Marina Vishmidt

Nicholas Negroponte with the Architecture Machine Group, M.I.T., Seek, 1970

Plastic Givens: Some Incidents Between Production and Abolition

Since 2009, Marina Vishmidt and Anthony Iles have been working together on a series of essays, posters and presentations expanding their common interest in the relation of artistic practices to social crisis by reflecting on the roles of machines, labor and value in capitalist reality and communist philosophy. They ask: How do art’s encounters with destruction help us to track the historical nature of negativity, serendipity and accident in art specifically and in capitalist culture more generally?
The project will try to analyse forms of (self-)abolition, negation and subsumption as they figure in concrete instances of artistic production, and find systemic resonances with the current entropy of capitalist society. Recent tendencies show that art is more often affirmed than negated by its incorporation of the ‘outside’, accumulating more efficiently than the crisis capitalism it ransacks for its themes. At the same time, radical politics seeks to dissolve art in ethics or practical activity, itself a conservative gesture when nothing else changes. Can the aesthetic help us here, keeping open the sensuous and indeterminate in the movement of negation? If art tends to lose its borders with other activities in a society transformed by the speculative economy, it shows that the relation between speculation and subjectivity is what makes it urgent to discern a politics that actualizes the constitutive ‘(dis)measure’ that makes art a privileged site for speculation.
Marina and Anthony will use the discursive context of Büchsenhausen’s Fellowship Program for Art and Theory to open this work to further development and discussion, eventually bringing the common thread of these conversations and written work into a co-authored book, as well as developing an archive of the process incorporating contributions from interlocutors, who will participate in their working and staging process at Büchsenhausen.

Marina Vishmidt is a London-based writer occupied mainly with questions around art, labor and value. She is the author of Speculation as a Mode of Production (Brill, early 2016) and A for Autonomy (with Kerstin Stakemeier) (Textem, 2015). She also works regularly with Anthony Iles and with Melanie Gilligan. She collaborates with artists and contributes to journals such as Mute, Afterall, Texte zur Kunst, and the South Atlantic Quarterly, as well as co-/edited collections and catalogs,most recently Anguish Language (Archive Books, forthcoming). She is part of the Theory faculty at the Dutch Art Institute, a visiting lecturer at Middlesex University and the University of Brighton, and has taught at the University of the Arts in Berlin, Central Saint Martins, and Goldsmiths.


Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at

Wed-Fri 11.00 – 18.00
Sat 11.00 – 15.00

◌ ◌ ◌*
Please note that the exhibition is
closed on public holidays and
on the following dates:
6 June, 22 June, 30 June 2018.

 

Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Wed-Fri 11.00 – 18.00
Sat 11.00 – 15.00

Neue Galerie

Rennweg 1, Großes Tor Hofburg
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 58 11 33
neuegalerie@kuenstlerschaft.at

Wed-Fri 11.00 – 17.00
Sat 11.00 – 15.00

Marina Vishmidt

Abolition du Travail Aliene, 1963, Guy Debord und J.V. Martin

Plastic Givens: Some Incidents Between Production and Abolition

Seit 2009 arbeiten Marina Vishmidt und Anthony Iles zusammen an einer Serie von Essays, Postern und Präsentationen, durch die sie ihr gemeinsames Interesse an der Beziehung zwischen künstlerischen Praktiken und sozialer Krise erweitern, indem sie über die Rollen von Maschinen, Arbeit und Wert in der kapitalistischen Realität und der kommunistischen Philosophie reflektieren. Die beiden Autor_innen fragen: Wie kann das Aufeinandertreffen von Kunst und Zerstörung dazu beitragen, der historischen Beschaffenheit von Negativität, Serendipität1 und Zufall besonders in der Kunst, aber auch allgemein in der kapitalistischen Kultur nachzuspüren?

Das Projekt versucht sich an einer Analyse von Formen der (Selbst-)Aufhebung, der Negation und der Unterordnung, wie sie in konkreten Beispielen der künstlerischen Produktion vorkommen, und will systemische Resonanzen mit der Entropie der kapitalistischen Gesellschaft im gegenwärtigen Augenblick entdecken. Neuere Tendenzen zeigen, dass Kunst durch ihre Einbindung des „Außen“ häufiger Bestätigung erfährt als Ablehnung, da sie auf effizientere Weise akkumuliert als der Krisenkapitalismus, den sie auf der Suche nach ihren Themen unermüdlich durchforscht. Gleichzeitig versuchen radikale Politiken, die Kunst in Ethik oder in praktischen Aktivitäten aufzulösen – ein Vorgang, der selbst eine konservative Geste darstellt, solange sich dadurch nichts anderes verändert. Kann uns die Ästhetik hier dabei helfen, das Sinnliche und Unbestimmte in der Bewegung der Negation offen zu halten? Indem Kunst dazu neigt, ihre Grenzen zu anderen Tätigkeiten in einer Gesellschaft aufzuheben, die von der spekulativen Wirtschaft umgestaltet wird, zeigt sie uns dadurch auch, dass gerade die Beziehung zwischen Spekulation und Subjektivität es dringend erforderlich macht, eine Politik zu umreißen, die das konstituierende „(Fehl)Maß“ aktualisiert, welches Kunst zu einem privilegierten Ort der Spekulation werden lässt.

Marina Vishmidt und Anthony Iles werden den diskursiven Kontext des Fellowship-Programms für Kunst und Theorie im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen nutzen, um ihre Arbeit für eine weitere Entwicklung und Diskussion zu öffnen. Die roten Fäden dieser Gespräche und der Schreibarbeit sollen in einer gemeinsamen Publikation zusammengeführt werden; gleichzeitig wollen die beiden Autor_innen ein Archiv des Arbeitsprozesses entwickeln und darin Beiträge von Gesprächspartner_innen, die an ihrem Arbeits- und Inszenierungsprozess in Büchsenhausen teilnehmen, inkludieren.

Marina Vishmidt lebt als Autorin in London und befasst sich in ihrer Praxis vornehmlich mit Fragen zu Kunst, Arbeit und der Wertform. Sie ist Autorin der Publikationen Speculation as a Mode of Production (Brill, Erscheinung geplant für Anfang 2016) und A for Autonomy (mit Kerstin Stakemeier) (Textem, 2015). Sie arbeitet regelmäßig mit Anthony Iles und Melanie Gilligan sowie mit Künstler_innen zusammen und schreibt Beiträge für Magazine wie Mute, Afterall, Texte zur Kunst und South Atlantic Quarterly. Vishmidt ist (Mit-)Herausgeberin von Textsammlungen und Kunstkatalogen, darunter in jüngster Zeit Anguish Language (Archive Books, erscheint in Kürze). Zudem ist sie Mitglied der Theoriefakultät am Dutch Art Institute, Gastlektorin an der Middlesex University und der University of Brighton sowie ehemalige Lektorin an der Universität der Künste in Berlin, am Central Saint Martins und am Goldsmiths College in London.