NEVER EVER CLEVER – Reflections on Children’s Film

Talk by Stefan HAYN and Discussion with Irene BERKEL

Filmstill from "Never Ever Clever" by Stefan Hayn (2015): "Der Herold" (Stefan Flach) and "Der Kaiser" (Lothar Kohlbach)

Starting out from Stefan Hayn’s personal experiences while developing and producing a film on the basis of Otfried Preußler’s children’s book Bei uns in Schilda (Thienemanns Verlag 1958), this talk examines some presuppositions of visual narrative for children (but not only for children) and attempts to set them into a contemporary historical and sociopolitical context. Who is narrating for whom? Where do the images come from? What do they convey? Who are children and who are adults?
On the basis of film excerpts and subsequent discussion with relious and cultural science expert Irene Berkel (author of the book Missbrauch als Phantasma – Zur Krise der Genealogie, Wilhelm Fink Verlag 2006), the talk will also seek further-reaching discussion on the significance of images for relationships between the generations.

An event with the kind support from the Institute for Educational Sciences of the University of Innsbruck.

Stefan Hayn lives in Berlin. His films released since 1989 question artistic as well as cinematic categorisation, and reject simplistic genre attributions. His works (films, painting, essays) have been presented in a wide range of art and film contexts. He has taught at Berlin University of the Arts, specializing in the interrelations of film and painting.

Stefan Hayn is a painter and filmmaker. In his more recent works he attempts to enable an emotional experience of film-immanent processes or – in comparisons within the exhibition space – processes of painterly or filmic perception including their social-historical and biographical-individual connections. He also reflects on artistic approaches aiming towards openness in conceptual-essayistic works. He presents his films in cinemas, on TV, and at international festivals. Most recently, the Heidelberger Kunstverein and the Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig, Vienna showed a selection of his film works and paintings.

For a filmography of Stefan Hayn, see also:
filmportal.de: Stefan Hayn

Irene Berkel is a religious and cultural scientist. She researches into the history of the incest taboo during the 19th and 20th centuries and its erosion since the second half of the 20th century, as well as into the concept of genealogy, particularly in psychoanalysis. Since 2006 Berkel has been teaching in the Institute of Educational Science at the University of Innsbruck; since 2010 she has been a member of the Scientific Committee of the Psychoanalytical Science Forum, Berlin.

Location
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Wed-Fri 11.00 – 18.00
Sat 11.00 – 15.00

NIE WIEDER KLUG – Überlegungen zum Kinderfilm

Vortrag von Stefan HAYN und Diskussion mit Irene BERKEL

Filmstill aus "Nie wieder klug" von Stefan Hayn (2015): "Der Herold" (Stefan Flach) und "Der Kaiser" (Lothar Kohlbach)

Ausgehend von Stefan Hayns persönlichen Erfahrungen bei der Entwicklung und Produktion eines Films auf Grundlage von Otfried Preußlers Kinderbuch Bei uns in Schilda (Thienemanns Verlag 1958) untersucht der Vortrag einige Vorannahmen bildhaften Erzählens für Kinder (aber nicht nur) und versucht sie zeithistorisch und gesellschaftspolitisch zu verorten. Wer erzählt für wen? Woher kommen die Bilder? Was geben sie weiter? Wer ist Kind, wer erwachsen?
Anhand von Filmausschnitten und im anschließenden Gespräch mit der Religions- und Kulturwissenschaftlerin Irene Berkel (Autorin des Buches Missbrauch als Phantasma – Zur Krise der Genealogie, Wilhelm Fink Verlag 2006) zielt der Vortrag auch auf eine weiterreichende Diskussion zur Bedeutung von Bildern im Hinblick auf die Generationenverhältnisse.

Eine Veranstaltung mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Instituts für Erziehungswissenschaften der Universität Innsbruck.

Stefan Hayn lebt in Berlin. Seine seit 1989 veröffentlichten Filme hinterfragen künstlerische sowie filmische Kategorisierungen und verweigern sich einfachen Genrezuschreibungen. Seine Arbeiten (Filme, Malerei, Essays) wurden in unterschiedlichen Kunst- und Filmkontexten präsentiert. Er lehrte an der Universität der Künste Berlin schwerpunktmäßig zum Verhältnis von Film und Malerei.

Stefan Hayn ist Maler und Filmemacher. In seinen jüngeren Arbeiten versucht er, filmimmanent bzw. in Gegenüberstellungen im Ausstellungsraum malerische und filmische Wahrnehmungsprozesse in ihrer gesellschaftlich-historischen wie lebensgeschichtlich-individuellen Anbindung emotional erfahrbar zu machen. Die ins Offene angelegten bildnerischen Vorgehensweisen reflektiert er auch in begrifflich-essayistischen Arbeiten. Er präsentiert seine Filme im Kino, im Fernsehen und auf internationalen Festivals. Zuletzt zeigten der Heidelberger Kunstverein und das Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien eine Auswahl seiner malerischen und filmischen Arbeiten.

Zur Filmografie von Stefan Hayn siehe auch:
filmportal.de: Stefan Hayn

Irene Berkel ist Religions- und Kulturwissenschaftlerin. Sie forscht zur Geschichte des Inzesttabus im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert und dessen Erosion seit der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts sowie zur Konzeption von Genealogie, insbesondere in der Psychoanalyse. Seit 2006 ist Berkel Lehrbeauftragte am Institut für Erziehungswissenschaft der Universität Innsbruck, seit 2010 Mitglied des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats des Forums Psychoanalytischer Wissenschaften, Berlin.

Veranstaltungsort
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Mi-Fr 11.00 – 18.00
Sa 11.00 – 15.00