It’s Just Not Cricket!

Matilde CASSANI

Matilde Cassani, Collezione Privata di A.S., 2018, foto Tiberio Sorvillo e Luca Guadagnini

A project by Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen and ar/ge kunst, Bolzano.

“It’s just not cricket” is more than a simple exposition of objects and equipment related to the sport of cricket, even if at first glance if may look like this. The idiomatic meaning of this expression, as quintessentially English as the game of cricket itself, gives rise to the idea that we are dealing with an injustice: In English linguistic jargon, this phrase is used to express indignation at a lack of fairness or an injustice that has occurred.

A colourful carpet, oversized gates, a ball and two bats, each made in North and South Tyrol from local materials: These are the components which make up the set of a seemingly interrupted game, now installed in the showroom and only awaiting the return of the players. A “display altar” features Alì Saqib’s private collection of bats from around the world, as well as balls and trophies won in countless tournaments. Alongside all this, a collection of shirts belonging to the numerous active teams in South Tyrol: Laives, Brenner, Sterzing, Auer, Bolzano – communities that have their own cricket teams and tournaments, but with little public awareness of their existence.

The encounter with young cricketers from Pakistan, Afghanistan, India and Sri Lanka, who in some cases have lived for decades on both sides of the Brenner Pass, offers respite from the usual rhetoric of identity, borders, and of north and south. The circular history of cricket, which has returned to Europe from the British colonies, spreading under very different circumstances, provides the opportunity to reflect on the values of today’s urban and rural environments, as well as challenging the categories of time, entertainment, spectacle and spectatorship.

“It’s just not cricket” marks the conclusion of Matilde Cassani’s research project, which was initiated and carried out at the joint invitation of ar/ge kunst, Bolzano and Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen, Innsbruck. It is the result of numerous visits by the artist that have taken place since the end of 2016 to the macro-region between Bolzano and Innsbruck. Both the exhibition at ar/ge kunst and the final exhibition of the Fellowship Program for Art and Theory at the Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen, that will be on show at the Kunstpavillon der Tiroler Künstlerschaft from 24 May 2018, presenting the project in North Tyrol, provide the framework for a discussion of the topics discussed above, on both sides of the Brenner. Workshops with the respective cricket communities as well as a planned game in Innsbruck at the end of June between teams selected from South and North Tyrol, should intensify public dialogue between these groups.

The opening of Matilde Cassani’s exhibition will be on February 23 at 7 pm, during the PSL (Pakistan Super League, Dubai) tournament, which will be broadcast live.

 

Duration of the exhibition at ar/ge kunst Bolzano: 23. 02. – 05. 05. 2018.
From May 24th 2018 to see at the Kunstpavillon of the Tiroler Künstler*schaft in Innsbruck in the context of the exhibition of the Büchsenhausen Fellows 2017-18.


Details of the exhibition · ar/ge kunst Bozen
:
Opening: Fri 23. 02. 2018, 19.00
Duration of the exhibition: 23. 02. – 05. 05. 2018

 

Matilde CASSANI studied Architecture at the Polytechnical College in Milan and at the TU Lisbon, followed by Architecture and Urban Culture at the Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona and the UPC (Universidade Politecnica de Catalunya) in Barcelona (postgraduate degree). In her work Matilde Cassani operates at the borders of architecture, installation and event design. Her research-based practice reflects on the spatial implications of cultural pluralism in the contemporary western context. Her works have been shown in numerous cultural institutions and exhibition venues; they have also been published in media including Architectural Review, Domus, Abitare, Arqa, Arkitecktur, and MONU magazine on urbanism. Matilde Cassani has been a resident fellow at the Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart and at the Headlands Center for the Arts in San Francisco. In 2011, Storefront for Art and Architecture in New York showed her exhibition Sacred Spaces in Profane Buildings. In addition, she designed the national pavilion of the Kingdom of Bahrain at Venice Architecture Biennial (2012) and participated in Venice Architecture Biennial in 2014 with the work Countryside Worship. This work was recently acquired by the Victoria and Albert Museum in London. Cassani currently teaches at the Politecnico di Milano and the Domus Academy.
www.matildecassani.com


Location

ar/ge kunst
Museumstr. 29
I-39100 Bozen

It’s Just Not Cricket!

Matilde CASSANI

Matilde Cassani, Collezione Privata di A.S., 2018, foto Tiberio Sorvillo e Luca Guadagnini

Ein Projekt von Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen und ar/ge kunst, Bozen.

„It’s just not cricket“ ist mehr als eine simple Ausstellung einer Kricket-Ausrüstung samt Objekten, die mit diesem Sport zu tun haben, auch wenn es auf den ersten Blick so aussehen mag. Die idiomatische Bedeutung dieses Ausdrucks, dessen Ursprung genauso wie das Kricketspiel in der englischen Kultur liegt, erweckt jedoch den Gedanken, dass wir es hier mit einer Ungerechtigkeit zu tun haben: im Englischen Sprachjargon verwendet man diese Redewendung, wenn es um eine unfaire oder unehrliche Sache geht.

Ein farbiger Teppichboden, überdimensional große Tore, ein Ball und zwei Schläger, jeweils in Nord- und Südtirol aus heimischen Materialien hergestellt: Dies sind die Bestandteile des Sets eines vermeintlich unterbrochenen Spiels, die nun im Ausstellungsraum installiert wurden und quasi auf die Rückkehr der Spieler warten. Ein „Display-Altar“ zeigt Alì Saqibs private Sammlung von Schlägern aus der ganzen Welt, von Bällen und Pokalen, die bei unzähligen Turnieren gewonnen wurden. All dies neben einer Trikot-Sammlung der zahlreichen in Südtirol aktiven Teams: in Leifers, Brenner, Sterzing, Auer, Bozen – Gemeinden, die ihre eigenen Kricket-Teams und -Turniere haben, ohne dass eine breitere Öffentlichkeit Notiz davon nimmt.

Das Zusammentreffen junger Kricketspieler, die aus Pakistan, Afghanistan, Indien und Sri Lanka stammen und zum Teil seit Jahrzehnten in den Gemeinden auf beiden Seiten des Brenners leben, bietet den üblichen rhetorischen Floskeln über Identität, Grenzen, Nord und Süd eine Atempause. Die zirkuläre Geschichte des Kricketspiels, das über die englischen Kolonien nach Europa zurückgekehrt ist und sich hier unter veränderten Voraussetzungen verbreitet hat, birgt die Chance, unvoreingenommen über die Valenz heutiger urbaner und ländlicher Lebensräume zu reflektieren, sich mit veränderten Kategorien von Zeit, Unterhaltung, Spektakel und spectatorship auseinanderzusetzen.

„It’s just not cricket“ markiert den Abschluss des Recherche-Projekts von Matilde Cassani, das auf gemeinsamer Einladung von ar/ge kunst, Bozen und dem Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen, Innsbruck initiiert und durchgeführt worden ist bzw. wird. Nach wiederholten Besuchen der Künstlerin in der Großregion zwischen Innsbruck und Bozen seit Ende 2016 bieten diese Ausstellung bei ar/ge kunst sowie die Abschlussausstellung des Fellowship-Programms für Kunst und Theorie im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen, die ab 24. Mai 2018 im Kunstpavillon der Tiroler Künstler*schaft eröffnen und das Projekt auch in Nordtirol vorstellen wird, den Rahmen für eine diskursive Auseinandersetzung mit den oben angesprochenen Themen dies- und jenseits des Brenners. In Workshops mit den jeweiligen Kricket-Communities sowie einem geplanten Spiel einer Süd- und einer Nordtiroler Auswahl Ende Juni in Innsbruck soll der Dialog mit diesen Gruppen auch öffentlich intensiviert werden.

Am 23. Februar um 19 Uhr öffnet die Ausstellung von Matilde Cassani während des PSL-Turnieres, Pakistani Super League in Dubai, das live ausgestrahlt wird, dem Publikum ihre Türen.

Ausstellungsdauer bei ar/ge kunst Bozen: 23. 02. – 05. 05. 2018.
Ab 24. 05. 2018 im Kunstpavillon der Tiroler Künstler*schaft in Innsbruck im Rahmen der Austellung der Büchsenhausen-Fellows 2017/18 zu sehen.


Ausstellungsdetails · ar/ge kunst Bozen
:
Ausstellungeröffnung: Fr 23. 02. 2018, 19.00 Uhr
Ausstellungsdauer: 23.02. – 05.05.2018

 

Matilde CASSANI, Studium der Architektur am Polytechnikum von Mailand und an der TU Lissabon, anschließend “Architecture and Urban Culture“ am Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona und an der UPC (Universidade Politecnica de Catalunya) in Barcelona (postgraduate degree).
Matilde Cassani bewegt sich in ihrer Arbeit an den Grenzen von Architektur, Installation und Event Design. Ihre Recherche-basierte Praxis reflektiert über die räumlichen Implikationen des kulturellen Pluralismus im gegenwärtigen westlichen Kontext.
Ihre Arbeiten wurden in zahlreichen Kulturinstitutionen und Ausstellungshäusern gezeigt; sie wurden unter anderem in Medien wie Architectural Review, Domus, Abitare, Arqa, Arkitecktur, MONU magazine on Urbanism veröffentlicht. Matilde Cassani war resident fellow an der Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart und am Headlands Center for the Arts in San Francisco. Storefront for Art and Architecture in New York zeigte 2011 ihre Ausstellung Sacred Spaces in Profane Buildings. Darüber hinaus hat sie das Nationalpavillon des Königreichs Bahrain auf der Architekturbiennale in Venedig (2012) entworfen und mit der Arbeit Countryside Worship an der Architekturbiennale in Venedig 2014 teilgenommen. Diese Arbeit wurde kürzlich vom Victoria and Albert Museum in London angekauft. Gegenwärtig unterrichtet Cassani an der Politecnico di Milano und der Domus Academy.
www.matildecassani.com

Veranstaltungsort

ar/ge kunst
Museumstr. 29
I-39100 Bozen