Start Up Lectures 2015/16

The Fellows 2015/16: Marina Vishmidt & Anthony Iles, Elvis Krstulović (Fokus Grupa), Benjamin Tiven, Andrea Bellu, Iva Kovač (Fokus Grupa) with Andrei Siclodi, Director Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen.

The new Fellows – Andrea Bellu, Fokus Grupa, Benjamin Tiven und Marina Vishmidt & Anthony Iles – with their respective proposals are raising questions – in a broader sense – about the constitution and effect of the imaginary in critical art practices.

The so-called Start-Up Lectures of the International Fellowship Program for Art and Theory 2016/17 will take place in Büchsenhausen at 7 pm on Friday, 16th October 2015. In the context of the Start Up Lectures 2015/16, as well as in the exhibition Economies of the Imaginary, which will be opened at the same time as the Start Up Lectures, the Fellows will present their work and their plans for the coming months.

 

Andrea Bellu: Bad Words (Working title; after a short story by Ilse Aichinger)

Andrea Bellu develops her artistic works as installations, writing, drawing, taking photographs and making films. She often works together with other artists and scientists. Starting out from post-colonial, migrant and feminist perspectives, she attempts to insert further gaps and disruptions into the predominant narrations of history.
While traveling through Silesia, Galicia and Bukovina in 2014 and 2015, Andrea Bellu began to gather together material: pictures, conversations, landscapes, sunsets, literature. From all this an intuitive, unfinished archive emerged, which the artist will investigate during her fellowship in Büchsenhausen. The route of travel encompassed an historical cultural sphere, in which different minorities lived alongside and with each other for centuries, without a national majority population. In many villages and towns the Jewish population constituted the biggest minority. This complex and multilayered cohabitation was put to a cruel end by German occupation and the German politics of annihilation during the Second World War.
Continuing her practice to date Andrea Bellu’s prime concern is to connect the frequently recounted and described, violent history of the early 20th century to the present day, and to visualize its present, ever tangible effects and continuities. The work in Büchsenhausen will mark, first and foremost, the beginning of an undertaking with a currently unforeseeable conclusion.

Fokus Grupa: Vera Pavlovna’s Fourth Dream (working title)

Fokus Grupa is an artist collective based in Rijeka, Croatia. Their work points to the social, economical and political frames of the art field. Their practice is collaborative and interdisciplinary, and they work across art, design and curating. Fokus Grupa concentrates on the relations between art and its public manifestations, in terms of working culture, aesthetics, and social and economic exchange values.
Starting from the influential book “Chto Delat” by the Russian philosopher, journalist and literary critic Nikolay Chernyshevsky (1863) and his concrete descriptions of the living (and working) spaces of the two main protagonists, Lopuhov and Pavlovna, Fokus Grupa intends to research into various cases of literary, visual, design and architectural proposals, prototypes, ideas, projects and practices that have been dealing with the idea of social transformation via the design of utilitarian objects since Modernism, considering living spaces in particular. In researching these cases Fokus Grupa wants to look for their potential but also to examine their miss-realizations, and miss-appropriations by corporate culture and corporate production (i.e. International Style, IKEA etc).

Benjamin Tiven: Synthetic Spectra

Benjamin Tiven is an American filmmaker and writer. At Büchsenhausen he is working on a research and production project set around the graphic economy of televisual media. This project continues to elaborate the political, technological, and economic dimensions of public media; the aesthetics of television when applied to cinema; and the imagined narration of real events. At its center is a long-format exploratory film prompted by the text Economy of the Unlost by the Canadian poet and essayist Anne Carson, with dialog in German and Greek. The film will be shot mainly in Athens, in the facilities of the public media channel ERT. While avoiding a documentary re-telling of ERT’s tumultuous recent past, the film will use this particular studio as a scenography within which to translate this text into a cinematic production.

Marina Vishmidt & Anthony Iles: Plastic Givens: Some Incidents Between Production and Abolition

Marina VISHMIDT is a London-based writer occupied mainly with questions around art, labor and value. Anthony ILES is a writer of criticism and fiction based in London.
Since 2009, Marina Vishmidt and Anthony Iles have been working together on a series of essays, posters and presentations expanding their common interest in the relation of artistic practices to social crisis by reflecting on the roles of machines, labor and value in capitalist reality and communist philosophy. They ask: How do art’s encounters with destruction help us to track the historical nature of negativity, serendipity and accident in art specifically and in capitalist culture more generally?
The project will try to analyze forms of (self-)abolition, negation and subsumption as they figure in concrete instances of artistic production, and find systemic resonances with the current entropy of capitalist society. Recent tendencies show that art is more often affirmed than negated by its incorporation of the ‘outside’, accumulating more efficiently than the crisis capitalism it ransacks for its themes.
Marina and Anthony will use the discursive context of Büchsenhausen’s Fellowship Program to open this work to further development and discussion, eventually bringing the common thread of these conversations and written work into a co-authored book, as well as developing an archive of the process incorporating contributions from interlocutors, who will participate in their working and staging process at Büchsenhausen.

 

Fokus Grupa is an artist collective based in Rijeka, Croatia. Their work points to the social, economical and political frames of the art field. Their practice is collaborative and interdisciplinary, and they work across art, design and curating. Fokus Grupa concentrate on the relations between art and its public manifestations, in terms of working culture, aesthetics, and social and economic exchange values. They have exhibited in museums and venues internationally including: Offbiennale Budapest, Visual Culture Research Center, Kiev; A3bandas, Madrid; MACRO, Rome;, MCA, Ljubljana, MCA, Zagreb, Magazzino del Sale Venice; Calvert 22, London; Tranzit, Bratislava; Kunsthalle Exnergasse, Vienna; SKUC Gallery, Ljubljana; Miroslav Kraljević Gallery, Zagreb; Transmission Gallery, Glasgow.


http://fokusgrupa.net

Marina Vishmidt is a London-based writer occupied mainly with questions around art, labor and value. She is the author of Speculation as a Mode of Production (Brill, early 2016) and A for Autonomy (with Kerstin Stakemeier) (Textem, 2015). She also works regularly with Anthony Iles and with Melanie Gilligan. She collaborates with artists and contributes to journals such as Mute, Afterall, Texte zur Kunst, and the South Atlantic Quarterly, as well as co-/edited collections and catalogs,most recently Anguish Language (Archive Books, forthcoming). She is part of the Theory faculty at the Dutch Art Institute, a visiting lecturer at Middlesex University and the University of Brighton, and has taught at the University of the Arts in Berlin, Central Saint Martins, and Goldsmiths.

Anthony Iles is a writer of criticism and fiction based in London. He is a PhD candidate at Middlesex University, a contributing editor with Mute / Metamute, http://metamute.org, and an editor of the forthcoming publication on writing and crisis Anguish Language (Archive Books), http://anguishlanguage.tumblr.com/.

Benjamin Tiven is an American filmmaker and writer. Recent exhibitions at the Institute of Contemporary Art, Philadelphia; Delfina Foundation, London; 1/9unosunove gallery, Rome, and Westfälischer Kunstverein, Münster. Films screened at the Viennale, FIDMarseille, Rotterdam, Oberhausen, and Arsenale Cinema, Berlin. Recent publications: Scrim Sinews (Cura Books, 2015), and contributions to the journals Triple Canopy, Bidoun, and Bulletins of the Serving Library.

http://benjamintiven.com/

Andrea Bellu develops her artistic works as installations: writing, drawing, taking photographs and making films. She often works together with other artists and scientists. Starting out from post-colonial, migrant and feminist perspectives, she attempts to insert gaps and disruptions into the predominant narrations of history.

Location
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at

Start Up Lectures 2015/16

Die Stipendiat_innen 2015/16: Marina Vishmidt & Anthony Iles, Elvis Krstulović (Fokus Grupa), Benjamin Tiven, Andrea Bellu, Iva Kovač (Fokus Grupa) mit Andrei Siclodi, Leiter Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Die neuen StipendiatInnen des Internationalen Fellowship-Programms für Kunst und Theorie, die Künstler_innen Andrea BELLU, FOKUS GRUPA, Benjamin TIVEN und Marina VISHMIDT & Anthony ILES, werfen in ihren jeweiligen Arbeitsvorhaben Fragen nach der Konstitution und Wirkung des Imaginären in kritischen Kunstpraktiken auf.

Am Freitag, 16. Oktober 2015 um 19.00 finden in Büchsenhausen die sog. Start-Up Lectures statt. In diesem Rahmen werden die neuen StipendiatInnen sich und ihre Arbeit vorstellen und einen Ausblick auf das jeweilige Arbeitsvorhaben in den kommenden Monaten gewähren. Auch in diesem Jahr wird mit diesem Event die Herbst-/Winterausstellung der Stipendiat_innen eröffnet. Unter dem Titel Ökonomien des Imaginären werden sie jeweils eine aktuelle Arbeit zeigen, die im Zusammenhang mit dem geplanten Vorhaben in Büchsenhausen stehen. Diese Ausstellung kann bis Donnerstag, 17. Dezember 2015 besichtigt werden.

Andrea Bellu: Schlechte Wörter (Arbeitstitel; nach einer Erzählung von Ilse Aichinger)

Andrea Bellu entwickelt ihre künstlerischen Arbeiten installativ; sie schreibt, zeichnet, fotografiert und filmt. Ausgehend von post-kolonialen, migrantischen und feministischen Perspektiven, versucht sie vorherrschenden Narrationen der Geschichte weitere Risse und Brüche hinzuzufügen. Daraus entstand ein intuitives, nicht abgeschlossenes Archiv, mit dem sich die Künstlerin während ihrer Fellowship in Büchsenhausen auseinandersetzen wird. Auf Reisen durch Schlesien, Galizien und der Bukowina hat Bellu 2014 begonnen, Material zusammenzutragen: Bilder, Gespräche, Landschaften, Sonnenuntergänge, Literatur. Die Reiseroute umschreibt einen geschichtlichen Kulturraum, in dem über Jahrhunderte unterschiedliche Minderheiten neben- und miteinander gelebt haben, ohne dass es je eine nationale Mehrheitsbevölkerung gegeben hätte. In vielen Dörfern und Städten machte die jüdische Bevölkerung die größte Minderheit aus. Diesem komplexen und vielschichtigen Zusammenleben wurde von der deutschen Besatzung und der deutschen Vernichtungspolitik im Zweiten Weltkrieg ein grausames Ende gesetzt.
Andrea Bellu geht es in diesem Vorhaben vor allem darum, die viel erzählte und beschriebene gewaltvolle Geschichte des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts mit der Gegenwart zu verknüpfen und ihre heutigen, tatsächlich stets spürbaren Auswirkungen und Kontinuitäten sichtbar zu machen. In Büchsenhausen wird die Arbeit vor allem den Anfang einer Unternehmung markieren, deren Abschluss noch nicht absehbar ist.

Fokus Grupa: Vera Pavlovnas vierter Traum (Arbeitstitel)

Fokus Grupa ist ein im kroatischen Rijeka beheimatetes Künstler_innenkollektiv, dessen Arbeiten die sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Bezugssysteme im Kunstbereich beleuchten. Die Gruppe befasst sich schwerpunktmäßig mit dem Verhältnis zwischen Kunst und ihren öffentlichen Manifestationen, im Hinblick auf Arbeitskultur, Ästhetik und soziale und wirtschaftliche Tauschwerte.
Ausgehend von dem einflussreichen Buch Chto Delat (Was tun?, 1863) des russischen Philosophen, Journalisten und Literaturkritikers Nikolai Tschernyschewski und den konkreten Beschreibungen der Lebens- (und Arbeits-)räume der beiden Protagonist_innen Lopuhov und Pavlovna will das Künstler_innenkollektiv Fokus Grupa im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen verschiedene literarische, visuelle, Design- und architektonische Vorschläge, Prototypen, Ideen, Projekte und Praktiken erforschen, die sich seit der Moderne insbesondere im Hinblick auf die Gestaltung von Lebensräumen mit der Vorstellung der sozialen Transformation im Design von Gebrauchsgegenständen befasst haben. Im Rahmen dieser Erforschung will Fokus Grupa sich auf die Suche nach dem Potenzial solcher künstlerischen Ansätze begeben, sich aber auch mit Fehlrealisierungen und falschen Zuordnungen durch die Unternehmenskultur und Unternehmensproduktion befassen (Stichworte: Internationaler Stil, IKEA usw.).
fokusgrupa.net

Benjamin Tiven: Synthetic Spectra

Benjamin Tiven ist ein amerikanischer Filmemacher und Autor. In seiner Arbeit setzt er sich mit den politischen, technologischen und wirtschaftlichen Dimensionen öffentlicher Medien. Darüber hinaus befasst er sich mit der Ästhetik des Fernsehens, wenn diese auf das Kino angewandt wird, sowie mit der imaginierten Narration realer Ereignisse. In Büchsenhausen wird Tiven an einem Forschungs- und Produktionsprojekt rund um die grafische Ökonomie televisueller Medien arbeiten. Im Mittelpunkt dieses Vorhabens steht ein explorativer Langfilm mit deutschen und griechischen Dialogen, der auf dem Text Economy of the Unlost der kanadischen Dichterin and Essayistin Anne Carson basiert. Gedreht wird der Film hauptsächlich in Athen in den Räumlichkeiten des öffentlichen griechischen Medienkanals ERT. Der Film verfolgt dabei nicht das Ziel, die turbulente jüngere Vergangenheit von ERT dokumentarisch neu zu erzählen, sondern nutzt dieses besondere Studio als Setting, um den Text von Carson in filmische Begriffe zu übersetzen.
www.benjamintiven.com

Marina Vishmidt & Anthony Iles: Plastic Givens: Some Incidents Between Production and Abolition

Marina Vishmidt lebt als Autorin in London und befasst sich in ihrer Praxis vornehmlich mit Fragen zu Kunst, Arbeit und der Wertform. Anthony Iles lebt in London und schreibt kritische und fiktionale Texte.
Seit 2009 arbeiten Vishmidt und Iles zusammen an einer Serie von Essays, Postern und Präsentationen, durch die sie ihr gemeinsames Interesse an der Beziehung zwischen künstlerischen Praktiken und sozialer Krise erweitern, indem sie über die Rollen von Maschinen, Arbeit und Wert in der kapitalistischen Realität und der kommunistischen Philosophie reflektieren. Die beiden Autor_innen fragen: Wie kann das Aufeinandertreffen von Kunst und Zerstörung dazu beitragen, der historischen Beschaffenheit von Negativität und Zufall besonders in der Kunst, aber auch allgemein in der kapitalistischen Kultur nachzuspüren?
Das Projekt versucht sich an einer Analyse von Formen der (Selbst-)Aufhebung, der Negation und der Unterordnung, wie sie in konkreten Beispielen der künstlerischen Produktion vorkommen, und will systemische Resonanzen mit der Entropie der kapitalistischen Gesellschaft im gegenwärtigen Augenblick entdecken. Vishmidt und Iles werden den diskursiven Kontext des Fellowship-Programms in Büchsenhausen nutzen, um ihre Arbeit für eine weitere Entwicklung und Diskussion zu öffnen. Die roten Fäden dieser Gespräche und der Schreibarbeit sollen in einer gemeinsamen Publikation zusammengeführt werden; gleichzeitig wollen die beiden Autor_innen ein Archiv des Arbeitsprozesses entwickeln und darin Beiträge von Gesprächspartner_innen, die an ihrem Arbeits- und Inszenierungsprozess in Büchsenhausen teilnehmen, inkludieren.

Andrea Bellu entwickelt ihre künstlerischen Arbeiten installativ; sie schreibt, zeichnet, fotografiert und filmt. Bellu arbeitet oft mit anderen Künstler_innen und Wissenschaftler_innen zusammen. Ausgehend von post-kolonialen, migrantischen und feministischen Perspektiven versucht sie vorherrschenden Narrationen der Geschichte weitere Risse und Brüche hinzuzufügen.

Benjamin Tiven ist ein amerikanischer Filmemacher und Autor. In jüngerer Zeit hat er u.a. im Institute of Contemporary Art in Philadelphia, in der Delfina Foundation (London), in der 1/9unosunove gallery in Rom sowie im Westfälischen Kunstverein (Münster) ausgestellt. Seine Filme wurden bei der Viennale in Wien, bei dem Filmfestival FIDMarseille, in Rotterdam, in Oberhausen und im Kino Arsenal in Berlin gezeigt. Neuere Publikationen sind u.a.: Scrim Sinews (Cura Books, 2015) und Beiträge zu den Magazinen Triple Canopy, Bidoun und Bulletins of the Serving Library.

www.benjamintiven.com

Fokus Grupa ist ein im kroatischen Rijeka beheimatetes Künstler_innenkollektiv, dessen Arbeiten die sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Bezugssysteme im Kunstbereich beleuchten. Ihre künstlerische Praxis ist kollaborativ und interdisziplinär und umfasst Kunst und Design ebenso wie kuratorische Arbeit. Fokus Grupa befasst sich schwerpunktmäßig mit dem Verhältnis zwischen Kunst und ihren öffentlichen Manifestationen, im Hinblick auf Arbeitskultur, Ästhetik und soziale und wirtschaftliche Tauschwerte. Arbeiten des Kollektivs wurden bereits in einer Reihe internationaler Museen und Ausstellungen gezeigt, u.a. in der Offbiennale Budapest; Visual Culture Research Centre, Kiew; A3bandas, Madrid; MACRO, Rom; MCA, Ljubljana, MCA, Zagreb, Magazzino del Sale Venice; Calvert 22, London; Tranzit, Bratislava; Kunsthalle Exnergasse, Wien; SKUC Gallery, Ljubljana; Miroslav Kraljević Gallery, Zagreb; Transmission Gallery, Glasgow.
http://fokusgrupa.net

Marina Vishmidt lebt als Autorin in London und befasst sich in ihrer Praxis vornehmlich mit Fragen zu Kunst, Arbeit und der Wertform. Sie ist Autorin der Publikationen Speculation as a Mode of Production (Brill, Erscheinung geplant für Anfang 2016) und A for Autonomy (mit Kerstin Stakemeier) (Textem, 2015). Sie arbeitet regelmäßig mit Anthony Iles und Melanie Gilligan sowie mit Künstler_innen zusammen und schreibt Beiträge für Magazine wie Mute, Afterall, Texte zur Kunst und South Atlantic Quarterly. Vishmidt ist (Mit-)Herausgeberin von Textsammlungen und Kunstkatalogen, darunter in jüngster Zeit Anguish Language (Archive Books, erscheint in Kürze). Zudem ist sie Mitglied der Theoriefakultät am Dutch Art Institute, Gastlektorin an der Middlesex University und der University of Brighton sowie ehemalige Lektorin an der Universität der Künste in Berlin, am Central Saint Martins und am Goldsmiths College in London.

Veranstaltungsort
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at