Julie Sas

Julie Sas, Also Known as, a situation, Centre d'art contemporain Genève, 2016, ©Etienne Chosson

Silent Red Alert: Speculative Materials on Anonymity

How to disappear, how to be opaque, disembodied, unauthentic, how to ‘escape the face’, how to expropriate yourself, your name, your identity, how to be approached only by peripheries, how to think, live and act in a speculative mode, how to fantasize, how to turn yourself into a conceptual character, how to speak silently, how to speak saying nothing, how to drop out, how to be discreet, how to create non-spaces and horizontal societies, how to exhibit ?

How to escape the regimes of visibilities at stake in our contemporary societies? What would be a potential and critical subtractive way of thinking and acting, in a world where everything is cumulative and subject to value-creation ? How to quit the order of the self-exhibition and generalized surveillance, to exist elsewhere and differently?

This study intends to analyze some modes of existence and appearance that have the particularity of problematizing the subjectification processes that derive from our relationship to apparatus. 
Anonymity, invisibility, disappearance, avoidance, secrecy or silence can then be seen as possible ethics and positions, ways of resistance to a contemporary paradigm that claims to merge being and appearing on the one hand, value and visibility on the other.

Relying on a heterogeneous corpus of artists, authors, musicians, activists, collectives or even fictional characters – such as The Man Without Qualities (Robert Musil), An Evening With Mr. Teste (Paul Valery), The Residents, The Anonymous, Philippe Thomas, Lee Lozano, Michel Foucault, Le Comité Invisible, the Guerrilla Girls,… – this investigation approaches open forms of anonymity, invisibility or retreats, which overlap different strategies, ways of living and acting, and modes of enunciation. Thus, if anonymity, in the context of this study, can concern the concrete or symbolic effects of disappearance, invisibility, avoidance, or alteration of identity, it can also refer to language operations that denote a radicalized use of language data, taking charge of the invisible, or social and political practices aiming at the invention of a new ethic, new forms of activism and a redefinition of the collective. Another focus of research involves a reflection on the form of the exhibition in the field of the arts, which, when apprehended in all its polysemy, seems to open certain theoretical and practical perspectives for new modes of visibility and implementations of contemporary art.

This investigation intends, in the end, to elaborate a sort of ‘theory of obscurity’, implying the making of a heterogeneous corpus of works: formal and conceptual experimentations, but also the writing of a theory-speculative fiction, articulated around anonymous figures and voices, directly inspired from this study, whose identities are ‘slippery’.

(Text: Julie Sas)

Julie SAS is a French artist based in Paris. In her practice she combines installations, writing, performance and collaborative projects, in which she organizes spaces and situations around plays on meanings, norms and identities that demonstrate a tension with certain linguistic or social data. Sas’ recent live installations present bodies involved in codified situations, particularly those linked to the production of public discourse, forms of self-representation, and quotation exercises. Those have led her to start developing long-time research and experimentation on the practice of anonymity and forms of invisibility in art, literature and musical fields.
juliesas.blogspot.com

Julie Sas

Julie Sas, Also Known as, a situation, Centre d'art contemporain Genève, 2016, ©Etienne Chosson

Silent Red Alert: Speculative Materials on Anonymity

Wie ist es möglich zu verschwinden, undurchsichtig zu sein, vom Körper entfremdet, unauthentisch, wie können wir „dem Gesicht entkommen“ und das Selbst, den eigenen Namen, die eigene Identität enteignen, wie uns nur durch Peripherien betreffen lassen, wie können wir in einem spekulativen Modus denken, leben und handeln, wie können wir fantasieren, uns selbst in eine konzeptuelle Figur verwandeln, wie still sprechen, wie sprechen und nichts sagen, wie aussteigen, wie verschwiegen sein, wie Un-Räume und horizontale Gesellschaften schaffen, wie ausstellen?

Wie ist es möglich, den Regimes der Sichtbarkeiten, die in unseren Gegenwartsgesellschaften so wichtig sind, zu entkommen? Wie würde eine potentielle, kritisch subtraktive Art des Denkens und Handelns in einer Welt aussehen, in der alles kumulativ und der Wertschöpfung unterworfen ist? Wie können wir die Ordnung der Selbstausstellung und der generalisierten Überwachung hinter uns lassen und anderswo, anders, existieren?

Dieses Vorhaben will einige Modi der Existenz und der Erscheinung analysieren, die sich durch die Fähigkeit auszeichnen, die Subjektivierungsprozesse zu problematisieren, die aus unserer Beziehung mit dem Apparat resultieren. 
Anonymität, Unsichtbarkeit, Verschwinden, Vermeiden, Geheimhalten oder Schweigen können als mögliche Ethiken und Positionen betrachtet werden, als Formen des Widerstands gegen ein zeitgenössisches Paradigma, das für sich in Anspruch nimmt, Sein und Erscheinen auf der einen, Wert und Sichtbarkeit auf der anderen Seite miteinander zu verschmelzen.

Indem es sich auf einen heterogenen Korpus aus Künstler_innen, Autor_innen, Musiker_innen, Aktivist_innen, Kollektiven oder gar fiktionalen Charakteren stützt – wie Der Mann ohne Eigenschaften (Robert Musil), Der Abend mit Herrn Teste (Paul Valery), The Residents, The Anonymous, Philippe Thomas, Lee Lozano, Michel Foucault, Le Comité Invisible, die Guerrilla Girls … – befasst sich dieses Vorhaben mit offenen Formen der Anonymität, der Unsichtbarkeit oder von Rückzügen, die verschiedene Strategien, Lebens- und Handlungsweisen sowie Artikulationsformen überlagern. Während sich Anonymität im Kontext dieser Studie also auf konkrete beziehungsweise symbolische Wirkungen des Verschwindens, der Unsichtbarkeit, des Vermeidens oder der Identitätsveränderung beziehen möchte, so meint sie genauso Sprachoperationen, die auf den radikalisierten Einsatz sprachlicher Daten verweisen und sich dabei mit unsichtbaren sozialen und politischen Praktiken befassen, die auf die Erfindung einer neuen Ethik, neuer Formen des Aktivismus und einer Neudefinition des Kollektiven abzielen. Einen weiteren Untersuchungsschwerpunkt bildet die Reflexion über das Format der Ausstellung im Kunstkontext, welches, wenn es in seiner gesamten Polysemie erfasst wird, gewisse theoretische und praktische Perspektiven für neue Modi der Sichtbarkeit und der Implementierung zeitgenössischer Kunst zu eröffnen scheint.

Diese Untersuchung will letztendlich eine Art „Theorie der Verdunklung“ ausarbeiten, die mit der Erstellung eines heterogenen Werkkorpus einhergeht: Dieser soll aus formalen und konzeptuellen Experimenten, aber auch aus einer selbst verfassten theoretisch-spekulativen Fiktion bestehen, die rund um anonyme Figuren und Stimmen artikuliert wird, deren Identitäten zwar schwer zu fassen, aber direkt von dieser Studie inspiriert sind.

(Text: Julie Sas)

Julie SAS lebt als Künstlerin in Paris. In ihrer Praxis kombiniert sie Installationen, eigene Schriften, Performance und kollaborative Projekte. Sie stellt Räume und Situationen her, in deren Mittelpunkt das Spielen mit Bedeutungen, Normen und Identitäten steht, um eine Spannung zu bestimmten linguistischen und gesellschaftlichen Parametern zu verdeutlichen. Sas‘ neuere Live-Installationen zeigen Körper, die sich an chiffrierten Situationen beteiligen, insbesondere an solchen, die mit der Produktion eines öffentlichen Diskurses, mit Formen der Selbstdarstellung und mit Zitat-Übungen verbunden sind. Diese Arbeiten haben zu einer langfristigen Recherche und zu Experimenten zur Praxis der Anonymität wie auch zu Formen von Unsichtbarkeit in Kunst, Literatur und Musik geführt.
juliesas.blogspot.com