Stephan Pirker

Stephan Pirker, cs-sys011/carving soundsystem, Soundtrack Hafelekar, Nordkette Innsbruck, 2011

In his artistic work Stephan Pirker develops sound objects, for example, which are generally presented in a context of performance. His starting point here is a close affinity to nature and winter sports.
In 2006/7, at the University of Lapland – Art, Rovaniemi/ FIN, he fulfilled a long-entertained childhood dream by learning the art of ski-jumping. Ski-jumping with all its facets is a continuing theme in Pirker’s work.
In several years of cooperation with the group of artists bu’nostik (2004-08), a number of so-called hightrash sound objects have been developed – assembled into compositions, sequenced, and presented in the form of performance.

Stephan Pirker was born in Innsbruck on 23.12.1971; after graduating from a school with a mechanical engineering bias (1990) and training as a care assistant (1999), he studied Sculpture and Transmedial Space (2002-09) and also Experimental Design (2009-13) at the University of Art and Design, Linz.
He graduated with a Diploma in Fine Art (2013), with the work jumping sound system 013 / js-sys 013 in the context of the Festival of the Regions.
His main emphasis during his studies included the development of the work ssp 04 – the singing skeleton Pilot 04 (Ars Electronica 2005), as well as various sound objects and performances incl. in the artists’ collective bu’nostik.
For 13 years now, his summers have been spent in his favourite job as a herdsman on the slopes of the Alps.

stephanpirker.wordpress.com
www.bu’nostik.org

Stephan Pirker

Stephan Pirker, cs-sys011/carving soundsystem, Tonspur Hafelekar, Nordkette Innsbruck, 2011

Stephan Pirker entwickelt in seiner künstlerischen Arbeit u. a. Soundobjekte, welche meist performativ vorgeführt werden. Ausgangspunkt hierfür ist seine enge Verbindung zur Natur und dem Wintersport.

An der der University of Lappland – Art, Rovaniemi/ FIN erfüllte er sich 2006/07 seinen lang gehegten Kindheitstraum, die Kunst des Schispringens zu erlernen. Das Schispringen in all seinen Facetten wird in Pirkers Arbeit fortwährend thematisiert.

In mehrjehriger Zusammenarbeit mit der Künstlergruppe bu’nostik (2004-08) wurden mehrere sogenannte hightrash-Soundobjekte entwickelt – kompositorisch zusammengeführt, sequentiert und performativ aufgeführt.

Stephan Pirker wurde am 23.12.1971 in Innsbruck geboren, studierte nach Abschluss der Fachschule für Maschinenbau (1990) sowie der Pflegehelferschule (1999) an der Kunstuniversität Linz Bildhauerei und transmedialer Raum (2002-09) als auch experimentelle Gestaltung (2009-13).
Abschluss mit dem Diplom der bildenden Kunst (2013), im Zuge des Festivals der Regionen mit der Arbeit jumping sound system 013 / js-sys 013.
Das Entwickeln des Projekts ssp 04 – the singing skeleton Pilot 04 (Ars Electronica 2005) sowie unterschiedlichen Soundobjekten und Performances u. a. im Künstlerkolektiv bu’nostik zählten zu seiner Hauptarbeit während des Studiums.
Der Sommer wird seit 13 Jahren mit dem Lieblingsjob als Hirte auf der Alm ausgefüllt.

Ausstellungen (Auswahl):
700 Jahre „hall“, Galerie Goldener Engel, Hall 2003; Kunststatt Wels 03, 04, B52, Wels 2003, 2004; licht klang sprachraum, Hofgasse 2 (Kunstuniversität Linz), Linz 2004; hybride kreatures, Ars Electronica, Linz 2005; RLB-Kunstpreis 2006, RLB Kunstbrücke, Innsbruck; Kapierst du nicht, dass das der Himmel ist?, the smallest gallery, Graz 2015; fair dreht – Inn aktiv, koojo/ Innsbrucker Premierentage, Innsbruck 2005;

stephanpirker.wordpress.com
www.bu’nostik.org