films in cinemas, on TV, and at international festivals. Most recently, the Heidelberger Kunstverein and the Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig, Vienna showed a selection of his film works and paintings.

For a filmography of Stefan Hayn, see also:
filmportal.de: Stefan Hayn

Clemens Krümmel *1964. Lives and works in Berlin and Zurich. Art historian, freelance curator, author and translator. Studied art history and philosophy at Bonn University; assistant curator at Karl Ernst Osthaus-Museum, Hagen (Germany) from 1987–1994; Co-publisher and editor of the Berlin-based art magazine „Texte zur Kunst“ 2000–2006. Co-founder (with Alexander Roob) of Melton Prior Institute for Reportage Drawing, Düsseldorf, in 2006. Co-editor of the book series “Polypen”, b_books Verlag, Berlin (w/ Sabeth Buchmann, Helmut Draxler, Susanne Leeb). Currently assistant professor, ETH Zurich, Department for Architecture and Art.

Location
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Wed-Fri 11.00 – 18.00
Sat 11.00 – 15.00

Dreizehn Regeln oder Die Schwierigkeit sich auszudrücken / Gespräche mit Schülern und Lehrern

Filme von Stefan HAYN und Gespräch mit Clemens KRÜMMEL

Bild (von oben nach unten): Filmstills aus "Dreizehn Regeln oder Die Schwierigkeit sich auszudrücken", 1998, 50 min und "Gespräche mit Schülern und Lehrern", in Zusammenarbeit mit Anja-Christin Remmert, 2000, 45 min.

Stefan Hayn zeigt zwei Filme, die in seiner Installation in der Ausstellung eingebettet sind, auf Großleinwand. Nach der Vorführung spricht der Kunsthistoriker Clemens Krümmel mit dem Künstler über die Filme und über seine Kunstpraxis.

In Dreizehn Regeln oder Die Schwierigkeit sich auszudrücken (1998) trifft Copis Feydeau/Tschechow-Paraodie L’homosexuel ou La difficulté de s’exprimer (1971) auf Ad Reinhardts Künstleridentitäts-Demontage The Artist in Search of A Code of Ethics (1960 angesichts der Labels „Abstrakter Expressionismus“ und „Pop Art“ veröffentlicht) – man könnte sagen, dass in dieser Konfrontation die „antiödipalen“ Maßgaben des „modernen“ und „postmodernen“ Bildermachens explodieren – oder implodieren – vor dem Hintergrund der darunter liegenden, oft gewalttätig zugespitzten Mutter-Vater-Kind-Verhältnisse – und umgekehrt.
In Gespräche mit Schülern und Lehrern (2000) werden aus unterschiedlichen Generationenperspektiven der konkrete institutionelle und zeithistorische Rahmen (ca. zehn Jahre nach der „deutschen Wiedervereinigung/Wende“) wie auch die jeweils individuellen Versuche, mit diesen Ex- und Implosionen umzugehen, anschau- und anhörbar.
Stefan Hayn, 8. Mai 2017

 

Dreizehn Regeln oder Die Schwierigkeit sich auszudrücken
nach Texten von Ad Reinhardt und Copi
1998, 50 min, Farbe und S/W
Regie: Stefan Hayn
mit: Roswitha Schaab, Charlotte Algermissen, Stefan Hayn, Rüdiger Tomczak, Heinz Emigholz, Kirsi Mikkola, Michael Taubenheim, Rudolf Barmettler, Anja-Christin Remmert, Martha Wilson, Julia Bantzer, Stefan Flach, Alexander Heimberg
Kamera: Patrick Popow, Bernadette Paassen, Sandra Merseburger
Ton/Musik: Klaus Barm, Filmorchester Babelsberg

Gespräche mit Schülern und Lehrern
an drei Berliner Schulen: Otto Wels-Grundschule Kreuzberg, Ludwig Erhard-Gesamtschule Lichtenberg, Erich Fried-Gymnasium Friedrichshain
2000, 45 min, Farbe
Regie, Schnitt: Stefan Hayn in Zusammenarbeit mit Anja-Christin Remmert
Kamera/Ton: Anja-Christin Remmert, Stefan Flach, Klaus Barm

 

Stefan Hayn lebt in Berlin. Seine seit 1989 veröffentlichten Filme hinterfragen künstlerische sowie filmische Kategorisierungen und verweigern sich einfachen Genrezuschreibungen. Seine Arbeiten (Filme, Malerei, Essays) wurden in unterschiedlichen Kunst- und Filmkontexten präsentiert. Er lehrte an der Universität der Künste Berlin schwerpunktmäßig zum Verhältnis von Film und Malerei.

Stefan Hayn ist Maler und Filmemacher. In seinen jüngeren Arbeiten versucht er, filmimmanent bzw. in Gegenüberstellungen im Ausstellungsraum malerische und filmische Wahrnehmungsprozesse in ihrer gesellschaftlich-historischen wie lebensgeschichtlich-individuellen Anbindung emotional erfahrbar zu machen. Die ins Offene angelegten bildnerischen Vorgehensweisen reflektiert er auch in begrifflich-essayistischen Arbeiten. Er präsentiert seine Filme im Kino, im Fernsehen und auf internationalen Festivals. Zuletzt zeigten der Heidelberger Kunstverein und das Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien eine Auswahl seiner malerischen und filmischen Arbeiten.

Zur Filmografie von Stefan Hayn siehe auch:
filmportal.de: Stefan Hayn

Clemens Krümmel, *1964, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Zürich. Er ist Kunsthistoriker, freier Kurator, Autor und Übersetzer. Er war Mitherausgeber und Redakteur der Berliner Zeitschrift Texte zur Kunst (2000–2006), Mitgründer des Melton Prior Instituts für Reportagezeichnung, Düsseldorf (mit Alexander Roob) und ist Mitherausgeber der Buchreihe „Polypen“, b_books Verlag, Berlin (mit Sabeth Buchmann, Helmut Draxler und Susanne Leeb). Zurzeit hat Clemens Krümmel eine Professur für Architektur und Kunst an der ETH Zürich inne.

Veranstaltungsort
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Mi-Fr 11.00 – 18.00
Sa 11.00 – 15.00