Opening: LOOKING AT THE PRESENT THROUGH REAR-VIEW MIRRORS

Eva EGERMANN / Stefan HAYN / Kerstin SCHROEDINGER / Vladislav SHAPOVALOV

Invitation card of the exhibition LOOKING AT THE PRESENT THROUGH REAR-VIEW MIRRORS / Eva EGERMANN · Stefan HAYN · Kerstin SCHROEDINGER · Vladislav SHAPOVALOV / Kunstpavillon Innsbruck 19 May - 29 July 2017

The Tiroler Künstler*schaft invites you and your friends cordially to the exhibition opening in the Kunstpavillon in the frame of the Fellowship Program for Art and Theory at Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen 2016-17.

 

The exhibition Looking at the Present through Rear-View Mirrors is concerned with the state of contemporary existence and its conditions, actively incorporating historical narrative threads whose significance has been lost from general awareness or suppressed, but which might help to constitute an understanding of the present day. Fifty years after the initial publication of a much-cited aphorism by Marshall McLuhan in The Medium is the Massage (“We look at the present through a rear-view mirror. We march backwards into the future”), it is also necessary to question this statement critically regarding its current validity. In this regard, the exhibition also focuses on that moment of perception when present and past seem impossible to distinguish, and not least on the question of what extension in time such a moment can withstand.

In order to understand this better, one could imagine the following scene: one is sitting behind the wheel of a car a few moments after narrowly avoiding a dreadful crash. Looking into the existing rear-view mirrors – there are usually three, one inside and two outside, but in our case the number is only significant in the sense that it is plural – shows us an image following the same event, which is now several seconds past in time, but each in a different section. The perspective is always slightly altered, and although capable of assuming the overall picture, one will never be able to reconstruct a precise overall picture from these separate images. And nonetheless, what is perceived as the immediate past is also part of one’s own present: once again, is the impression given, one has narrowly escaped a potential catastrophe. And the important thing now is to understand, to process what happened.

The exhibition Looking at the Present through Rear-View Mirrors has emerged from close examination of the projects and working methods of the participants in the 2016-17 Fellowship Program for Art and Theory at Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen. Their artistic and theoretical approaches, fields of investigation, and overall themes formed the starting point for the exhibition concept. During the conception of the second edition of Crip Magazine and the associated Crip Magazine Convention (2/3 June 2017) Eva Egermann engaged with oppositional practices, appropriation, social movements, and pop cultures which are concerned with deviance, the abnormal, illness, and disablement. Artist and filmmaker Stefan Hayn has made a critical investigation of current premises to and characteristic forms of visual narrative for children in various media. This is brought together in a painterly-cinematic installation, a film screening (19 May 2017), and a lecture with subsequent discussion (20 June 2017). Kerstin Schroedinger is expanding on her research into the historical and material conditions of analogue film, and has realised two audio works, supplemented by a performance evening (20 May 2017) and a film presentation and discussion (13 June 2017). Finally, Vladislav Shapovalov continues his project Image Diplomacy, which investigates specific functions of the image in the former Soviet Union’s and the USA’s systems of political culture, and illuminates specific historical aspects in the construction of the political-imaginary via exhibition strategies and the photographic medium during the 20th century. In the exhibition he is presenting a protofilmic installation and organizing a symposium (30 May 2017) on exhibition and film formats as media of political articulation.

 

Events during the opening weekend:

· Curator’s tour with the artists
with curator Andrei Siclodi the participating artists
Friday 19 May 2017, 18.00
KUNSTPAVILLON, Rennweg 8a, 6020 Innsbruck

· Films by Stefan Hayn:
Thirteen Rules or the Difficulty of Sexpressing Oneself, 1998
Conversations with Pupils and Teachers, 2000
After the screening talk with Clemens Krümmel (art historian, Berlin)
Friday 19 May 2017, 19.30
KUNSTPAVILLON, Rennweg 8a, 6020 Innsbruck

· Performance-Evening
with Nathan Gray · Olive Michel & Fred Hystère · Kerstin Schroedinger
Saturday 20 May 2017, from 17.00
KÜNSTLERHAUS BÜCHSENHAUSEN, Weiherburggasse 13, 6020 Innsbruck

 

Exhibition Details:
Opening on Thursday 18 May 2017 at 19.30
Welcoming: Lizzy Fidler, Member of the board
Introduction: Andrei Siclodi, Curator
Duration of the exhibition: 19 May – 29 July, 2017

 

The participating Artists:

Eva EGERMANN is an artist living in Vienna. In her research-based practice, Egermann works with oppositional practices, assimilations, social movements and pop cultures linked to deviance, abnormality, illness and disability. She works with examples from various times and places, which trigger resistance, irritation or contradiction within aesthetic representations of the undamaged. A huge range of materials can be found in her artistic projects – restaged, revised (e.g. in the form of a newspaper) – or during band practice.

Stefan HAYN is a painter and filmmaker and lives in Berlin. His films since 1989 question artistic as well as cinematic categorisation, and reject simplistic genre attributions. His works (films, painting, essays) have been presented in a wide range of art and film contexts. He has taught at Berlin University of the Arts, specializing in the interrelations of film and painting.

Kerstin SCHROEDINGER is an artist working with video, sound and text. Her historiographic practice questions the means of film production, historical continuities and ideological certainties of representation. Her films and curatorial practice are often collaborative.

Vladislav SHAPOVALOV is an artist and researcher living and working in Milan and Moscow. Between 1999 and 2007 he was a member of the art-group Radek Community. Since 2008 he has been working independently on projects that focus on rethinking images, cultural artifacts and the construction of narratives as a way to construe and analyze geopolitical configurations.

Location
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Wed-Fri 11.00 – 18.00
Sat 11.00 – 15.00

Eröffnung: DIE GEGENWART IN RÜCKSPIEGELN BETRACHTEN

Eva EGERMANN / Stefan HAYN / Kerstin SCHROEDINGER / Vladislav SHAPOVALOV

Vorderseite der Einladungskarte der Ausstellung DIE GEGENWART IN RÜCKSPIEGELN BETRACHTEN / Eva EGERMANN · Stefan HAYN · Kerstin SCHROEDINGER · Vladislav SHAPOVALOV / Kunstpavillon Innsbruck 19. Mai - 29. Juli 2017

Die Tiroler Künstler*schaft lädt Sie und Ihre FreundInnen herzlich zur Ausstellungseröffnung im Rahmen des Fellowship-Programms für Kunst und Theorie im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen 2016/17 in den Kunstpavillon ein.

 

Die Ausstellung Die Gegenwart in Rückspiegeln betrachten beschäftigt sich mit Fragen des Zustands unserer Gegenwart unter aktiver Einbeziehung geschichtlicher Erzählstränge, deren Bedeutung zwar aus dem allgemeinen Bewusstsein verschwunden beziehungsweise verdrängt worden sind, die für das Verständnis dieser Gegenwart jedoch konstitutiv sein könnten. Fünfzig Jahre nach der Erstveröffentlichung des vielzitierten Aphorismus Marshall McLuhans „Wir betrachten die Gegenwart im Rückspiegel. Wir marschieren rückwärts in die Zukunft.“ in The Medium is the Massage gilt es auch, diese Behauptung auf ihre heutige Gültigkeit hin kritisch zu befragen. In dieser Hinsicht geht es in der Ausstellung auch um denjenigen Wahrnehmungsmoment, in dem Gegenwart und Vergangenheit als ununterscheidbar erscheinen, und nicht zuletzt um die Frage, welche zeitliche Ausdehnung ein solcher Moment verträgt.

Zur besseren Vergegenwärtigung stelle man sich folgende Szene vor: Man sitzt am Steuer eines Autos, wenige Augenblicke nachdem man einer Karambolage knapp entkommen ist. Der Blick in die vorhandenen Rückspiegel zeigt zwar das Folgebild desselben Ereignisses, das zeitlich nun einige Sekunden zurückliegt, jedoch in einem jeweils anderen Ausschnitt. Die Perspektive ist immer ein wenig verändert, und auch wenn man das Gesamtbild zu erahnen vermag, so wird man doch nie aus diesen Bildern ein präzises Gesamtbild rekonstruieren können. Und trotzdem ist das, was man als unmittelbar Vergangenes wahrnimmt, Teil der eigenen Gegenwart: Man ist einmal mehr, so der Eindruck, der potenziellen Katastrophe knapp entkommen. Und nun gilt es zu verstehen, zu verarbeiten, was da geschah.

Die Ausstellung Die Gegenwart in Rückspiegeln betrachten ist das Ergebnis der Auseinandersetzung mit den Arbeitsvorhaben und den Arbeitsweisen der Teilnehmer_innen am Fellowship-Programm für Kunst und Theorie im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen 2016/17. Ihre künstlerischen und kunsttheoretischen Ansätze, Untersuchungsgebiete und Themen bildeten den Ausgangspunkt des Ausstellungskonzepts. Eva Egermann beschäftigte sich im Zuge der Herstellung der zweiten Ausgabe des Crip Magazine und der Vorbereitung der damit verbundenen Crip Magazine Convention (am 02./03. Juni 2017) mit widerständigen Praktiken, sozialen Bewegungen und Popkulturen, die mit Devianz, Abnorm, Krankheit und Behinderung zu tun haben. Der Künstler und Filmemacher Stefan Hayn unterzog gegenwärtige Prämissen und Ausprägungsformen bildhaften Erzählens für Kinder in unterschiedlichen Medien einer kritischen Untersuchung. Diese kristallisiert sich in einer malerisch-filmischen Installation, einem Filmscreening (am 19. Mai 2017) und einem Vortrag mit Diskussion (am 20. Juni 2017). Kerstin Schroedinger weitete ihre Recherchen zu den historischen und materiellen Bedingungen des Analogfilms aus und realisierte zwei Audioarbeiten, die von einem Performance-Abend (am 20. Mai 2017) und einer Filmvorführung und Diskussion (am 13. Juni 2017) ergänzt werden. Vladislav Shapovalov schließlich führte sein Projekt Image Diplomacy fort, das spezifische Funktionen des Bildes im System politischer Kultur der ehemaligen Sowjetunion und der USA erforscht und bestimmte historische Aspekte der Konstruktion des Politisch-Imaginären durch Ausstellungsstrategien und das Medium der Fotografie im 20. Jahrhundert beleuchtet. In der Ausstellung präsentiert er eine protofilmische Installation und veranstaltet ein Symposium (am 30. Mai 2017) über die Formate Ausstellung und Film als Medien politischer Artikulation.

 

Veranstaltungen am Eröffnungswochenende:

· Führung durch die Ausstellung
mit dem Kurator Andrei Siclodi und den beteiligten Künstler_innen
Fr 19. 05. 2017, 18.00
KUNSTPAVILLON, Rennweg 8a, 6020 Innsbruck

· Dreizehn Regeln oder Die Schwierigkeit sich auszudrücken + Gespräche mit Schülern und Lehrern
Filme von Stefan Hayn und anschließendes Gespräch mit Clemens Krümmel (Kunsthistoriker, Berlin)
Fr 19. 05. 2017, 19.30
KUNSTPAVILLON, Rennweg 8a, 6020 Innsbruck

· Performance-Abend
mit Nathan Gray · Olive Michel & Fred Hystère · Kerstin Schroedinger
Sa 20. 05. 2017, ab 17.00
KÜNSTLERHAUS BÜCHSENHAUSEN, Weiherburggasse 13, 6020 Innsbruck

 

Details zur Ausstellung:
Eröffnung am Donnerstag 18. Mai 2017 um 19.30
Begrüßung: Lizzy Fidler, Vorstandsmitglied
Einführung: Andrei Siclodi, Kurator
Dauer der Ausstellung: 19. Mai – 29. Juli 2017

 

Die teilnehmenden Künstler_innen:

Eva EGERMANN ist Künstlerin und lebt in Wien. In ihrer Recherche-basierten Praxis beschäftigt sie sich mit widerständigen Praktiken, Aneignungen, sozialen Bewegungen und Popkulturen, die mit Devianz, Abnorm, Krankheit und Behinderung zu tun haben. Sie arbeitet mit Beispielen aus verschiedenen Zeiten und Orten, die Aufbegehren, Irritation oder Widerspruch innerhalb ästhetischer Repräsentationen von Unbeschädigtheit auslösen.

Stefan HAYN ist Künstler und Filmemacher und lebt in Berlin. Seine seit 1989 veröffentlichten Filme hinterfragen künstlerische sowie filmische Kategorisierungen und verweigern sich einfachen Genrezuschreibungen. Seine Arbeiten (Filme, Malerei, Essays) wurden in unterschiedlichen Kunst- und Filmkontexten präsentiert. Er lehrte an der Universität der Künste Berlin schwerpunktmäßig zum Verhältnis von Film und Malerei.

Kerstin SCHROEDINGER ist Künstlerin und lebt in Berlin. Sie arbeitet mit Video, Ton und Text. Mit einem historiografischen Ansatz hinterfragt sie Produktionsmittel, historische Kontinuitäten und ideologische Gewissheiten der Repräsentation. Bei ihren künstlerischen Arbeiten und kuratorischen Projekten handelt es sich meistens um Kollaborationen.

Vladislav SHAPOVALOV ist ein Künstler und Forscher, der in Mailand und Moskau lebt. Seit 2008 arbeitet er an Projekten, die sich vor allem mit der Neubewertung von Bildern, kulturellen Artefakten und der Konstruktion von Narrativen beschäftigt, die dazu dienen, geopolitische Konfigurationen zu konstruieren und zu analysieren.
vladislavshapovalov.com

Veranstaltungsort
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Mi-Fr 11.00 – 18.00
Sa 11.00 – 15.00