Marianna Christofides

Marianna Christofides, A canary called Cassandra, 2017, 3-channel-slide projection (installation-view)

Looking Against the Grain – The Hiatus of Uncertainty (Working Title)

Currently Marianna Christofides is working on a long-term project that attempts to examine the uncanny sense of dread as everything around us is stripped of reason and gradually slips out of our grasp. Considering that a state of unfading instability in manifold manifestations of social life has become the norm, Christofides asks for the locus in which this uncertainty entrenches, for the implications that such a study fuels, and the modalities through which an artist can approach a condition that inherently defies comprehension.

During the fellowship at Büchsenhausen Christofides will attempt to create an “anthology of moments of closure” tracing the “wandering” manifestations of uncertainty as it assumes different forms and qualities. Being exposed to this uncertain state and sensing moments of its manifestations will be central aspects of this approach. Taking the viewer on a part visual, part essayistic journey, in her project Christofides will be piecing together peripheral encounters into a poetic narrative which will be loosely woven to enable spaces for unsought revelations. The project will be structured along three main sections or chapters that are not conceived as air-tight and sealed but will be rather penetrable and open to negotiation. So the format and the different mediums used will be: moving-image installations composed of 16mm film, sound, text and slide projections will be complemented by drawings, prints and an artist publication. The different elements are integral in mapping out the current state of uncertainty, introducing a more visceral re-articulation and translation. Furthermore, the artist will work on collaging, layering, re-ordering and subtly staging the collected footage of images (recorded and archival), sounds, writings and objects to probe various constellations and their capacity and limits.

(Text source: Marianna Christofides)

Marianna CHRISTOFIDES is an artist originally from Cyprus who lives in Berlin. In her film essays and filmic installations, she focuses on the juxtaposition of geological with socio-historical narratives, and the (mis)use of the notion of nature as a justifying argument towards contingent cultural facts. Since 2009, Christofides has exhibited extensively internationally and presented her films at numerous film festivals in Europe. Recent solo exhibitions include Parkfield Studies at the Temporary Gallery, Cologne (2017), Shelter Cove at Annaelle Gallery, Stockholm (2016), and Perennial Limbo at waterside contemporary, London. Most recent group shows have been Viaggio in Sicilia, Salinas Archaeological Museum, Palermo (2017), Dejima. Concepts of In- and Exclusion, GAK Gesellschaft für Aktuelle Kunst, Bremen (2017), Terra Mediterranea: In Action, Nicosia Municipal Arts Centre, Nicosia (2017), and Uncertain States. Artistic strategies in States of Emergency / Uncertain States. Künstlerisches Handeln in Ausnahmezuständen, Akademie der Künste Berlin (2016). In 2011, Christofides co-represented Cyprus at the 54th Biennale in Venice (together with Elizabeth Hoak-Doering).
mariannachristofides.com

Marianna Christofides

Marianna Christofides, A canary called Cassandra, 2017, 3-channel-slide projection (still)

Looking Against the Grain – The Hiatus of Uncertainty (Working Title)

Derzeit arbeitet Marianna Christofides an einem Langzeitvorhaben, das das unheimliche Gefühl des Schreckens angesichts der Tatsache, dass alles um uns herum sukzessive jeglicher Vernunft beraubt wird und langsam außer Kontrolle gerät, untersucht. Vor dem Hintergrund, dass ein Zustand unvergänglicher Instabilität in den unterschiedlichsten Manifestationen des sozialen Lebens zur bestimmenden Norm geworden ist, fragt Christofides nach dem abstrakten Ort, an dem sich diese Unsicherheit festsetzt, nach den Implikationen, die eine solche Analyse auslöst und nach den Modalitäten, mittels derer sich ein_e Künstler_in einem Zustand annähern kann, der sich inhärent jedem Verständnis widersetzt.

Während ihres Fellowships in Büchsenhausen wird Christofides an einer „Anthologie der Augenblicke des Verschließens“ arbeiten und dabei den „herumirrenden“ Manifestationen der Unsicherheit nachspüren, deren verschiedenen Formen und unterschiedlichen Qualitäten. Das Ausgeliefert-Sein diesem unsicheren Zustand gegenüber sowie das Nachspüren seiner Manifestationen werden zentrale Aspekte dieses Vorgehens darstellen. Indem sie die Betrachtenden auf eine teilweise visuelle, teilweise essayistische Reise mitnimmt, wird Christofides periphere Begegnungen zu einem poetischen Narrativ zusammenstricken, das lose ineinander verwoben ist, um Räume für bisher unerforschte Offenbarungen zu aktivieren. Das Projekt wird entlang dreier Hauptteile beziehungsweise Kapitel konzipiert, die nicht als abgeschlossen, sondern als durchlässig und offen für Verhandlungen betrachtet werden müssen. Dies gilt ebenso für das Format des Projekts sowie die unterschiedlichen angewandten Medien: Bewegtbild-Installationen, die aus 16mm-Filmen bestehen, Klang, Text und Diaprojektionen werden durch Zeichnungen, Drucke und eine Künstlerinpublikation ergänzt. Diese Vorgehensweise erscheint der Künstlerin als wesentlich in ihrer Absicht, den derzeitigen Zustand der Unsicherheit abzustecken und, damit einhergehend, eine betont viszerale Reartikulation und Übersetzung einzuleiten. Darüber hinaus wird Christofides an der Collagierung, Neuordnung und der subtilen Inszenierung des gesammelten (aufgenommenen und archivierten) Film-, Klang-, Schrift- und Objektmaterials arbeiten, um unterschiedliche Konstellationen sowie deren Fähigkeiten und Grenzen auszuloten.

(Textvorlage: Marianna Christofides)

Marianna CHRISTOFIDES ist eine Künstlerin, die aus Zypern stammt und in Berlin lebt. In ihren Filmessays und filmischen Installationen interessiert sie sich für das Nebeneinander geologischer und sozio-historischer Narrative sowie den Gebrauch bzw. Missbrauch des Naturbegriffs als Rechtfertigung für kulturelle Kontingenz. Seit 2009 weist Christofides eine international intensive Ausstellungstätigkeit auf; ihre Filme wurden auf vielen namhaften Filmfestivals in Europa gezeigt. Jüngste Einzelausstellungen: Parkfield Studies, Temporary Gallery, Köln (2017), Shelter Cove, Annaelle Gallery, Stockholm (2016), und Prennial Limbo, waterside contemporary, London (2016). Jüngste Ausstellungsbeteiligungen: Viaggio in Sicilia, Archäologisches Museum Salinas, Palermo (2017), Dejima. Concepts of In- and Exclusion, GAK Gesellschaft für Aktuelle Kunst, Bremen (2017), und Terra Mediterranea: In Action, Nicosia Municipal Arts Centre, Nicosia (2017), Uncertain States. Artistic strategies in States of Emergency / Uncertain States, und Künstlerisches Handeln in Ausnahmezuständen, Akademie der Künste Berlin (2016). Im Jahr 2011 vertrat Marianna Christofides (gemeinsam mit Elizabeth Hoak-Doering) Zypern auf der 54. Biennale in Venedig.
mariannachristofides.com