Days In Between

An exhibition by MARIANNA CHRISTOFIDES in Cooperation with KÜNSTLERHAUS BÜCHSENHAUSEN

Image credit: Marianna Christofides, "Days in Between. Still Life", 2019, single-channel film, 16mm and archival footage digitally transferred © Marianna Christofides / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, 2019, courtesy of the Muzeul Naţional de Istorie Naturală Grigore Antipa

Marianna CHRISTOFIDES (*1980 in Nicosia, lives in Berlin) is one of the most internationally renowned contemporary artists from Cyprus. In her film essays and film installations, she addresses juxtapositions of geological and socio-historical narratives as well as the (mis)use of the concept of nature as a justification for determinist mindsets that attempt to obscure the contingent character of things and cultural facts. In her first solo exhibition in Romania, Christofides shows the multimedia installation Days In Between, a thorough reconfiguration of the eponymous single-channel film essay she initially produced in 2015. The new version takes the shape of a multi-channel installation consisting of 16mm synchronized projections and an audio work articulated in a manifold spatial mise-en-scène. The installation combines existent footage with recent material shot in Bucharest in spring 2019, staged around the event of the devastating Vrancea earthquake from 1977.

The project began as a search for places where boundaries remain inevitably indefinite due to geographical and topographical circumstances. The artist was interested in the relationship between the metaphorical but also political rhetoric that characterizes the ‘social nature’ of the Balkan region as a fracture zone, fault line or epicenter of major (historical) tremors, and the seismological facts that do not necessarily coincide with this assessment. After repeated visits, the irretrievable loss of a large part of the footage filmed over several years forced the artist to return again to these places, only to discover that they had already changed to such an extent that a recapture was no longer possible. Consequently, the attention shifted to processes of loss and disappearance, to the ephemeral of both the imaginary and the material. The result on display opens up an unconventional view on the psycho-geographic complex of Southeastern Europe along fragments of perception and thought that go beyond the stereotypical imaginary of the West about the past and present of the region.

The exhibition is an exclusive cooperation with the Fellowship Program for Art and Theory at Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen, Innsbruck/Austria.

Artist: Marianna Christofides
Curator: Andrei Siclodi
Coordinators MNAC: Sandra Demetrescu, Alexandru Oberlander
Cooperation Partner: Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen, Innsbruck/Austria
Supported by: Institute for Foreign Relations (IfA), Germany, Federal State of Berlin, Ministry of Education and Culture, Republic of Cyprus
Special Thanks: Muzeul Naţional de Istorie Naturală Grigore Antipa, Muzeul Naţional de Geologie, Galeria Plan B, Cinelab Romania, Goethe Institute Bucharest

Raised in Cyprus and currently working in Berlin, Marianna CHRISTOFIDES deals in her practice with entangled stories that constitute the different layers of multi-authored places. Imprints of slow violence in the spatial fabric and subtle manifestations of precarity are negotiated in long-term observations and a physical engagement with the sites under study. Investigating the singularities and latent narratives of often contested places, she is revisiting them over and over again. This recursive return is a means to approach the complicated and fragmented histories of people in different regions.
Christofides represented Cyprus in 2011 at the 54th Venice Biennale. She has been exhibiting internationally, among others at Akademie der Künste, Berlin; BOZAR, Palais des Beaux-Arts, Brussels; National Museum of Contemporary Art, Bucharest; GAK Gesellschaft für Aktuelle Kunst, Bremen; Videonale. 17, Kunstmuseum Bonn; Museo Riso, Palermo; Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Siegen; Kunstpavillon, Innsbruck; Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Rijeka; 5th Thessaloniki Biennale; National Museum of Contemporary Art, Athens; Museum für Photographie Braunschweig. Residencies include: Villa Kamogawa, Goethe-Institute, Kyoto; Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen, Innsbruck; Tabakalera, San Sebastian; IASPIS, Stockholm; Villa Aurora, Los Angeles; Gasworks, London. In 2019 Christofides was shortlisted for the Berlin Art Prize.
mariannachristofides.com

Andrei SICLODI (*1972 in Bucharest) is a curator, writer, editor and cultural worker based in Innsbruck. He is director of Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen in Innsbruck and founding director of the Fellowship Program for Art and Theory which takes place there. He is also editor of the publication series „BÜCHS‘N’BOOKS – Art and Knowledge Production in Context“ and producer of the monthly radio broadcast „Büchs’n’Radio“ on Radio Freirad.

Location

MNAC – Museum of Contemporary Art
Str. Izvor 2-4
Bucharest, Romania

Days In Between

Eine Ausstellung von MARIANNA CHRISTOFIDES in Kooperation mit dem KÜNSTLERHAUS BÜCHSENHAUSEN

Image credit: Marianna Christofides, "Days in Between. Still Life", 2019, single-channel film, 16mm and archival footage digitally transferred © Marianna Christofides / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, 2019, courtesy of the Muzeul Naţional de Istorie Naturală Grigore Antipa

Marianna CHRISTOFIDES (*1980 in Nicosia, lebt in Berlin) ist eine der international profiliertesten GegenwartskünstlerInnen aus Zypern. In ihren Filmessays und Filminstallationen interessiert sie sich für das Nebeneinander geologischer und sozio-historischer Narrative sowie für den Gebrauch bzw. Missbrauch des Naturbegriffs als Rechtfertigung eines Determinismus, der nichts anderes versucht, als den kontingenten Charakter von Dingen und kultureller Gegebenheiten zu verschleiern. In ihrer ersten Einzelausstellung in Rumänien zeigt Christofides die multimediale Rauminstallation Days In Between, eine sorgfältige Rekonfiguration des gleichnamigen Single-Channel-Filmessays, den die Künstlerin erstmals 2015 produzierte. Die neue Version ist eine Mehrkanalinstallation bestehend aus 16mm-Projektionen sowie Audiospuren dargestellt in einer vielfältigen räumlichen Mise-en-Scène. Die Installation kombiniert vorhandenes Filmmaterial mit aktuellem Material, das im Frühjahr 2019 in Bukarest aufgenommen wurde und rund um das verheerenden Erdbeben in Vrancea von 1977 entstand.

Am Beginn der Arbeit stand die Suche nach Orten, wo Grenzen auf Grund geografischer und topografischer Gegebenheiten zwangsläufig unbestimmt bleiben. Die Künstlerin interessierte sich für das Verhältnis zwischen einer metaphorischen, aber auch politischen Rhetorik, die die „soziale Natur“ der Balkanregion als Bruchzone, Bruchlinie oder Epizentrum großer (historischer) Erschütterungen charakterisiert, und den seismologischen Fakten, die nicht unbedingt mit dieser Einschätzung übereinstimmen. Der unwiederbringliche Verlust eines großen Teils des im Laufe mehrerer Jahre gefilmten Materials zwang jedoch die Künstlerin, diese Orte erneut aufzusuchen, um dann festzustellen, dass diese sich bereits so stark verändert hatten, als dass ein Wiedereinfangen der verlorengegangenen Bilder nicht mehr möglich war. Dementsprechend richtete sich nun die Aufmerksamkeit auch auf Vorgänge des Verlorengehens und spurlosen Verschwindens, auf das Ephemere des Imaginären und des Materiellen gleichermaßen. Das Ergebnis eröffnet einen unkonventionellen Blick auf den psychogeografischen Komplex Südosteuropas entlang von Wahrnehmungs- und Denkfragmenten, die über das stereotype Imaginäre des Westens und über die Vergangenheit und Gegenwart der Region hinausgehen.

Die Ausstellung ist eine exklusive Kooperation mit dem Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen (Innsbruck, Austria).

Künstlerin: Marianna Christofides
Kurator: Andrei Siclodi
Koordinatoren MNAC: Sandra Demetrescu, Alexandru Oberlander
Kooperationspartner: Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen, Innsbruck/Austria
Unterstützt von: Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (IfA), Deutschland, Bundesland Berlin, Ministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Kultur, Republik Zypern
Besonderer Dank gilt: Muzeul Naţional de Istorie Naturală Grigore Antipa, Muzeul Naţional de Geologie, Galeria Plan B, Cinelab Romania, Goethe Institute Bukarest

Marianna CHRISTOFIDES wuchs auf Zypern auf und ist derzeit in Berlin tätig. In ihren Arbeiten beschäftigt sich Christofides mit verflochtenen Geschichten, die die unterschiedlichen Ebenen von mehrfach erzählenden Orten konstituieren. Spuren von schleichender Gewalt im räumlichen Gefüge, sowie subtile Manifestationen von Prekarität werden durch Langzeitbeobachtungen und einer physischen Auseinandersetzung mit den erforschten Orten verhandelt. Die oftmals umkämpften Orte werden immer wieder von ihr besucht um deren Singularitäten und latenten Erzählungen aufzugreifen. Die Methode der rekursiven Rückkehr dient dazu, sich den komplizierten und fragmentierten Geschichten von Menschen in verschiedenen Regionen anzunähern.
In 2011 repräsentierte Christofides Zypern auf der 54. Biennale in Venedig. Sie hat internationale Ausstellungen gemacht – unter anderem an der Akademie der Künste in Berlin; am BOZAR, Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brüssel; am Nationalmuseum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Bukarest; an der GAK Gesellschaft für Aktuelle Kunst in Bremen; bei der Videonale. 17, im Kunstmuseum Bonn; im Museo Riso Palermo; im Museum für Gegenwartskunst in Siegen; im Kunstpavillon Innsbruck; im Museum für moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst in Rijeka; auf der 5. Thessaloniki Biennale; im Nationalmuseum für zeitgenössische Kunst, Athen und im Museum für Photographie Braunschweig. Künstlerhäuser umfassen: die Villa Kamogawa, das Goethe-Institut, Kyoto; das Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen, Innsbruck; Tabakalera in San Sebastian; IASPIS in Stockholm; die Villa Aurora in Los Angeles; das Gaswerk, London. 2019 wurde Christofides für den Berliner Kunstpreis nominiert.
mariannachristofides.com

Andrei SICLODI (*1972 in Bukarest) ist ein Kurator, Autor, Herausgeber und Kulturarbeiter, der in Innsbruck arbeitet. Er ist Direktor des Künstlerhauses Büchsenhausen in Innsbruck und Gründungsleiter des dort stattfindenden Fellowship-Programms für Kunst und Theorie. Darüber hinaus ist er Herausgeber der Publikationsreihe „BÜCHS‘N’BOOKS – Art and Knowledge Production in Context“ und Produzent der Radiosendung „Büchs’n’Radio“ auf Radio Freirad.

Veranstaltungsort

MNAC – Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst
Str. Izvor 2-4
Bukarest, Rumänien