How to Revolutionize Art. Collective Practice and Political Organization of Artists in the Interwar Period in Yugoslavia

Vida KNEŽEVIĆ, Vesna VUKOVIĆ, KURS (Miloš Miletić and Mirjana Radovanović)

Detail from the magazine issued in 1944 about the First Congress of Cultural Workers in Croatia

In the context of their artistic investigation into the partisan culture in Yugoslavia titled Lessons in Defense, the KURS collective will host two guests who are researching about progressive artistic groups from Zagreb and Belgrade form 1930’s that influenced the partisan culture during World War II. After an introduction by KURS (Miloš Miletić and Mirjana Radovanović), Vida KNEŽEVIĆ (art historian) and Vesna VUKOVIĆ (curator) will talk about the illegal group Život (Life) respectively and the Zemlja Artists‘ Association.

The Yugoslav illegal group Život (Life). The question of political organizing of artists

The subject of the presentation is an examination of the theory and practice of the critical Left in Yugoslav culture. This examination will evolve by deliberating the complex relations of critical art practices during the interwar period as well as the political practices of the collective body of revolutionary social movements. The case study focuses on the illegal group Život (1934 – 1940) which emerged in times of state repression and censorship as a heterogeneous art group with pluralistic stands on the question of aesthetics, and organized around the idea of art as social practice that advocates a class struggle using artistic and political means. The group’s everyday artistic and political practice can give us a historic example of how we could think of today’s relations of artistic content and form, the notion of collective art, and the question of political organizing of artists.

The Art of the Collective – The Case Zemlja

Vesna Vuković will present the collective research “The Art of the Collective – The Case Zemlja” (2016 – 2019) which was done by BLOK (Political School for Artists) and dealt with the Zemlja Artists’ Association (1929 – 1935), a socially engaged group of painters, sculptors, architects, workers, and peasants artists, one of the first examples of self-organized programmatic gathering of artists in Yugoslavia. Through a collective artistic endeavor, the group dissected the broader sociopolitical context of the interwar period. The historicization of “Case Zemlja” has raised an issue neglected by the existing narratives: the relationships between the members of the association and the social movements of that time. BLOK’s research took a closer look into how the artists understood the social function of their practice, and how the heteronomous critique of the autonomy of art resonated within the Association itself and the artistic field at large. Although almost an entire century separates BLOK from the Zemlja’s collective work, the group believes that the search for the answer to the questions of what is leftist art, how art is collectively created and how this art affects the collective’s members, are still relevant today.

The presentations will be held in English.

Mirjana RADOVANOVIĆ and Miloš MILETIĆ jointly practice visual art and research as KURS. In their work they explore how artistic practice can contribute to — and become an integral part of — various social movements. They often use archival material as a starting point, in combination with revolutionary poetry and prose and the visual language of progressive movements from the past. Most often they produce murals, illustrations and various printed materials including newspapers, posters, graphics. They are guided by the idea that the content they produce should be didactic and accessible to the wider public.

Projects that KURS realized in recent years are, among others: the research Lessons in Defense conducted in 2016 and 2017 on cultural activity within the People’s Liberation Movement; the mural Solidarity—to the International Brigades in Belgrade, dedicated to the 80th anniversary of the establishment of the International Brigades; the mural Struggle, Knowledge, Equality in Belgrade, on the occasion of the Students’ Day; the mural 20th October on the occasion of the 70th anniversary of the liberation of Belgrade; the mural Factory to the Workers at the Itas-Prvomajska factory in Ivanec, Croatia as part of the 13th Urban Festival; a residency in Chile at the AIR Casa Poli; the participation in the Persona Non Grata program in Ankara, organized by the AsiKeçi Collective; and the mural What Do We Know About Solidarity during the Qalandiya Biennial 2018 in Palestine.

www.udruzenjekurs.org

Vida KNEŽEVIĆ is an art historian, curator, cultural worker, and member of Kontekst collective. Her work is based on a process of connecting critical theory and practice, and the field of arts and culture with wider social and political effects. From 2006 to 2010, she worked on the Kontekst Gallery project. From 2008 until 2010 she taught at the Advanced Vocational Studies School of Fine and Applied Arts in Belgrade. Since 2014 Vida is co-editor of the media portal Masina.rs that deals with the production of social critique. Recently she finished her PhD thesis on the question of theory and practices of the critical Left in the Yugoslav culture in the interwar period.

Vesna VUKOVIĆ is a curator, critic and researcher in the field of socially engaged art, member of curatorial collective BLOK, translator and publisher. She runs programs at the BAZA art center and educational programs organized by BLOK (Political school for Artists). Vesna taught at the Academy of Fine Arts in Zagreb (2007–11) and at the Arts Academy in Split (2012–13). In 2013 she was a resident-researcher at the Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart. She publishes essays in periodicals from Croatia and abroad (Frakcija, Theory that Walks, Camera Austria), and reviews and critiques for the web magazine Bilten, Le Monde Diplomatique and the Third Program of the Croatian Radio (Triptih, Ogledi i rasprave) where she is one of the editors of the show Stvarnost prostora. As an author, Vesna has written introductions to the artistic monographs of Sanja Iveković and Bojan Mrđenović, and has edited several publications in the field of contemporary art. Together with Ana Kutleša and Ivana Haanček she has been awarded by the Hans und Lea Stiftung in 2019 for the research of Zemlja Artists’ Association (1929 – 1935) in the category art history/mediation.

Location
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at

How to Revolutionize Art. Collective Practice and Political Organization of Artists in the Interwar Period in Yugoslavia

Vida KNEŽEVIĆ, Vesna VUKOVIĆ, KURS (Mirjana Radovanović und Miloš Miletić)

Ausschnitt aus einer Zeitschrift aus dem Jahr 1944 über den ersten Kongress der Kulturarbeiter_innen in Kroatien.

Im Rahmen ihrer künstlerischen Investigation zur Kultur der Partisan_innenbewegung in Jugoslawien mit dem Titel Lessons in Defense wird das Künstler_innenkollektiv KURS eine Kunsthistorikerin und eine Kuratorin zu Gast haben, die sich in ihrer Forschung mit progressiven Künstler_innengruppierungen der 1930er Jahre aus Zagreb und Belgrad beschäftigen, die wiederum einen Einfluß auf die Kultur der Partisan_innen während des Zweiten Weltkriegs ausgeübt haben. Nach einer Einführung von KURS (Miloš Miletić und Mirjana Radovanović), werden Vida KNEŽEVIĆ und Vesna VUKOVIĆ über die illegale Gruppe Život (Leben) beziehungsweise über die Künstler_innenvereinigung Zemlja sprechen.

Über die illegale jugoslawische Künstler_innengruppe Život (Leben) und die Frage der politischen Organisation von Künstler_innen

Die Präsentation von Vida Knežević wird eine Untersuchung theoretischer und praktischer Aspekte der kritischen Linken in der jugoslawischen Kultur beinhalten, die die komplexen Beziehungen kritischer Kunstpraktiken in der Zwischenkriegszeit und die politischen Praktiken des kollektiven Korpus der revolutionären sozialen Bewegung reflektieren soll. Die Fallstudie nimmt die illegale Künstler_innengruppe Život (1934 – 1940) in den Fokus. Diese entwickelte sich in einer Zeit staatlicher Repression und Zensur als heterogene Künstler_innengruppe mit pluralistischen ästhetischen Standpunkten, die die Idee von Kunst als sozialer Praxis vertrat, die für einen Klassenkampf mit künstlerischen und politischen Mitteln eintritt. Die künstlerische und politische Alltagspraxis der Gruppe kann als historisches Beispiel dafür dienen, wie wir uns heutzutage die Beziehungen zwischen künstlerischen Inhalten und Formen sowie den Begriff kollektiver Kunst und die Frage der politischen Organisation von Künstler_innen vorstellen können.

The Art of the Collective – Case Zemlja

Vesna Vuković wird die Forschungsarbeit des Kollektivs BLOK (Politische Schule für Künstler_innen) „The Art of the Collective – Case Zemlja“ (2016 – 2019) präsentieren, die sich mit der Künstlervereinigung Zemlja auseinandersetzt. Zemlja war eine sozial engagierte Gruppe von Maler_innen, Bildhauer_innen, Architekt_innen, Arbeiter_innen und Landwirt_innen, die zwischen 1929 und 1935 bestand und eines der ersten Beispiele für selbstorganisierte programmatische Künstler_innenzusammenschlüsse in Jugoslawien. Im Fokus dieser kollektiven künstlerischen Unternehmung stand eine präzise Analyse des breiteren sozio-politischen Kontext der Zwischenkriegszeit. Die Historisierung des „Falles Zemlja“ wirft eine Frage auf, die von den bestehenden Narrativen vernachlässigt wird: jene nach den Beziehungen zwischen den Mitgliedern der Vereinigung und den sozialen Bewegungen der Zeit. Dementsprechend widmete BLOK ihre Forschungsarbeit der Frage, wie die Künstler_innen die soziale Funktion ihrer Praxis begriffen und wie sich die heteronome Kritik der Autonomie der Kunst in der Vereinigung selbst und darüber hinaus auf dem gesamten künstlerischen Feld widerspiegelte. Obwohl fast ein Jahrhundert die kollektive Arbeit Zemljas und deren Fragestellungen von der Gegenwart trennt, glaubt das BLOK-Kollektiv an die aktuelle Relevanz der Fragen nach der Konstitution linksorientierter Kunstpraxis, der Besonderheiten kollektiver Kunstproduktion sowie der Auswirkungen dieser Praxis auf die Mitglieder des Kollektivs selbst.

Die Veranstaltung findet in englischer Sprache statt.

Mirjana RADOVANOVIĆ und Miloš MILETIĆ arbeiten gemeinsam an künstlerischen und forschungsbasierten Projekten unter dem Gruppennamen KURS. Darin erkunden sie, wie künstlerische Praxis zu verschiedenen sozialen Bewegungen beitragen und deren integraler Bestandteil werden kann. Ausgangspunkte hierfür sind oftmals Archivmaterialien, die sie mit revolutionärer Poesie und Prosa vermengen und einer Bildsprache progressiver Bewegungen aus der Vergangenheit unterziehen. Daraus entstehen meist Wandmalereien, Illustrationen und verschiedene Drucksachen wie Zeitungen, Poster oder Grafiken. Die so produzierten Inhalte sollten einem didaktischen Impetus folgen und dadurch für die breite Öffentlichkeit zugänglich und nachvollziehbar sein.

Projekte, die KURS in den letzten Jahren realisierte, sind unter anderem: die Recherche Lessons in Defense, die 2016 und 2017 über kulturelle Aktivitäten innerhalb der Volksbefreiungsbewegung durchgeführt wurde; die Wandmalerei Solidarity — to the International Brigades, in Belgrad, die dem 80. Jahrestag der Gründung der Internationalen Brigaden gewidmet wurde; die Wandmalerei Struggle, Knowledge, Equality, in Belgrad, anlässlich des Studententages, die Wandmalerei 20th October, anlässlich des 70. Jahrestages der Befreiung Belgrads; die Wandmalerei Factory to the Workers, in der Itas-Prvomajska Fabrik in Ivanec, Kroation, als Teil des 13. Urban Festivals; ein Aufenthalt in Chile, in der AIR Casa Poli; Teilnahme an dem Persona Non Grata-Programm in Ankara, organisiert vom AsiKeçi Kollektiv; sowie die Wandmalerei What Do We Know About Solidarity während der Qalandiya Biennale 2018 in Palästina.

www.udruzenjekurs.org

Vida KNEŽEVIĆ ist Kunsthistorikerin, Kuratorin, Kulturarbeiterin und Mitglied des Kontekst Kollektivs. Ihre Arbeit verfolgt einen Prozess der Verbindung kritischer Theorie und Praxis, von Kunst und Kultur mit breiteren sozialen wie politischen Auswirkungen. Vida arbeitete zwischen 2006 und 2010 an der Kontekst-Galerie. Von 2008 bis 2010 unterrichtete sie an der Advanced Vocational Studies School of Fine and Applied Arts in Belgrad. Seit 2014 ist sie Mitherausgeberin des Medienportals Masina.rs, das sich mit Aspekten der Produktion gesellschaftlicher Kritik befasst. Kürzlich schloss sie ihre Doktorarbeit über Theorie und Praxis der kritischen Linken in der jugoslawischen Kultur der Zwischenkriegszeit ab.

Vesna VUKOVIĆ ist Kuratorin, Kritikerin und Forscherin im Feld sozial engagierter Kunst, Mitglied des Kurator_innenkollektivs BLOK sowie Übersetzerin und Herausgeberin. Sie gestaltet Programmreihen am Kunstzentrum BAZA sowie Kunstvermittlungsprogramme im Rahmen der Aktivitäten des BLOK-Kollektivs. Vesna hatte Lehraufträge an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Zagreb (2007–11) und an der Kunstakademie in Split (2012–13). 2013 war sie Forschungsstipendiatin an der Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart. Sie publiziert regelmäßig Essays in Magazinen aus Kroatien und darüber hinaus (Frakcija, Theory that Walks, Camera Austria) sowie Kritiken und Rezensionen für das Web-Magazine Bilten, Le Monde Diplomatique und den dritten kroatischen Radiosender (Triptih, Ogledi i rasprave), wo sie zu den Redakteur_innen der Show Stvarnost prostora gehört. Als Autorin hat Vesna unter anderem Einführungen zu Monografien von Sanja Iveković und Bojan Mrđenović verfasst und zahlreiche Publikationen im Feld der zeitgenössischen Kunst herausgegeben. Zusammen mit Ana Kutleša und Ivana Haanček wurde sie von der Hans und Lea Stiftung 2019 für ihre Forschung über die Zemlja Artists‘ Association in der Kategorie Kunstgeschichte/Kunstvermittlung ausgezeichnet.

Veranstaltungsort
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at