Treason and Form: Reflections on Art and Thought

with Anthony Iles, kuda.org, Group for conceptual politics, Marina Vishmidt

'Treason and Form', Marina Vishmidt and Anthony Iles, after Ad Reinhardt.

The discussion will explore questions of political and artistic form in their tensions and convergences. What kinds of methods enable us to be active in this field while avoiding the reification of concepts, to retain the speculative at the core of our inquiries? What would it mean to understand ourselves as ‘subjects congealed as technology’ (Theodor W. Adorno), or as historically produced objects ‘culturally bonded through the creation of relations’ (Howard Slater)?

Documentation of the discussion will form the foundation for Anthony Iles’ and Marina Vishmidt’s contribution to the exhibition Nuisance Value. The contribution will be on display from June 22.

Marina Vishmidt is a London-based writer occupied mainly with questions around art, labor and value. She is the author of Speculation as a Mode of Production (Brill, early 2016) and A for Autonomy (with Kerstin Stakemeier) (Textem, 2015). She also works regularly with Anthony Iles and with Melanie Gilligan. She collaborates with artists and contributes to journals such as Mute, Afterall, Texte zur Kunst, and the South Atlantic Quarterly, as well as co-/edited collections and catalogs,most recently Anguish Language (Archive Books, forthcoming). She is part of the Theory faculty at the Dutch Art Institute, a visiting lecturer at Middlesex University and the University of Brighton, and has taught at the University of the Arts in Berlin, Central Saint Martins, and Goldsmiths.


Anthony Iles is a writer of criticism and fiction based in London. He is a PhD candidate at Middlesex University, a contributing editor with Mute / Metamute, http://metamute.org, and an editor of the forthcoming publication on writing and crisis Anguish Language (Archive Books), http://anguishlanguage.tumblr.com/.

kuda.org is an independent cultural organization based in Novi Sad (Serbia), which since 2001 brings together artists, theoreticians, media activists, researchers and the wider public in the research of contemporary art theory and practice, cultural policies, activism and politics. kuda.org tends to make an intervention in the sphere of research and artistic and social experimentation within the field of art and cultural production, from the position of institutional critique and critique of cultural policies.

kuda.org

Group for Conceptual Politics (Grupa za konceptualnu politiku) is an artistic and political organization which is the result of local conflicts and clashes by which people in this struggle are fleeing while avoiding antagonism as a model of articulation of their own practice and thought. It seeks to construct a space which it ironically designates an ‘institutional commune’. It comprehends that work needs to be published in order to be created (written, read or translated). The Group’s work is therefore the political project of the deconstruction of cultural policy and state education.

konceptualnapolitika.blogspot.co.at

Location
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Wed-Fri 11.00 – 18.00
Sat 11.00 – 15.00

Treason and Form: Reflections on Art and Thought

mit Anthony Iles, kuda.org, Group for conceptual politics, Marina Vishmidt

Treason and Form, Marina Vishmidt und Anthony Iles, nach Ad Reinhardt.

In der Diskussion wird es um Fragen der politischen und künstlerischen Form in ihren gegenseitigen Spannungen und Annäherungen gehen. Welche Methoden ermöglichen uns, in diesem Feld aktiv zu werden, ohne dabei aber vorhandene Konzepte zu reifizieren, und das Spekulative im Zentrum unserer Untersuchungen beizubehalten? Was würde es bedeuten, uns selbst als „Subjekte, die zu Technologie erstarrt sind“ (Theodor W. Adorno) zu verstehen, oder als geschichtlich hergestellte Objekte, die „durch die Schaffung von Beziehungen kulturell miteinander verbunden sind“ (Howard Slater)?

Die Diskussion wird die Grundlage des Beitrags bilden, die Anthony Iles und Marina Vishmidt in der Ausstellung Störwerte ab Mittwoch, dem 22. Juni 2016 zeigen werden.

Marina Vishmidt lebt als Autorin in London und befasst sich in ihrer Praxis vornehmlich mit Fragen zu Kunst, Arbeit und der Wertform. Sie ist Autorin der Publikationen Speculation as a Mode of Production (Brill, Erscheinung geplant für Anfang 2016) und A for Autonomy (mit Kerstin Stakemeier) (Textem, 2015). Sie arbeitet regelmäßig mit Anthony Iles und Melanie Gilligan sowie mit Künstler_innen zusammen und schreibt Beiträge für Magazine wie Mute, Afterall, Texte zur Kunst und South Atlantic Quarterly. Vishmidt ist (Mit-)Herausgeberin von Textsammlungen und Kunstkatalogen, darunter in jüngster Zeit Anguish Language (Archive Books, erscheint in Kürze). Zudem ist sie Mitglied der Theoriefakultät am Dutch Art Institute, Gastlektorin an der Middlesex University und der University of Brighton sowie ehemalige Lektorin an der Universität der Künste in Berlin, am Central Saint Martins und am Goldsmiths College in London.

Anthony Iles lebt in London und schreibt kritische und fiktionale Texte. Er ist Doktorand an der Middlesex University, Redaktionsmitglied des Mute / Metamute Magazins für Netzkultur, http://metamute.org, und Mitherausgeber einer in Kürze erscheinenden Publikation über den Zusammenhang zwischen Schreiben und Krise mit dem Titel Anguish Language (Archive Books), anguishlanguage.tumblr.com.

Group for Conceptual Politics (Grupa za konceptualnu politiku) ist eine künstlerische und politische Initiative aus Serbien, die auf Grund einer schwindenden Kultur einer konfliktbehafteten Auseinandersetzung und der Verteidigung eigener Standpunkte in der Region entstand. Die Gruppe verfolgt die Absicht, einen Raum zu schaffen, der ironisch als „institutionelle Kommune“ aufgefasst wird. Die Arbeit der Gruppe kann als das politische Projekt der Dekonstruktion vorherrschender Kulturpolitik und staatlicher Bildungsdispositive betrachtet werden.

konceptualnapolitika.blogspot.co.at

kuda.org ist eine unabhängige Kulturinitiative mit Sitz in Novi Sad (Serbien). Seit 2001 bringt sie Künstler_innen, Theoretiker_innen, Medienaktivist_innen, Forscher_innen und eine Öffentlichkeit zusammen, die an Theorien und Praktiken der Gegenwartskunst, Kulturpolitik, Aktivismus und Politik interessiert ist. kuda.org interveniert vom Feld der künstlerischen beziehungsweise kulturellen Produktion aus in die Sphären von Forschung, Kunst und sozialer Praxis, indem sie sich institutionskritisch artikuliert und herrschende kulturpolitische Paradigmen hinterfragt.

kuda.org

Veranstaltungsort
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Mi-Fr 11.00 – 18.00
Sa 11.00 – 15.00