Hotel-Camp: Liminality and Heterotopia in Tourism

Hotel-Camp: Liminalität und Heterotopie im Tourismus

The Internacional-klub in Poreč, Architect: Božo Lazar in cooperation with the painter Bruno Mascarelli, 1969. Source: Archive of Plava.

In the context of the artistic research Vijera Pavlovna’s Fourth Dream by FOKUS GRUPA, architectural theorist, artist and curator Michael Zinganel will be speaking about hotel-camps, liminality and heterotopia in tourism. The talk will take place at the Kunstpavillon of the Tiroler Künstlerschaft at 7 pm on Tuesday 21st June, 2016.

As opposed to “travel”, for a long time the educated elites regarded “tourism” as a negative distinguishing foil: as flight from everyday life seen as disaffected – or at least externally controlled – and therefore as flight from sociopolitical responsibility to improve the conditions of life and work (Enzensberger). In the German-speaking countries “mass tourism” was even denounced frequently as fascist or fascistoid mass conditioning. On the other hand, since the end of the 19th century the “hotel” had also functioned as a stage for social interaction across the classes – ultimately, in the 1920s, as a model for Soviet communal buildings, with no less an aim than revolution of a backward-looking family model and women’s liberation from the work of reproduction. In France, after the Second World War, stays at simple camping sites were seriously conceived—by the inventor of all-inclusive holidays—as a threshold arena free of everyday problems, which would make it easier for one-time enemies in war, collaborators and resistance fighters to become reconciled and to reconstruct a sense of community in the shattered “Grande Nation”. In former socialist Yugoslavia in particular, holiday camps served the primary purpose of international understanding—among the peoples of Yugoslavia at first, and later the peoples of the whole world, regardless of their political block allegiance during the Cold War.

Fokus Grupa is an artist collective based in Rijeka, Croatia. Their work points to the social, economical and political frames of the art field. Their practice is collaborative and interdisciplinary, and they work across art, design and curating. Fokus Grupa concentrate on the relations between art and its public manifestations, in terms of working culture, aesthetics, and social and economic exchange values. They have exhibited in museums and venues internationally including: Offbiennale Budapest, Visual Culture Research Center, Kiev; A3bandas, Madrid; MACRO, Rome;, MCA, Ljubljana, MCA, Zagreb, Magazzino del Sale Venice; Calvert 22, London; Tranzit, Bratislava; Kunsthalle Exnergasse, Vienna; SKUC Gallery, Ljubljana; Miroslav Kraljević Gallery, Zagreb; Transmission Gallery, Glasgow.


http://fokusgrupa.net

Michael Zinganel works as an architecture theorist, cultural historian, artist and curator in Vienna. He is co-founder and principal of the research association Tracing Spaces (together with Michael Hieslmair) and a research associate at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Most recently he co-edited Holiday after the Fall – Seaside Architecture and Urbanism in Bulgaria and Croatia (together with Elke Beyer and Anke Hagemann, Berlin: jovis 2013).

www.zinganel.mur.at
tracingspaces.net

Location
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Wed-Fri 11.00 – 18.00
Sat 11.00 – 15.00

Hotel-Camp: Liminality and Heterotopia in Tourism

Hotel-Camp: Liminalität und Heterotopie im Tourismus

Der Klub International in Poreč, Architekt: Božo Lazar in Kooperation mit dem Maler Bruno Marcarelli, 1969. Quelle: Archiv von Plava Laguna.

Im Rahmen der künstlerischen Recherche Vijera Pavlovnas vierter Traum von Fokus Grupa spricht der Architekturtheoretiker, Künstler und Kurator Michael Zinganel am Dienstag 21. Juni 2016 um 19.30 Uhr im Kunstpavillon der Tiroler Künstlerschaft über Hotel-Camps, Liminalität und Heterotopie im Tourismus:

Im Gegensatz zum „Reisen“ galt „Tourismus“ den Bildungseliten lange als negative Abgrenzungsfolie einer als entfremdet – zumindest fremd gesteuert – empfundenen Flucht aus dem Alltag und somit aus der sozial-politischen Verantwortung zur Verbesserung der Lebens- und Arbeitsverhältnisse (Enzensberger). „Massentourismus“ wurde im deutschsprachigen Raum vielfach sogar als faschistische beziehungsweise faschistoide Massendressur denunziert. Andererseits diente das „Hotel“ seit Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts auch als Bühne klassenüberschreitender sozialer Interaktionen – in den 1920er Jahren schließlich sogar als Vorbild sowjetischer Kommune-Bauten, die nichts weniger als die Revolution eines rückständigen Familienmodells und der Befreiung der Frau von der Reproduktionsarbeit zum Ziel hatten. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg wurde in Frankreich ausgehend vom Erfinder des All-Inclusive-Urlaubs der Aufenthalt in einfachen Zelt-Lagern ernsthaft als ein von Alltagsproblemen befreites Schwellenstadium konzipiert, das einstigen Kriegsgegner_innen, Kollaborateur_innen und Widerstandskämpfer_innen die Versöhnung und die Wiedererrichtung eines Gemeinwesen in der zerrütteten „Grande Nation“ erleichtern sollte. Insbesondere im ehemaligen sozialistischen Jugoslawien dienten Feriencamps vorrangig dem Zwecke der Völkerverständigung, zunächst der Völker Jugoslawiens, später der Völker aus der ganzen Welt, ungeachtet deren politischen Blockzugehörigkeit im Kalten Krieg.

Fokus Grupa ist ein im kroatischen Rijeka beheimatetes Künstler_innenkollektiv, dessen Arbeiten die sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Bezugssysteme im Kunstbereich beleuchten. Ihre künstlerische Praxis ist kollaborativ und interdisziplinär und umfasst Kunst und Design ebenso wie kuratorische Arbeit. Fokus Grupa befasst sich schwerpunktmäßig mit dem Verhältnis zwischen Kunst und ihren öffentlichen Manifestationen, im Hinblick auf Arbeitskultur, Ästhetik und soziale und wirtschaftliche Tauschwerte. Arbeiten des Kollektivs wurden bereits in einer Reihe internationaler Museen und Ausstellungen gezeigt, u.a. in der Offbiennale Budapest; Visual Culture Research Centre, Kiew; A3bandas, Madrid; MACRO, Rom; MCA, Ljubljana, MCA, Zagreb, Magazzino del Sale Venice; Calvert 22, London; Tranzit, Bratislava; Kunsthalle Exnergasse, Wien; SKUC Gallery, Ljubljana; Miroslav Kraljević Gallery, Zagreb; Transmission Gallery, Glasgow.
http://fokusgrupa.net

Michael Zinganel arbeitet als Architekturtheoretiker, Kulturhistoriker, Künslter und Kurator in Wien. Er ist Mitbegründer und -betreiber der Forschungsplattform Tracing Spaces (zusammen mit Michael Hieslmair) und wissenachaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien. Zuletzt gab er gemeinsam mit Elke Beyer und Anke Hagemann Holiday after the Fall – Seaside Architecture and Urbanism in Bulgaria and Croatia heraus (Berlin: jovis 2013).

www.zinganel.mur.at
tracingspaces.net

Veranstaltungsort
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Mi-Fr 11.00 – 18.00
Sa 11.00 – 15.00