Auto/Pathographies—(Self-)Representations of Illness in Contemporary Art.

Curated by Tamar Tembeck

Taking the media of photography, performance and video as an example, the group exhibition Auto/Pathographies addressed questions of identity and (self-)representation in the face of illness. Bringing together works from 10 artists based in Canada, the U.S., Britain and Austria, produced from the 1990s until today, the exhibition offered both sensitive and critical perspectives on the roles disease plays in redefining both individual existences and interpersonal relationships.

While autopathographic subject matter has figured more prominently in visual and performing arts over the last 25 years, few exhibitions have addressed this emerging topic directly. Auto/Pathographies was the first international group exhibition to specifically examine personal and collaborative representations of physical illness from a variety of disciplines. The works selected for the exhibition were presented in Austria for the first time.

These included a number of rare images from the Jo Spence Memorial Archive. Spence was the subject of an extensive retrospective in 2005/06 and her autopathographic series The Picture of Health? was presented at documenta 12 (2007). Auto/Pathographies featured Spence’s last photographic explorations of mortality from The Final Project series, which until then had only been exhibited in Finland and the UK.
With these and each of the artworks presented in Auto/Pathographies, sickness was transformed into a site of active aesthetic, political and even metaphysical inquiry—one whose interest extended well beyond that of a single, individual subject’s narrative.

While the majority of artworks included in the exhibition were produced from an autobiographical perspective (autopathography), some are the result of intimate collaborations between healthy and ill participants (relational pathography). In contrast, Christina Lammer’s video installation Empathographies conveyed clinicians’ perspectives on what it means to be a patient, thereby situating the exhibition’s (auto-)biographical figurations of illness within a larger biopolitical context. Although this was not the focal point of works shown in Auto/Pathographies, it was clear that the cultures of medicine—and the attendant “sick roles” attributed to patients—have a significant impact on the ways individuals experience disease.

Most of the featured artworks emphasized the subject in transformation. Intimate knowledge of the subject-in-flux revealed the limitations of any attempt to adequately communicate experiences of pathos. The collaborative works of Angela Ellsworth and Tina Takemoto attested to such failures of representation and further, to the limits of possible empathy between healthy and sick individuals, or between any two beings, for that matter—a limitation which, in the context of this exhibition, was felt by viewers experiencing auto/pathographies.

Admission of the partial, indirect, or incomplete figuration of pathos was common to many of the works included in the exhibition and sometimes be-came their very point of inquiry. Carl Bouchard’s video Mille excuses (So Sorry/Es tut mir Leid) expresses regret through verbal allusions to a traumatic incident experienced during surgical interventions to the anus. Since the artist failed to record and respond to these incidents when they occurred, his past trauma can only be addressed indirectly through the inverse mirror of his more recent dental surgeries, documented with a hand-held video camera.

The limits of representation—and indeed, of self-representation—were perhaps most clear in artists’ evocations of their own mortality. For The Final Project, Jo Spence sought inspiration from Mexican and Egyptian cultures in order to conduct her photographic figurations of death, which presented contemporary variations on vanitas and memento mori motifs. With Terry Dennett, Spence also revisited some of her older self-portraits, adding layers of decay so as to embed the passage of time into her past self-images. In conducting this impossible visual autothanatography, Spence likely attempted to practice an ars moriendi through the photographic medium. Rather than strictly convey a morbid end, however, Spence’s figurations of death also suggest the possibility of continued transformation, despite of the subject’s demise.

The prospect of hope, transmitted through various processes of regeneration manifested in these images, was a further element at play in the exhibition’s focus on the subject in transformation. In Chantal duPont’s video-diary Headstrong, the artist’s loss of hair during cancer treatment presents her with an opportunity to engage in masquerade and revisit childhood mParticipating artists: Carl Bouchard, Pascal Dufaux, Chantal DuPont, Angela Ellsworth & Tina Takemoto, Christina Lammer, Susan Markisz, Pam Patterson, Jo Spence, Jo Spence & Terry Dennettemories until her hair gradually grows back. Pam Patterson’s Lost Objects and Canto I: Travelling are likewise offered as transformative acts, although here, regeneration is not conveyed by the content of the images so much as by the gesture of their making.

Instead of failing to represent, the above artworks suggest that the image attests to processes that by definition exceed it. In this vein, Susan Markisz’s self-portrait The Road Back brings the irresolution of illness to the fore. Unlike the military imagery that guides many popular illness metaphors, misleadingly framing its possible outcomes as either “victory” or “defeat”, Markisz presents neither a celebratory embrace nor a recalcitrant retreat. In their place, she communicates a processual in-between that cannot be resolved to either extreme.

A convincing counter-proposal to the presumed limitations of interpersonal empathy is presented in Pascal Dufaux’s composite portrait of his uncle, Alzheimer_Buste. Although the ability to perceive another person’s experience of pathos is ultimately conditioned by the “eye of the beholder”, there is no absolute limitation on the time or attention with which the act of empathic looking can unfold. In Dufaux’s photographic process, the surface of the sitter’s body is carefully mapped over a three-hour period, documented by hundreds of digital snapshots taken across 360 degrees. The resulting composite image requires a lengthy process of re-assembly long after the sitter has left the studio. Close attention to the fragment-images of the sitter determines the nature of the portrait that emerges. Conducted “in complicity” with his uncle, Dufaux’s hyperpanoptic portrait can be seen as the relational enactment of empathy.
Tamar Tembeck

Tamar TEMBECK is an art historian, writer and performer based in Montreal. She completed her PhD in art history at the McGill University in Montreal with the dissertation Performative Autopathographies: Self-Representations of Physical Illness in Contemporary Art. Since 2003, Tamar Tembeck has also been working as a therapeutic artist with Dr. Clown in Montreal hospitals, long-term care facilities and rehabilitation centers.
www.tembeck.org

Christina LAMMER is a sociologist, communications and cultural researcher who lives and works in Vienna. Her topics include the visualization of the human body in medical science, visual art and film.

Carl BOUCHARD (*1967 in Ville de La Baie) is an artist based in Chicoutimi, Canada.

Terry DENNETT ist Kurator am Jo Spence Memorial Archive London.

Pascal DUFAUX is a stage designer and visual artist.
www.pascaldufaux.com

Chantal DUPONT, a video artist, has been lecturing at the School of Visual Arts and Media at the University of Québec in Montréal since 1985.
www.chantal-dupont.ca

Angela ELLSWORTH is an interdisciplinary artist (drawing, installation and performance) and teaches at Arizona State University in Tempe.
Tina TAKEMOTO is an interdisciplinary writer, theorist and performance artist. Her topics include issues of illness, gender, race and queer identity. Ihre Themen sind Krankheit, Geschlecht, Rasse und queere Identität. Seit 1992 arbeiten Ellsworth und Takemoto als Her/She Senses zusammen.
www.aellsworth.com
www.ttakemoto.com

Susan MARKISZ is a multimedia journalist and contract photographer.

Pam PATTERSON forscht, performt und unterrichtet mit Fokus u. a. auf den Körper in der Kunst, feministische Kunsterziehung und Frauen- und Gender-Studien.
www.pampatterson-performanceartist.blogspot.com

Jo SPENCE (1934-1992) was a photographer and teacher. In 1982, she broke new ground by developing methods of using photography as a therapeutic tool.
www.jospence.org

Location
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Wed-Fri 12.00 – 18.00
Sat 11.00 – 15.00

Auto/Pathographies – (Selbst-)Darstellung des Krankseins in der zeitgenössischen Kunst

kuratiert von Tamar Tembeck

Anhand der Medien Fotografie, Performance und Video widmete sich die Gruppenausstellung Auto/Pathographies Fragen der Identität und (Selbst-)Darstellung im Angesicht der Krankheit. Die Ausstellung, die Werke von KünstlerInnen aus Kanada, den Vereinigten Staaten, Großbritannien und Österreich aus den beiden vergangenen Jahrzehnten versammelte, bot sowohl einfühlsame als auch kritische Einblicke in die Art und Weise, wie Krankheit persönliche Lebenswege und zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen neu definiert.

Obwohl autopathographischen Themen in den visuellen und darstellenden Künsten der letzten 25 Jahre zunehmend Aufmerksamkeit zuteil wird, haben sich nur wenige Ausstellungen direkt mit diesem virulenten Thema beschäftigt. Auto/Pathographies war die erste internationale Gruppenausstellung, die individuelle und kollaborative Darstellungen physischer Krankheit aus verschiedensten Disziplinen spezifisch unter die Lupe nahm. Die ausgewählten Werke wurden darüber hinaus zum ersten Mal in Österreich ausgestellt.

Unter diesen waren auch einige seltene Bilder aus dem Jo Spence Memorial Archive. Spence war nicht nur eine große Retrospektive im Jahr 2005/06 gewidmet, ihre autopathographische Serie The Picture of Health? wurde zudem auf der documenta 12 (2007) präsentiert. Auto/Pathographies schloss ihre letzten fotografischen Untersuchungen zum Thema Sterblichkeit aus der Serie The Final Project mit ein, die zuvor nur in Finnland und Großbritannien zu sehen gewesen waren.

Darin und in allen anderen in der Ausstellung präsentierten Werken wurde die Krankheit zu einem Ort der aktiven ästhetischen, politischen und sogar metaphysischen Auseinandersetzung – einer Auseinandersetzung, deren Implikationen schlussendlich weit über die individuelle persönliche Erzählung hinausweisen.

Während die meisten der in der Ausstellung gezeigten Werke aus einer autobiographischen Perspektive (Autopathographie) entstanden, waren einige von ihnen das Resultat enger Kollaborationen zwischen gesunden und kranken ProtagonistInnen (relationelle Pathographie). Im Gegensatz dazu vermittelte die Video-Installation Empathographien von Christina Lammer die Sichtweisen von MedizinerInnen auf PatientInnen, wodurch die auto/biografischen Darstellungen von Krankheit in der Ausstellung in einen größeren biopolitischen Zusammenhang gestellt wurden. Obwohl dies nicht das Hauptanliegen der Werke von Auto/Pathographies war, musste aus der Sicht der Kuratorin klar gemacht werden, dass das Gesundheitswesen – und die PatientInnen zugeschriebenen „kranken Rollen“ – einen entscheidenden Einfluss auf die Art und Weise haben, wie Individuen Krankheit erfahren.

In den meisten der präsentierten Werke lag das Augenmerk auf dem Subjekt in Umwandlung. Intime Einsichten in das sich verändernde Subjekt zeigten die Grenzen jedes Versuchs auf, Pathos angemessen zu kommunizieren. Die von Angela Ellsworth und Tina Takemoto gemeinsam geschaffenen Werke bezeugen gerade solche Fehlschläge der Abbildung und darüber hinaus die Grenzen der möglichen Empathie zwischen gesunden und kranken Personen oder generell zwischen zwei Personen – eine Begrenzung, die auch die BesucherInnen dieser Ausstellung in ihrer Wahrnehmung von Auto/Pathographien möglicherweise verspürten.

Ein Eingeständnis der partiellen, indirekten oder unvollständigen Gestaltung von Pathos war vielen der hier gezeigten Werke gemein und stellte in manchen Fällen sogar den Ausgangspunkt der Untersuchung dar. Carl Bouchards Video Mille excuses (So Sorry/Es tut mir leid) kommuniziert Bedauern anhand verbaler Anspielungen auf einen traumatischen Vorfall während einer Operation am Anus. Da der Künstler diese Vorgänge nicht aufnehmen oder auf sie reagieren konnte, während sie stattfanden, konnte er sein vergangenes Trauma nur indirekt angehen durch den umgekehrten Spiegel weniger lang zurückliegender Zahnbehandlungen, die er mithilfe einer Videokamera dokumentierte.

Die Grenzen der Darstellung – und besonders der Selbstdarstellung – wurden besonders offensichtlich in künstlerischen Evokationen der eigenen Sterblichkeit. Für The Final Project ließ sich Jo Spence von mexikanischen und ägyptischen Kulturen dazu inspirieren, fotografische Abbildungen des Todes anzufertigen, die zeitgenössische Variationen von Motiven wie Vanitas und Memento Mori darstellen. Mit Terry Dennett gemeinsam nahm sich Spence auch einige ihrer älteren Selbstporträts wieder vor und fügte Schichten des Verfalls hinzu, um das Verfließen von Zeit in ihre früheren Selbstbilder einzuschreiben. Indem sie diese unmögliche visuelle Autothanatographie durchführte, versuchte sich Spence wohl an einer ars moriendi durch das Medium der Fotografie. Anstatt jedoch streng auf ein morbides Ende hinzuweisen, suggerieren Spences Darstellungen des Todes, trotz des Ablebens des Subjekts, auch die Möglichkeit fortgesetzter Verwandlung.

Die Hoffnung, die in diesen Bildern durch verschiedene Vorgänge der Regeneration vermittelt wird, war ein weiterer Bestandteil der Auseinandersetzung in der Ausstellung mit dem Subjekt in Wandlung. In Chantal duPonts Video-Tagebuch Headstrong gibt der Haarausfall im Zuge einer Krebsbehandlung der Künstlerin die Gelegenheit zur Maskerade und dazu, Kindheitserinnerungen wiederaufleben zu lassen, bis ihr Haar wieder nachgewachsen ist. Pam Pattersons Lost Objects und Canto I: Travelling bilden ebenso transformative Vorgänge ab, obwohl hier Regeneration weniger durch den Inhalt der Bilder vermittelt wird als durch die Geste ihrer Herstellung.

Anstatt an der Abbildung zu scheitern, weisen die erwähnten Kunstwerke vielmehr darauf hin, dass das Bild Vorgänge bezeugt, die per definitionem über es hinausweisen. In diesem Sinne rückt Susan Markisz mit ihrem Selbstporträt The Road Back die Unentschiedenheit der Krankheit in den Vordergrund. Im Gegensatz zu den militaristischen Bildern, die viele gängige Metaphern der Krankheit durchsetzen und ihre möglichen Ausgänge irreführend als „Sieg“ oder „Niederlage“ entwerfen, präsentiert Markisz weder eine feierliche Umarmung noch einen widerspenstigen Rückzug. Stattdessen kommuniziert sie ein prozessuales Dazwischen, das in keinem der Extreme aufgelöst werden kann.

Ein überzeugender Gegenvorschlag zur angenommenen Begrenzung von zwischenmenschlicher Empathie wird von Pascal Dufaux in Alzheimer_Buste präsentiert, einem vielteiligen Porträt seines Onkels. Obwohl die Fähigkeit, das Pathos einer anderen Person wahrzunehmen, schlussendlich im „Auge des Betrachters“ liegt, gibt es keine absolute Begrenzung dafür, wie lange und wie aufmerksam der Akt des empathischen Sehens ist. In Dufaux’ fotografischem Prozess wird die Oberfläche des Körpers des Modells über drei Stunden in hunderten digitalen Aufnahmen aus 360 Grad kartografiert und dokumentiert. Die resultierende vielteilige Abbildung verlangt nach einem mühsamen Vorgang der Wiederzusammensetzung, lange nachdem das Modell das Studio verlassen hat. Genaues Augenmerk auf die Fragment-Bilder des Modells bestimmt die Eigenschaften des so entstehenden Porträts. Dufaux’ hyperpanoptisches Porträt, in „Komplizenschaft“ mit seinem Onkel entstanden, kann als eine relationale Nachstellung von Empathie verstanden werden.
Tamar Tembeck

Tamar TEMBECK lebt und arbeitet als Kunsthistorikerin, Autorin und Performancekünstlerin in Montreal. PhD in Art History an der McGill University in Montreal mit dem Dissertationsthema Performative Autopathographies: Self-Representations of Physical Illness in Contemporary Art. Seit 2003 ist Tamar Tembeck auch als Kunsttherapeutin für Dr. Clown in Krankenhäusern, Langzeiteinrichtungen und Rehabilitationszentren in Montreal tätig.
www.tembeck.org

Carl BOUCHARD (*1967 in Ville de La Baie) ist Künstler. Er lebt und arbeitet in Chicoutimi, Canada.

Pascal DUFAUX ist Bühnenbildner und bildender Künstler.
www.pascaldufaux.com

Chantal DUPONT, Videokünstlerin, lehrt seit 1985 an der École des Arts Visuels et Médiatiques, Université du Québec in Montréal.
www.chantal-dupont.ca

Angela ELLSWORTH ist eine interdisziplinäre Künstlerin (Zeichnung, Installation und Performance) und lehrt an der Arizona State University in Tempe.
Tina TAKEMOTO ist interdisziplinäre Autorin, Theoretikerin und Performancekünstlerin. Ihre Themen sind Krankheit, Geschlecht, Rasse und queere Identität. Seit 1992 arbeiten Ellsworth und Takemoto als Her/She Senses zusammen.
www.aellsworth.com
www.ttakemoto.com

Christina LAMMER, Soziologin, Kommunikations- und Kulturwissenschaftlerin, lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Sie beschäftigt sich mit der Visualisierung des menschlichen Körpers in der Medizin, in der bildenden Kunst und im Film.

Susan MARKISZ ist Multimedia Journalistin und Auftragsfotografin.

Pam PATTERSON forscht, performt und unterrichtet mit Fokus u. a. auf den Körper in der Kunst, feministische Kunsterziehung und Frauen- und Gender-Studien.
www.pampatterson-performanceartist.blogspot.com

Jo SPENCE (1934–92) war Fotografin und Lehrerin. 1982 entwickelte sie neue Methoden wie Fotografie, die als therapeutisches Werkzeug verwendet werden kann.
www.jospence.org

Terry DENNETT ist Kurator am Jo Spence Memorial Archive London.

Veranstaltungsort
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Mi-Fr 11.00 – 18.00
Sa 11.00 – 15.00