Uncanny Formations

NEVER EVER CLEVER © Stefan Hayn

The new Fellows – Eva Egermann, Stefan Hayn, Kerstin Schroedinger, and Vladislav Shapovalov – are introducing themselves and their work, and will provide some insight into their respective proposals for the coming months. Entitled Uncanny Formations, the annual fall / winter exhibition of the Fellowship Program for Art and Theory will show current works by the Fellows, which are linked to their planned projects in Büchsenhausen dealing with physical deviance, educational spirits, apparently obsolete image production processes, and former geopolitics. On the one hand, the works shown illustrate the Fellows’ visual practices; on the other hand, they form a basis for exploration of their respective thematic priorities.

 

Opening Hours: Tue, Wed 2 – 5 p.m. and by individual appointment,
closed on public holidays and between 22 December 2016 until 9 January 2017.

 

In her research-based practice, Eva Egermann works with oppositional practices, assimilations, social movements and pop cultures linked to deviance, abnormality, illness and disability. She works with examples from various times and places, which trigger resistance, irritation or contradiction within aesthetic representations of the undamaged. A huge range of materials can be found in her artistic projects – restaged, revised (e.g. in the form of a newspaper) – or during band practice.
The Crip Magazine is a self-published magazine and a collection of materials on crip themes, art and cultural production, and representations opposing the conditions of normality/abnormality. It encompasses contributions by artists and authors about the crip movement, outcast-nights or disability in subcultural, left-wing and queer contexts; experimental images and texts like the extraterrestrial song text, excentric spoken pieces, the Cosmic Creatures or uncanny images on “feeling bad”.
The magazine is concerned with crip pop culture, art and radical social movements, with pain as its theme, and it opens up a transformative perspective on body issues and physical social relationships. The idea that writing is a technique of the cyborg, as Donna Haraway put it, has been adopted. Cyborgs fight against perfect communication, against the one “code” that translates and transfers every meaning perfectly. That is why cyborgs insist on noise and make a plea for impairment.
An Outcast Night (2013, 2015) is a performance in which Eva Egermann talks about a psychogeographical map dating from 1910. The map was first presented during an “Outcast Night” organized by anarchists in the USA at the turn of the century. The situation allows us to follow this event while fictionalizing it as well. Anachronistic bodies wander through time and mist. “We must fight against transparency everywhere. (…) We demand the right to opacity for all, the right to be misunderstood.” (Glissant) Egermann is supported by Redhead Army, a Punkrock project in one person from Vienna, who provides the sound. An evening with a map from the year 1910, deviant subjects, and blurring of the narrative through disturbance, noise, theory, midi-punk and mist.
(original text: Eva Egermann)

 

Since 2008 Vladislav Shapovalov has been working on projects concerned mainly with the re-evaluation of images and cultural artefacts, and the construction of narratives; the purpose is to construct and analyze geopolitical configurations.
In his current research project, Image Diplomacy, Shapalov investigates the specific functions of the image in the system of political culture. The project intends to bring to light certain historic aspects of constructing the political-imaginary of the 20th century through exhibition strategies and the photographic medium, and to draw conclusions for the present day.
The research is based on materials from an archive, located in Milan, containing photographic prints and films sent by the All-Union Society for Cultural Relations with Foreign Countries, founded in the USSR in 1925, to the countries of Western Europe. The aim of this intervention by the “Soviet exhibition complex” was to represent socialist modernity and disseminate a positive and controlled image of the USSR and Soviet life during the period of the Cold War.
The main concern of Vladislav Shapovalov’s research is the cultural and visual mechanics behind the formulation of political imaginations, immanent to different societies in different historical periods, through the use of exhibition strategies and photography. Although the project is historically grounded, it is concerned less with fathoming how things actually were and more with how they appear in retrospect. It aims to rediscover and rescue the past but not for nostalgic reasons. The goal is to blast holes in established western interpretations of the twentieth century, freeing up new perspectives that allow for critical reappropriations of its legacy, and reflections on the current interplay between images, politics and society.
In the exhibition Unheimliche Formationen (Uncanny Formations) Shapovalov is showing the work Opening Titles (Images Soviétiques) (2016). Five images that seem identical at first glance show the area of the Soviet Union as a red continent in an indeterminate “blue sea”; above them, in five different languages, is the title of a film: “Through the Soviet Union”. The initial sequence of the Soviet “promotional film” freezes into a multiple, framed body of images, its effect both deconstructive and fetishizing; by this means, it announces a further series of cinematic images, which will be developed during the artist’s fellowship in Büchsenhausen.

 

Stefan Hayn‘s films question artistic as well as filmic categories and evade simple attributions of genre. His works (films, painting, essays) have been presented in various art and film contexts. In Büchsenhausen Hayn would like to undertake a critical examination of contemporary premises and manifestations behind the visual narrative for children in various media – film, television, (audio-) book, Internet.
In the German-speaking countries children’s film, children’s media, family entertainment seem to have been (re-)discovered as a “highly-promising market sector” in the last ten to fifteen years. The branding campaigns to seduce a young audience across the board early on, meanwhile, are being copied successfully from the Disney productions originally seen as an all-powerful competitor. Beyond this profit aspect, however, a far-reaching analysis of content, visual quality and “morality” standards will be one of the study’s foremost interests; looking at how they are maintained above all by critically positioned forums (production and reception) and consortia dealing with “other”, “high-quality” children’s film. A majority of current German children’s media, according to Hayn, is characterized not least by a retro-trend. Here, it seems that standards of the media workers’ own childhood and youth, now that they have become parents, are being staged for children by the parent generation in a sentimentalizing, ironically heightened or distanced way – “Cold War”, anti-authoritarian ideas and, subconsciously, authoritarian national-socialist (still) influenced worlds of emotion.
Before the background of more recent psychoanalytical studies on the psychosexual development of children, another intention is to examine selected examples from the field of children’s media for their implications in this respect. A further aspect of the research will comprise narrative and artistic works that adopt an interim position, as they do not address (only) children and young people explicitly, but refer very precisely to childhood and youth and so (need to) deal with the question of how (intimate-personal) childhood experiences can be related/shown in order to make the outcome watchable for children. What taboos and limits are touched upon, breached, and possibly violated in this context?
In the present exhibition Hayn is showing two film works: Pissen (Pissing) and Nie wieder klug (Clever, never again!):
In Pissen (1989/90) Hayn refuses to deal with forced coterie of any kind. Using the same anarchistic comedy that characterizes Herbert Achternbusch (…) Hayn captures the deep psychology of the small rural family in only a few images. (…) Stefan as a nervous bedwetter at home with his mother, at school or swimming in the nearby pond (…) The father wears a monkey mask and punishes his son, who later stands at his father’s graveside wearing women’s clothes, and busily waters the cemetery flowers using a green watering can.
(Text: Harald Fricke)
The short film Nie wieder klug (Clever, never again! 2015) refers to the book for children and teenagers “Bei uns in Schilda” by Ottfried Preußler (1958, Thienemann Verlag Stuttgart). It was made in collaboration with a Berlin primary school class of mixed age groups, including a high proportion of children with a background of migration. The parable of the citizens of Schilda comes from the early modern age; written in the late 16th century by an anonymous nobleman, it is a farce about the urban middle class that was emerging then, although its members were still tied to the old rural way of life. Taking the form of a loose sequence of stories, it has been re-adapted continually since German Romanticism in particular, after the start of the 20th century primarily as material for children’s books. Gathering the dust of school readers in German, the “cultural lag” in the “narrated images” is nonetheless directly present today.
In Nie wieder klug Hayn shows an “up-to-date, realistic” community of Schilda citizens, among whom the question of belonging and exclusion can no longer be clearly attributed in terms of identity.
(original text: Stefan Hayn)

 

Kerstin Schroedinger works with video, sound and text. She questions means of production, historical continuities, and ideological certainties of representation from an historiographic starting point. The majority of her artistic works and projects as a curator are collaborative. Continuing her research into the historical and material conditions of analogue film, Schroedinger’s project in Büchsenhausen starts out with the history of the chemicals industry and in particular the pharmaceuticals industry at the start of the 20th century, which – like the photographic industry – had its origins in the syntheticizing of colourants. The project comprises material research exploring formal, social, economic and political questions of image production by means of experimental, performance-based image production. Schroedinger works with approaches aiming to deconstruct the dominance of the visual over the material aspects of film images.
In the late 1980s and early 1990s, dinitrochlorobenzene (DNCB) – a chemical derived from a synthetic yellow dye and used in photochemistry as a developer in the field of colour photography – was used in AIDS-activist circles as a medication to treat Kaposi’s sarcoma in the absence of alternatives. Applied to the skin, the chemical triggers an immune response, which can lead to temporary improvement of symptoms. Since the 1990s, we can also observe “alternative” care models from activist structures of the AIDS movement entering into the mainstream more and more. Principles of self-care, organic foods or so-called alternative healing methods like acupuncture and traditional Chinese medicine (TCM), as well as the universally growing health mania may also be connected. The application of combination therapy with anti-retroviral medications since the mid 1990s means that the AIDS crisis is shifting more and more into parts of the global south, above all into Africa south of the Sahara. The Swiss pharmaceuticals company Hoffman La Roche denied access to research results for many years and is also guilty of profiting from the overpricing of patented medicines.
At the same time, the 1990s also saw a decline in analogue photography. Among filmmakers, however, there is a tendency to move away from technical developments and trends in the film industry and to develop film again oneself. At so-called film farms, for some years now filmmakers have been occupied with replacing the chemical substances necessary for film development with self-cultivated organic vegetables, for example with extracts of broccoli or paprika.
The deliberations and outcomes of the research will lead to a film project with the working title DNCB vs Broccoli, which is being developed in cooperation with artist and filmmaker Oliver Husain (www.husain.de). In Büchsenhausen Schroedinger and Husain would like to conceive a presentation format for this project – in the form of workshops, lab set-ups, lectures and installations.
In addition, during the research phase she will develop a series of material studies, in which she intends to examine the historical conditions of chemicals production beside the Rhine and in Central Europe, and the current cross-holdings of global pharmaceutical concerns. In this context, she is interested in the role of rivers in Central Europe’s industrialization in general, as well as in referring to the specific local conditions of the Tyrol, in particular the role of the Inn as a source of energy but also as a transportation route and refuse dump – and to what extent, for example, it is possible to relate this to the history of Sandoz in Kundl.
The video work Bläue (Blueness 2016) shows the process of producing a cyanotype, a photographic method that produces a blue image using the synthetic dye, “Prussian Blue”. Parallel to the process’ individual stages, from exposure in sunlight to development and fixing of the image under running water, the shots of the film follow individual historical events linked to the blue dye, and visit their locations. Thereby, connections to the pharmaceutical-chemical industry in Switzerland emerge, latently present in the image-creating blueprint process, but possibly only becoming visible between the images, and between the times of exposure and development.
(original text: Kerstin Schroedinger)

Eva Egermann (*1979 in Vienna, Austria, grew up in the Burgenland) is an artist living in Vienna. She has worked within a wide range of media and collaborations (e.g. with Manoa Free University). Besides numerous artistic projects, she has produced publications (e.g. Regime. Wie Dominanz organisiert und Ausdruck formalisiert wird or Class Works) and projects as curator (e.g. 2 or 3 Things we’ve learned. Intersections of Art, Pedagogy and Protest or On Uncanny States and Bodies). She was part of the research group of Model House. Mapping Transcultural Modernisms, Visiting Researcher at U.C. Berkeley in the winter semester 2014/15, and is writing her doctorate as part of the PhD-in-Practice-Programme at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Her work was awarded the Theodor Körner Prize 2015 for Science and Art, and endorsed in the category Interdisciplinarity in the context of the Outstanding Artist Award 2016.

Stefan Hayn lives in Berlin. His films released since 1989 question artistic as well as cinematic categorisation, and reject simplistic genre attributions. His works (films, painting, essays) have been presented in a wide range of art and film contexts. He has taught at Berlin University of the Arts, specializing in the interrelations of film and painting.

Stefan Hayn is a painter and filmmaker. In his more recent works he attempts to enable an emotional experience of film-immanent processes or – in comparisons within the exhibition space – processes of painterly or filmic perception including their social-historical and biographical-individual connections. He also reflects on artistic approaches aiming towards openness in conceptual-essayistic works. He presents his films in cinemas, on TV, and at international festivals. Most recently, the Heidelberger Kunstverein and the Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig, Vienna showed a selection of his film works and paintings.

For a filmography of Stefan Hayn, see also:
filmportal.de: Stefan Hayn

Kerstin Schroedinger is an artist working in video, sound and performance. Her historiographic practice questions the means of image production, historical continuities and ideological certainties of representation. Her works and curatorial practice are often collaborative. Recent works include The Alleged Body (performance), shown at Images Festival Toronto, and Les Complices* Zurich in 2017, Fugue (Film, 2015), as well as Rainbow’s Gravity (Video, 2014, GFTA-funded 2013) and Red, she said (Video, 2011) both with Mareike Bernien. Her work has been shown at the Whitney Museum of American Art, Anthology Film Archives New York, Forum Expanded of Berlinale, Short ٍFilm Festival Oberhausen, International Film Festival Toronto, Gasworks London, Arnolfini Bristol, Whitechapel Gallery London, and exhibited at MIT List Visual Arts Center Boston (2016), Photo Cairo #6 (2017), FMAC Mediathèque Geneva (2016), The School of Kyiv – 2nd Kiev Biennale 2015, Helmhaus Zurich (2015), Kunstpavillion Innsbruck (2017), amongst others.

Vladislav Shapovalov (*1981, Rostov-on-Don, Russia) is an artist and researcher living and working in Milan and Moscow. He was a member of the art-group Radek Community from 1999-2007. Since 2008 he has been working independently on projects that focus on rethinking images, cultural artifacts and the construction of narratives as a way to construe and analyze geopolitical configurations. In 2016/17, Shapovalov took part in the Fellowship Program for Art and Theory in Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen with support from the City of Innsbruck. He is currently preparing his first solo exhibition Image Diplomacy in the Moscow Museum of Modern Art (as from 17.11.2017), in which the film of the same name as well as the installation produced in Büchsenhausen, I Left My Heart in Rhodesia (2017), will be shown among other things. A further solo exhibition by Vladislav Shapovalov will take place as from the beginning of December 2017 at ar/ge kunst in Bolzano.

Recent exhibitions include Atlas [of the ruins] of Europe, curated by Julia Morandeira Arrizabalaga and José Riello, CentroCentro, Madrid, 2016; Fear. The Origin of the State, curated by Fedor Blašák and Christian Kobald, Nová synagóga / Kunsthalle Žilina, Slovakia, 2015; The School of Kyiv. Kyiv Biennial, curated by Hedwig Saxenhuber and Georg Schollhammer, Kyiv, 2015; Sources Go Dark, curated by Valerio Borgonuovo and Silvia Franceschini, Futura Center for Contemporary Art, Prague, 2015.

vladislavshapovalov.com

Location
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at

Unheimliche Formationen

NIE WIEDER KLUG © Stefan Hayn

Eva Egermann, Stefan Hayn, Kerstin Schroedinger und Vladislav Shapovalov präsentieren in der alljährlichen Herbst-/Winterausstellung des Fellowship-Programms für Kunst und Theorie 2016/17 unter dem Titel Unheimliche Formationen aktuelle Arbeiten, die im Zusammenhang mit ihren in Büchsenhausen geplanten Vorhaben stehen. Darin geht es um körperliche Devianzen, Bildungsgeister, scheinbar obsolete Bildproduktionsverfahren und ehemalige Geopolitiken. Die gezeigten Arbeiten veranschaulichen einerseits die visuellen Praktiken der Fellows und bilden andererseits eine Grundlage für die Auseinandersetzung mit den jeweiligen thematischen Schwerpunkten.

 

Öffnungszeiten: Di, Mi 14.00 – 17.00 und nach Vereinbarung,
an Feiertagen und von 22. Dezember 2016 bis 9. Jänner 2017 geschlossen.

 

In ihrer Recherche-basierten Praxis beschäftigt sich Eva Egermann mit widerständigen Praktiken, Aneignungen, sozialen Bewegungen und Popkulturen, die mit Devianz, Abnorm, Krankheit und Behinderung zu tun haben. Sie arbeitet mit Beispielen aus verschiedenen Zeiten und Orten, die Aufbegehren, Irritation oder Widerspruch innerhalb ästhetischer Repräsentationen von Unbeschädigtheit auslösen. Verschiedenste Materialien finden sich in ihren künstlerischen Projekten wieder, reinszeniert, überarbeitet (z.B. in Form einer Zeitung) oder während einer Bandprobe.
Das Crip Magazine (2012) ist ein selbstpubliziertes Magazin und eine Sammlung von Materialien zu Crip-Themen, Kunst- und Kulturproduktion und Repräsentationen im Widerspruch zu Norm/Abnorm Verhältnissen. Es umfasst Beiträge von Künstler_innen und Autor_innen über die Krüppelbewegung, Outcast-Nights oder Behinderung in subkulturellen, linken und queeren Kontexten; experimentelle Bilder und Texte wie den extraterrestrischen Songtext, exzentrische Sprechstücke, die Cosmic Creatures oder unheimliche Bilder zu Feeling Bad. Das Magazin beschäftigt sich mit Crip-Popkultur, Kunst und radikalen sozialen Bewegungen, hat Schmerz zum Thema und eröffnet eine transformative Perspektive auf Body-Issues und körperliche soziale Beziehungen. Die Idee, dass Schreiben eine Technik der Cyborg ist, wie es Donna Haraway im „Cyborg Manifesto“ formulierte, findet sich darin wieder. Cyborgs kämpfen gegen die perfekte Kommunikation, gegen den einen „Code“, der jede Bedeutung perfekt übersetzt und überträgt. Deswegen insistieren Cyborgs auf Noise und plädieren für Verschmutzung.
An Outcast Night (2013, 2015) ist eine Performance, in der Eva Egermann über eine psychogeographische Landkarte aus dem Jahr 1910 spricht. Die Karte wurde ursprünglich während einer „Outcast Night“ (Nächte der Ausgestoßenen) präsentiert, die Anarchist_innen zur Jahrhundertwende in den USA organisierten. Die Situation lässt das Event nachvollziehen und fiktionalisiert es gleichermaßen. Anachronistische Körper wandeln durch Zeit und Nebel. „Wir müssen die Transparenz überall bekämpfen. (…) Wir fordern für alle das Recht auf Opazität, das Recht, nicht verstanden zu werden.“ (Glissant) Unterstützung bekommt Egermann durch Redhead Army, ein Punkrock-Projekt in einer Person aus Wien, das für den Sound sorgt. Ein Abend mit einer Landkarte aus dem Jahr 1910, devianten Subjekten und das Verschwimmen der Narrative durch Störung, Noise, Theorie, Midi-Punk und Nebel.
(Textvorlage: Eva Egermann)

 

Seit 2008 arbeitet Vladislav Shapovalov an Projekten, die sich vor allem mit der Neubewertung von Bildern, kulturellen Artefakten und der Konstruktion von Narrativen beschäftigt, die dazu dienen, geopolitische Konfigurationen zu konstruieren und zu analysieren.
In seiner gegenwärtigen Recherche Image Diplomacy erforscht Shapovalov die spezifischen Funktionen des Bildes im System politischer Kultur. Das Projekt beabsichtigt, bestimmte historische Aspekte der Konstruktion des Politisch-Imaginären durch Ausstellungsstrategien und das Medium der Fotografie im 20. Jahrhundert zu beleuchten und mögliche Schlüsse für die Gegenwart zu ziehen.
Die Investigation basiert auf den Materialien eines Archivs mit Sitz in Mailand, das Fotografien und Filme bewahrt, die von der 1925 in der UdSSR gegründeten „Allunionsgesellschaft für kulturelle Beziehungen mit dem Ausland“ an die Länder des Westens geschickt wurden. Das Ziel dieser Intervention des „Sowjetischen Ausstellungskomplexes“ bestand darin, die sozialistische Moderne zu repräsentieren und ein positives und kontrolliertes Bild der UdSSR und des Lebens in der Sowjetunion während des Kalten Krieges zu vermitteln.
Shapovalovs Interesse gilt vor allem den kulturellen und visuellen Mechanismen hinter der Formulierung politischer Imaginationen, die in unterschiedlichen Gesellschaften und in diversen geschichtlichen Perioden jeweils immanent waren, in den Formaten Ausstellung und Fotografie. Auch wenn das Projekt sich mit historischen Grundlagen auseinandersetzt, geht es jedoch dabei weniger darum, auszuloten, wie die Dinge tatsächlich waren als darum, wie sie im Rückblick erscheinen. Das Projekt will die Vergangenheit neu entdecken und vor dem Vergessen bewahren, allerdings nicht aus nostalgischen Gründen. Vielmehr sollen Perforationen in die im Westen etablierte Interpretation des 20. Jahrhunderts vorgenommen werden, um dadurch neue Perspektiven zu eröffnen, die einerseits eine kritische Neuaneignung dieses Erbes, andererseits aber auch Reflexionen über das derzeitige Zusammenspiel zwischen Bildern, Politik und Gesellschaft ermöglichen.
In der Ausstellung Unheimliche Formationen zeigt Shapovalov die Arbeit Opening Titles (Images Soviétiques) (2016). Fünf auf den ersten Blick fast identische Bilder zeigen das Gebiet der Sowjetunion als roter Kontinent in einem unbestimmten, „blauen Meer“; darüber steht in fünf unterschiedlichen Sprachen der Titel eines Films: „Durch die Sowjetunion“. Die Eingangssequenz des sowjetischen „Promo-Films“ erstarrt zum mehrfachen, gerahmten Bildkörper, der gleichermaßen dekonstruktiv wie fetischisierend wirkt, und kündigt dadurch eine weitere filmische Bildfolge, die sich während des Fellowships in Büchsenhausen entwickeln wird.

 

Die Filme von Stefan Hayn hinterfragen künstlerische sowie filmische Kategorisierungen und verweigern sich einfachen Genrezuschreibungen. Seine Arbeiten (Filme, Malerei, Essays) wurden in unterschiedlichen Kunst- und Filmkontexten präsentiert. In Büchsenhausen möchte Hayn gegenwärtige Prämissen und Ausprägungsformen bildhaften Erzählens für Kinder in unterschiedlichen Medien – Film, Fernsehen, (Hör)Buch, Internet – einer kritischen Untersuchung unterziehen.
Im deutschsprachigen Raum scheinen der Kinderfilm, die Kindermedien, das family entertainment seit etwa zehn bis fünfzehn Jahren als „vielversprechendes Marktsegment“ (wieder)entdeckt worden zu sein. Die ein Kinderpublikum frühzeitig und flächendeckend „verführenden“ Branding-Kampagnen werden mittlerweile erfolgreich von den ursprünglich als übermächtige Konkurrenz angesehenen Disney-Produktionen „abgeschaut“. Über diesen Profitaspekt hinaus interessiert in der Untersuchung aber in erster Linie eine tiefer gehende Analyse der inhaltlichen, bildnerischen und „moralischen“ Maßgaben, wie sie vor allem auch von den sich kritisch situierenden Foren bzw. (Produktions- und Rezeptions-) Zusammenschlüssen zum „anderen“, „wertvollen“ Kinderfilm behauptet werden. Aktuelle deutschsprachige Kindermedien zeichnen sich laut Hayn mehrheitlich nicht zuletzt durch einen Retro-Trend aus. Hier scheinen die Maßgaben der eigenen Kinder- und Jugendzeit der zu Eltern gewordenen Medienarbeiter_innen von diesen sentimentalisierend oder ironisch überhöht bzw. distanziert für Kinder ins Bild gesetzt zu werden – „Kalter Krieg“, antiautoritäre Ideen und unbewusst autoritär-nationalsozialistisch (weiter)geprägte Gefühlswelten.
Vor dem Hintergrund neuerer psychoanalytischer Studien zur psychosexuellen Entwicklung von Kindern sollen ausgewählte Beispiele aus dem Kindermedienbereich auf ihre jeweiligen Implikationen hin untersucht werden. Einen weiteren Teil der Recherche werden erzählerische wie bildnerische Werke ausmachen, die eine Zwischenposition einnehmen, da sie nicht explizit (nur) Kinder und Jugendliche ansprechen, sondern sich sehr genau auf Kindheit und Jugend beziehen und damit mit der Frage umgehen (müssen), wie (intim-persönliche) kindliche Erfahrungen erzählt/gezeigt werden können, um das Ergebnis auch für Kinder anschaubar zu machen. Welche Tabus und Grenzen werden dabei berührt, überschritten, möglicherweise verletzt?
In der gegenwärtigen Ausstellung zeigt Hayn zwei Filmarbeiten: Pissen und Nie wieder klug:
In Pissen (1989/90) paktiert Hayn mit keiner Zwangsseilschaft. Mit der gleichen anarchistischen Komik, die sonst Herbert Achternbusch zu eigen ist (…) hat Hayn in wenigen Bildern die Tiefenpsychologie der ländlichen Kleinfamilie erfasst. (…) Stefan als nervöser Nässer zu Hause bei seiner Mutter, in der Schule oder beim Baden im nahen Teich (…) Der Vater trägt eine Affenmaske und bestraft den Sohn, der später in Frauenkleidern an seinem Grab steht und eifrig die Friedhofsblumen mit einer grünen Kanne gießt.
(Text: Harald Fricke)
Der Kurzfilm Nie wieder klug (2015) bezieht sich auf das Kinder- und Jugendbuch „Bei uns in Schilda“ von Ottfried Preußler (1958, Thienemann Verlag Stuttgart) und entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit einer altersgemischten Berliner Grundschulklasse mit hohem Anteil an Kindern mit Migrationshintergrund. Die Schildbürgerparabel stammt aus der frühen Neuzeit. Sie wurde Ende des 16. Jahrhunderts von einem anonym bleibenden Adeligen als Farce auf das sich neu etablierende, aber der bäuerlichen Lebensweise verhaftete städtische Bürgertum lanciert. In der Form einer losen Reihenerzählung wurde sie besonders seit der deutschen Romantik anhaltend readaptiert, seit Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts vornehmlich als Kinderbuchstoff. Durch Deutschunterrichtlesebücher angestaubt, ist der „cultural lag“ aber in den „erzählten Bildern“ auch heute noch unmittelbar präsent.
Mit Nie wieder klug zeigt Hayn eine „zeitgemäß realistische“ Schildbürgergemeinschaft, in der die Frage von Zugehörigkeit und Ausgeschlossen-Sein nicht mehr eindeutig identitär zuordenbar ist.
(Textvorlage: Stefan Hayn)

 

Kerstin Schroedinger arbeitet mit Video, Ton und Text. Mit einem historiografischen Ansatz hinterfragt sie Produktionsmittel, historische Kontinuitäten und ideologische Gewissheiten der Repräsentation. Bei ihren künstlerischen Arbeiten und kuratorischen Projekten handelt es sich meistens um Kollaborationen. In Fortführung ihrer Recherchen zu den historischen und materiellen Bedingungen von analogem Film nimmt Schroedingers Vorhaben in Büchsenhausen seinen Ausgangspunkt in der Geschichte der chemischen Industrie und insbesondere der Pharma-Industrie zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts, die ebenso wie die Fotoindustrie ihren Ursprung in der Synthetisierung von Farbstoffen hatte. Das Projekt ist eine Materialrecherche, die sich mit formalen, sozialen, ökonomischen und politischen Fragen der Bildproduktion mittels einer experimentellen, performance-basierten Bildproduktion auseinandersetzt. Schroedinger arbeitet mit Ansätzen, die die Dominanz des Visuellen über die materiellen Aspekte des Filmbildes zu dekonstruieren sucht.
In den späten 1980er und frühen 1990er Jahren wurde DiNitroChlorBenzol (DNCB), eine Chemikalie, die aus einem synthetischen gelben Farbstoff gewonnen und in der Fotochemie als Entwickler im Farbfotobereich verwendet wird, innerhalb von AIDS-aktivistischen Kreisen mangels Alternativen als Medikament zur Behandlung des Kaposi-Sarkoms verwendet. Auf die Haut aufgetragen, ruft die Chemikalie eine Immunreaktion hervor, die zu einer zeitweiligen Verbesserung der Symptome führen kann. Seit den 1990er Jahren lässt sich auch beobachten, dass „alternative“ Versorgungsmodelle aus aktivistischen Strukturen der AIDS-Bewegung mehr und mehr Einzug im Mainstream halten. Prinzipien der Selbstversorgung, Bio-Lebensmittel oder sogenannte alternative Heilmethoden, wie Akupunktur und Traditionelle Chinesische Medizin (TCM) sowie der allgemein zunehmende Gesundheitswahn stehen möglicherweise damit in Verbindung. Mit der Anwendung der Kombinationstherapie mit anti-retroviralen Medikamenten seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre verschiebt sich die AIDS-Krise vermehrt in Bereiche des Globalen Südens, vor allem nach Afrika südlich der Sahara. Der Schweizer Pharma-Konzern Hoffman La Roche verweigerte jahrelang den Zugang zu Forschungsergebnissen und ist zudem verantwortlich, aus überhöhten Preisen für patentierte Medikamente zu profitieren.
Gleichzeitig kommt es in den 1990er Jahren zum Niedergang der analogen Fotografie. Unter Filmemacher_innen gibt es allerdings den Trend, sich immer mehr von der Abhängigkeit von techischen Entwicklungen und filmindustriellen Trends zu lösen und Film wieder eigenständig zu entwickeln. Auf sogenannten Film Farms sind seit einigen Jahren nun Filmemacher_innen damit befasst, die chemischen Substanzen, die in der Filmentwicklung notwendig sind, mit selbstangebautem Bio-Gemüse zu ersetzen, etwa mit Extrakten aus Brokkoli oder Paprika.
Ergebnisse und Überlegungen der Recherche werden in ein Filmprojekt unter dem Arbeitstitel DNCB vs Brokkoli, der in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Künstler und Filmemacher Oliver Husain entwickelt wird, fließen. In Büchsenhausen möchte Schroedinger gemeinsam mit Husain ein Präsentationsformat für dieses Projekt erarbeiten – in Form von Workshops, Laboranordnungen, Vorträgen und Installationen. Darüber hinaus wird sie während der Recherchephase eine Reihe von Materialstudien entwickeln, in denen sie die Zusammenhänge der historischen Bedingungen der chemischen Produktion am Rhein in Mitteleuropa und die aktuellen Verflechtungen von globalen Pharma-Konzernen untersuchen möchte. Dabei interessiert sie gleichsam die Rolle der Flüsse in der Industrialisierung Mitteleuropas generell und, bezugnehmend auf die örtlichen Besonderheiten Tirols, speziell auch die Rolle des Inn – als Energiequelle aber auch als Transportweg und Abfallgrube – und inwiefern beispielsweise die Geschichte von Sandoz in Kundl damit in Zusammenhang gebracht werden kann.
Die Videoarbeit Bläue (2016) zeigt den Prozess der Herstellung einer Cyanotypie, eines Fotografieverfahrens, das mittels des synthetischen Farbstoffs „Berliner Blau“ ein blaues Bild produziert. Simultan zu den einzelnen Schritten, von der Belichtung im Sonnenlicht bis zur Entwicklung und Fixierung des Bildes unter fliessendem Wasser, gehen die Aufnahmen des Films einzelnen historischen Ereignissen nach, mit denen der blaue Farbstoff zu tun hat, und sucht deren Orte auf. Dabei stellen sich Verbindungen zur pharmazeutisch-chemischen Industrie in der Schweiz her, die im bildgebenden Verfahren des Blaudrucks zwar latent vorhanden sind, möglicherweise jedoch nur zwischen den Bildern und zwischen den Zeiten der Belichtung und Entwicklung sichtbar werden.
(Textvorlage: Kerstin Schroedinger)

 

 

Eva Egermann (*1979 in Wien, Österreich, aufgewachsen im Burgenland) ist Künstlerin und lebt in Wien. Sie arbeitete in unterschiedlichsten Medien und Kollaborationen (wie z.B. der Manoa Free University). Neben zahlreichen künstlerischen Projekten sind Publikationen (z.B. Regime. Wie Dominanz organisiert und Ausdruck formalisiert wird oder Class Works) und kuratorische Projekte (z.B. 2 or 3 Things we’ve learned. Intersections of Art, Pedagogy and Protest oder On Uncanny States and Bodies) entstanden. Sie war Teil der Forschungsgruppe von Model House. Mapping Transcultural Modernisms, Visiting Researcher an der U.C. Berkeley im WS 2014/15 und ist Dissertantin im PhD-in-Practice-Programm an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien. Ihre Arbeit wurde mit dem Theodor Körner Preis 2015 für Wissenschaft und Kunst und einer Anerkennung im Rahmen des Outstanding Artist Award 2016 in der Kategorie Interdisziplinarität ausgezeichnet.

Stefan Hayn lebt in Berlin. Seine seit 1989 veröffentlichten Filme hinterfragen künstlerische sowie filmische Kategorisierungen und verweigern sich einfachen Genrezuschreibungen. Seine Arbeiten (Filme, Malerei, Essays) wurden in unterschiedlichen Kunst- und Filmkontexten präsentiert. Er lehrte an der Universität der Künste Berlin schwerpunktmäßig zum Verhältnis von Film und Malerei.

Stefan Hayn ist Maler und Filmemacher. In seinen jüngeren Arbeiten versucht er, filmimmanent bzw. in Gegenüberstellungen im Ausstellungsraum malerische und filmische Wahrnehmungsprozesse in ihrer gesellschaftlich-historischen wie lebensgeschichtlich-individuellen Anbindung emotional erfahrbar zu machen. Die ins Offene angelegten bildnerischen Vorgehensweisen reflektiert er auch in begrifflich-essayistischen Arbeiten. Er präsentiert seine Filme im Kino, im Fernsehen und auf internationalen Festivals. Zuletzt zeigten der Heidelberger Kunstverein und das Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien eine Auswahl seiner malerischen und filmischen Arbeiten.

Zur Filmografie von Stefan Hayn siehe auch:
filmportal.de: Stefan Hayn

Kerstin Schroedinger arbeitet in den Bereichen Video, Sound und Performance. Ihre historiographische Praxis befragt die Mittel der Bildproduktion, historische Kontinuitäten und ideologische Darstellungen der Repräsentation. Ihre Arbeiten und kuratorische Praxis sind meist kollaborativ. Zu ihren jüngsten Arbeiten gehören Der angebliche Körper (Performance), aufgeführt beim Images Festival Toronto und bei Les Complices * Zürich 2017, Fugue (Film, 2015) sowie Rainbow’s Gravity (Video, 2014) und Red, She Said (Video, 2011) beide in Zusammenarbeit mit Mareike Bernien. Ihre Arbeit wurde unter anderem im Whitney Museum of American Art, Anthology Film Archives New York, Forum Expanded der Berlinale, Kurzfilmfestival Oberhausen, Internationales Filmfestival Toronto, Gasworks London, Arnolfini Bristol, Whitechapel Gallery London gezeigt, Ausstellungen unter anderem im MIT List Visual Arts Center Boston (2016), PhotoCairo #6 (2017), FMAC Mediathèque Genf (2016), Die Schule von Kiew – 2. Kiew Biennale 2015, Helmhaus Zürich (2015), Kunstpavillion Innsbruck (2017).

Vladislav Shapovalov (*1981, Rostow-am-Don, Russland) ist Künstler und Forscher, der in Mailand und Moskau lebt und arbeitet. Er war Mitglied der Künstler_innengruppe Radek Community (1999-2007). Seit 2008 hat er als Einzelkünstler an Projekten gearbeitet, die sich vor allem mit der Neubewertung von Bildern, kulturellen Artefakten und der Konstruktion von Narrativen beschäftigt, die dazu dienen, geopolitische Konfigurationen zu konstruieren und zu analysieren. Shapovalov war 2016/17 mit Unterstützung der Stadt Innsbruck Teilnehmer am Fellowship-Programm für Kunst und Theorie im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen. Gegenwärtig bereitet er seine erste Einzelausstellung Image Diplomacy im Moscow Museum of Modern Art vor (ab 17.11.2017), in der unter anderem der gleichnamige Film sowie die in Büchsenhausen produzierte Installation I Left My Heart in Rodhesia (2017) gezeigt werden. Eine weitere Einzelausstellung von Vladislav Shapovalov findet ab Anfang Dezember 2017 bei ar/ge kunst in Bozen statt.

Zu seinen jüngsten Ausstellungsbeteiligungen gehören Atlas [of the ruins] of Europe, kuratiert von Julia Morandeira Arrizabalaga und José Riello, CentroCentro, Madrid, 2016; Fear. The Origin of the State, kuratiert von Fedor Blašák und Christian Kobald, Nová synagóga / Kunsthalle Žilina, Slowakei, 2015; The School of Kyiv, Biennale von Kiew, kuratiert von Hedwig Saxenhuber und Georg Schollhammer, Kiew, 2015; Sources Go Dark, kuratiert von Valerio Borgonuovo und Silvia Franceschini, Futura Center for Contemporary Art, Prag, 2015.

vladislavshapovalov.com

Veranstaltungsort
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at