Start Up Lectures & Uncanny Formations

The new 2016/17 Fellows' Presentations and Exhibition Opening

Eva Egermann "Band Rehearsal" Videostills, Vienna 2014

The so-called Start-Up Lectures of the International Fellowship Program for Art and Theory 2016/17 will take place in Büchsenhausen at 7 pm on Friday, 21st October 2016.

In this context the new fellows – Eva Egermann, Stefan Hayn, Kerstin Schroedinger, and Vladislav Shapovalov – will introduce themselves and their work, and provide some insight into their respective proposals for the coming months.

In 2016/17, the International Fellowship Program for Art and Theory will be focusing on projects concerned with physical deviance, educational spirits, apparently obsolete image production processes, and former geopolitics. The fellows Eva Egermann, Stefan Hayn, Kerstin Schroedinger and Vladislav Shapovalov were invited to work on their projects in Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen – following success in a two-part application procedure, in which more than 270 artists and theorists participated – by the jury of experts comprising Iris Dressler (director of the Württembergischer Kunstverein Stutttgart and member of the committee in Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen), Andrei Siclodi (curator, director of Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen), and Andrea Thal (curator, Contemporary Image Collective, Cairo).

In her research-based practice Eva Egermann investigates oppositional practices, assimilation, social movements and popular cultures connected to deviance, abnormality, sickness and disability. In Büchsenhausen she will be working on the second issue of the Crip Magazine, which is dedicated to this range of themes. Artist and filmmaker Stefan Hayn intends to undertake a critical examination of contemporary premises and manifestations of pictorial narratives for children in various media. Kerstin Schroedinger will expand upon her research on the historical and material conditions of analogue film and incorporate this research into a film project, which she will be developing in collaboration with artist and filmmaker Oliver Husain (www.husain.de). Finally, Vladislav Shapovalov will continue his work on the project Image Diplomacy, which explores specific functions of the image in the system of political culture, as well as illuminating certain historical aspects in the construction of the political-imaginary through exhibition strategies and the medium of photography during the 20th century.

Exhibition: Uncanny Formations
Opening: Friday 21. October 2016, 7 p.m.
Duration of the Exhibition: 25.10. – 14.12.2016
Opening Hours: Tue, Wed 2 – 5 p.m. and by individual appointment

Eva Egermann (*1979 in Vienna, Austria, grew up in the Burgenland) is an artist living in Vienna. She has worked within a wide range of media and collaborations (e.g. with Manoa Free University). Besides numerous artistic projects, she has produced publications (e.g. Regime. Wie Dominanz organisiert und Ausdruck formalisiert wird or Class Works) and projects as curator (e.g. 2 or 3 Things we’ve learned. Intersections of Art, Pedagogy and Protest or On Uncanny States and Bodies). She was part of the research group of Model House. Mapping Transcultural Modernisms, Visiting Researcher at U.C. Berkeley in the winter semester 2014/15, and is writing her doctorate as part of the PhD-in-Practice-Programme at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Her work was awarded the Theodor Körner Prize 2015 for Science and Art, and endorsed in the category Interdisciplinarity in the context of the Outstanding Artist Award 2016.

Stefan Hayn lives in Berlin. His films released since 1989 question artistic as well as cinematic categorisation, and reject simplistic genre attributions. His works (films, painting, essays) have been presented in a wide range of art and film contexts. He has taught at Berlin University of the Arts, specializing in the interrelations of film and painting.

Stefan Hayn is a painter and filmmaker. In his more recent works he attempts to enable an emotional experience of film-immanent processes or – in comparisons within the exhibition space – processes of painterly or filmic perception including their social-historical and biographical-individual connections. He also reflects on artistic approaches aiming towards openness in conceptual-essayistic works. He presents his films in cinemas, on TV, and at international festivals. Most recently, the Heidelberger Kunstverein and the Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig, Vienna showed a selection of his film works and paintings.

For a filmography of Stefan Hayn, see also:
filmportal.de: Stefan Hayn

Vladislav Shapovalov (*1981, Rostov-on-Don, Russia) is an artist and researcher living and working in Milan and Moscow. He was a member of the art-group Radek Community from 1999-2007. Since 2008 he has been working independently on projects that focus on rethinking images, cultural artifacts and the construction of narratives as a way to construe and analyze geopolitical configurations. In 2016/17, Shapovalov took part in the Fellowship Program for Art and Theory in Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen with support from the City of Innsbruck. He is currently preparing his first solo exhibition Image Diplomacy in the Moscow Museum of Modern Art (as from 17.11.2017), in which the film of the same name as well as the installation produced in Büchsenhausen, I Left My Heart in Rhodesia (2017), will be shown among other things. A further solo exhibition by Vladislav Shapovalov will take place as from the beginning of December 2017 at ar/ge kunst in Bolzano.

Recent exhibitions include Atlas [of the ruins] of Europe, curated by Julia Morandeira Arrizabalaga and José Riello, CentroCentro, Madrid, 2016; Fear. The Origin of the State, curated by Fedor Blašák and Christian Kobald, Nová synagóga / Kunsthalle Žilina, Slovakia, 2015; The School of Kyiv. Kyiv Biennial, curated by Hedwig Saxenhuber and Georg Schollhammer, Kyiv, 2015; Sources Go Dark, curated by Valerio Borgonuovo and Silvia Franceschini, Futura Center for Contemporary Art, Prague, 2015.

vladislavshapovalov.com

Kerstin Schroedinger is an artist working in video, sound and performance. Her historiographic practice questions the means of image production, historical continuities and ideological certainties of representation. Her works and curatorial practice are often collaborative. Recent works include The Alleged Body (performance), shown at Images Festival Toronto, and Les Complices* Zurich in 2017, Fugue (Film, 2015), as well as Rainbow’s Gravity (Video, 2014, GFTA-funded 2013) and Red, she said (Video, 2011) both with Mareike Bernien. Her work has been shown at the Whitney Museum of American Art, Anthology Film Archives New York, Forum Expanded of Berlinale, Short ٍFilm Festival Oberhausen, International Film Festival Toronto, Gasworks London, Arnolfini Bristol, Whitechapel Gallery London, and exhibited at MIT List Visual Arts Center Boston (2016), Photo Cairo #6 (2017), FMAC Mediathèque Geneva (2016), The School of Kyiv – 2nd Kiev Biennale 2015, Helmhaus Zurich (2015), Kunstpavillion Innsbruck (2017), amongst others.

Location
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at

Start Up Lectures & Unheimliche Formationen

Präsentationen der neuen Fellows 2016/17 und Ausstellungseröffnung

Eva Egermann "Band Rehearsal" Videostills, Wien 2014

Am Freitag, 21. Oktober 2016, um 19.00 finden in Büchsenhausen die sogenannten Start-Up Lectures des Internationalen Fellowship-Programms für Kunst und Theorie 2016/17 statt.

In diesem Rahmen werden die neuen Fellows – Eva Egermann, Stefan Hayn, Kerstin Schroedinger, Vladislav Shapovalov – sich und ihre Arbeit vorstellen und einen Ausblick auf das jeweilige Arbeitsvorhaben in den kommenden Monaten gewähren.

Das Internationale Fellowship-Programm für Kunst und Theorie stellt im Jahr 2016/17 Arbeitsvorhaben in den Mittelpunkt, die sich mit körperlichen Devianzen, Bildungsgeistern, scheinbar obsoleten Bildproduktionsverfahren und ehemaligen Geopolitiken befassen. Die Fellows Eva Egermann, Stefan Hayn, Kerstin Schroedinger und Vladislav Shapovalov wurden nach einem zweistufigen Bewerbungsverfahren, an dem über 270 Künstler_innen und Theoretiker_innen teilnahmen, von der Fachjury bestehend aus Iris Dressler (Direktorin des Württembergischen Kunstvereins Stutttgart und Mitglied des Fachbeirats im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen), Andrei Siclodi (Kurator, Leiter des Künstlerhauses Büchsenhausen) und Andrea Thal (Kuratorin, Contemporary Image Collective, Kairo) eingeladen, an ihren jeweiligen Vorhaben im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen zu arbeiten.

In ihrer Recherche-basierten Praxis beschäftigt sich Eva Egermann mit widerständigen Praktiken, Aneignungen, sozialen Bewegungen und Popkulturen, die mit Devianz, Abnorm, Krankheit und Behinderung zu tun haben. In Büchsenhausen wird sie an der zweiten Ausgabe des diesem Themenfeld gewidmeten Crip Magazine arbeiten. Der Künstler und Filmemacher Stefan Hayn möchte hier gegenwärtige Prämissen und Ausprägungsformen bildhaften Erzählens für Kinder in unterschiedlichen Medien einer kritischen Untersuchung unterziehen. Kerstin Schroedinger wird ihre Recherchen zu den historischen und materiellen Bedingungen von analogem Film ausweiten und in ein Filmprojekt, der in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Künstler und Filmemacher Oliver Husain (www.husain.de) entwickelt wird, einfliessen lassen. Vladislav Shapovalov wird schließlich sein Projekt Image Diplomacy, das spezifische Funktionen des Bildes im System politischer Kultur erforscht und bestimmte historische Aspekte der Konstruktion des Politisch-Imaginären durch Ausstellungsstrategien und das Medium der Fotografie im 20. Jahrhundert beleuchtet, vertiefen.

Ausstellung: Unheimliche Formationen
Eröffnung: Freitag, 21. Oktober 2016, 19.00
Ausstellungsdauer: 25.10. – 14.12.2016
Öffnungszeiten: Di, Mi 14.00 – 17.00 und nach Vereinbarung

Eva Egermann (*1979 in Wien, Österreich, aufgewachsen im Burgenland) ist Künstlerin und lebt in Wien. Sie arbeitete in unterschiedlichsten Medien und Kollaborationen (wie z.B. der Manoa Free University). Neben zahlreichen künstlerischen Projekten sind Publikationen (z.B. Regime. Wie Dominanz organisiert und Ausdruck formalisiert wird oder Class Works) und kuratorische Projekte (z.B. 2 or 3 Things we’ve learned. Intersections of Art, Pedagogy and Protest oder On Uncanny States and Bodies) entstanden. Sie war Teil der Forschungsgruppe von Model House. Mapping Transcultural Modernisms, Visiting Researcher an der U.C. Berkeley im WS 2014/15 und ist Dissertantin im PhD-in-Practice-Programm an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien. Ihre Arbeit wurde mit dem Theodor Körner Preis 2015 für Wissenschaft und Kunst und einer Anerkennung im Rahmen des Outstanding Artist Award 2016 in der Kategorie Interdisziplinarität ausgezeichnet.

Stefan Hayn lebt in Berlin. Seine seit 1989 veröffentlichten Filme hinterfragen künstlerische sowie filmische Kategorisierungen und verweigern sich einfachen Genrezuschreibungen. Seine Arbeiten (Filme, Malerei, Essays) wurden in unterschiedlichen Kunst- und Filmkontexten präsentiert. Er lehrte an der Universität der Künste Berlin schwerpunktmäßig zum Verhältnis von Film und Malerei.

Stefan Hayn ist Maler und Filmemacher. In seinen jüngeren Arbeiten versucht er, filmimmanent bzw. in Gegenüberstellungen im Ausstellungsraum malerische und filmische Wahrnehmungsprozesse in ihrer gesellschaftlich-historischen wie lebensgeschichtlich-individuellen Anbindung emotional erfahrbar zu machen. Die ins Offene angelegten bildnerischen Vorgehensweisen reflektiert er auch in begrifflich-essayistischen Arbeiten. Er präsentiert seine Filme im Kino, im Fernsehen und auf internationalen Festivals. Zuletzt zeigten der Heidelberger Kunstverein und das Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien eine Auswahl seiner malerischen und filmischen Arbeiten.

Zur Filmografie von Stefan Hayn siehe auch:
filmportal.de: Stefan Hayn

Kerstin Schroedinger arbeitet in den Bereichen Video, Sound und Performance. Ihre historiographische Praxis befragt die Mittel der Bildproduktion, historische Kontinuitäten und ideologische Darstellungen der Repräsentation. Ihre Arbeiten und kuratorische Praxis sind meist kollaborativ. Zu ihren jüngsten Arbeiten gehören Der angebliche Körper (Performance), aufgeführt beim Images Festival Toronto und bei Les Complices * Zürich 2017, Fugue (Film, 2015) sowie Rainbow’s Gravity (Video, 2014) und Red, She Said (Video, 2011) beide in Zusammenarbeit mit Mareike Bernien. Ihre Arbeit wurde unter anderem im Whitney Museum of American Art, Anthology Film Archives New York, Forum Expanded der Berlinale, Kurzfilmfestival Oberhausen, Internationales Filmfestival Toronto, Gasworks London, Arnolfini Bristol, Whitechapel Gallery London gezeigt, Ausstellungen unter anderem im MIT List Visual Arts Center Boston (2016), PhotoCairo #6 (2017), FMAC Mediathèque Genf (2016), Die Schule von Kiew – 2. Kiew Biennale 2015, Helmhaus Zürich (2015), Kunstpavillion Innsbruck (2017).

Vladislav Shapovalov (*1981, Rostow-am-Don, Russland) ist Künstler und Forscher, der in Mailand und Moskau lebt und arbeitet. Er war Mitglied der Künstler_innengruppe Radek Community (1999-2007). Seit 2008 hat er als Einzelkünstler an Projekten gearbeitet, die sich vor allem mit der Neubewertung von Bildern, kulturellen Artefakten und der Konstruktion von Narrativen beschäftigt, die dazu dienen, geopolitische Konfigurationen zu konstruieren und zu analysieren. Shapovalov war 2016/17 mit Unterstützung der Stadt Innsbruck Teilnehmer am Fellowship-Programm für Kunst und Theorie im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen. Gegenwärtig bereitet er seine erste Einzelausstellung Image Diplomacy im Moscow Museum of Modern Art vor (ab 17.11.2017), in der unter anderem der gleichnamige Film sowie die in Büchsenhausen produzierte Installation I Left My Heart in Rodhesia (2017) gezeigt werden. Eine weitere Einzelausstellung von Vladislav Shapovalov findet ab Anfang Dezember 2017 bei ar/ge kunst in Bozen statt.

Zu seinen jüngsten Ausstellungsbeteiligungen gehören Atlas [of the ruins] of Europe, kuratiert von Julia Morandeira Arrizabalaga und José Riello, CentroCentro, Madrid, 2016; Fear. The Origin of the State, kuratiert von Fedor Blašák und Christian Kobald, Nová synagóga / Kunsthalle Žilina, Slowakei, 2015; The School of Kyiv, Biennale von Kiew, kuratiert von Hedwig Saxenhuber und Georg Schollhammer, Kiew, 2015; Sources Go Dark, kuratiert von Valerio Borgonuovo und Silvia Franceschini, Futura Center for Contemporary Art, Prag, 2015.

vladislavshapovalov.com

Veranstaltungsort
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at