Reading Militarized Masculinities

Anna DASOVIĆ

Anna Dasović, "Before the Fall there was no Fall. Thinking and acting between preenactment and reenactment", film still.

Fellow Anna DASOVIĆ, invites the interested audience to partake in a critical reading and discussion of an excerpt from the material that forms the foundation of Dasović’s work at Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen. Central to this project is the question, how European histories of colonialism have both produced Western Europe’s militarized masculinities and formed the continent’s relation to and the aesthetics of the notion of the ‘Other.’

Before the Fall there was no Fall is a durational project, evolving around approx. hundred VHS tapes documenting Dutch military exercises during the Yugoslav War in preparation for peacekeeping missions in the UN Safe Areas of Srebrenica, Bihać, and the Sapna finger (1994-1995). Performed within the NATO camps in Germany and Belgium, the exercises produced an ideological framework through which the soldiers were to view their relationships with both the people inside the Safe Areas and the ones who threatened to overrun them. The Dutch military hired soldiers formerly deployed in Bosnia and Herzegovina (BiH) as actors; these soldiers-turned-to-actors were asked to pre-enact a script whilst also re-enacting and/or re-performing their perceptions of the people they had come across in BiH.

Anna Dasović will discuss these proceedings, taking into account the following questions: How do seemingly innocent gestures reveal what historian Fatima El-Tayeb terms violations of the “powerful narrative of Europe as a colorblind continent, largely untouched by the devastating ideology it exported all over the world?” What forms of identification resulting from colonialism can we discern in these taped enactments?

The event will be held in English and takes place in the context of the artistic investigation Before the Fall there was no Fall. Thinking and acting between Preenactment and Reenactment by Anna DASOVIĆ.

Anna DASOVIĆ’s artistic practice focuses on the rhetorical structures that make genocidal violence visible and those deployed to obscure politically inconvenient aspects of such conflicts. She asks: What ideological narratives do representations of violence participate in on a structural level? What forms of trauma are such documents unable to cope with, either in the legislative arena or when constitutive of the archive, in both sense of a physical place and as metaphor of collective humiliation and remorse? Though Dasović studied photography, and although her installations and videos retain an element of formal precision, she now works in a broadly interdisciplinary manner. Her methodology involves archival research, fieldwork, interviews, and bibliographic research.

Dasović was a resident at the Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten in Amsterdam in 2017-2018. She is a member of Collection Collective, Template for a Future Model of Representation, a group that  explores the present-day crisis of collection-based institutions of contemporary art and identifies potential in a model of (art) collection that is simultaneously assembled, owned and run by artists and other cultural producers. Her work has been exhibited in Bergen Assembly, Württembergischer Kunstverein Stuttgart, Stedelijk Museum Bureau Amsterdam, Museum for Modern and Contemporary Art (MAMA) Algiers, the Van Abbemuseum in Eindhoven, the Museum of Yugoslav History in Belgrade and the Dutch Photomuseum in Rotterdam. She has previously been artist in residence at MAMA Algiers, Celeia Centre for Contemporary Art Celje Slovenia, Casa Tres Patios in Medellín and Residencia en La Tierra in Montenegro Colombia amongst others.

www.annadasovic.com

Location
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at

Reading Militarized Masculinities

Anna DASOVIĆ

Anna Dasović, "Before the Fall there was no Fall. Thinking and acting between preenactment and reenactment", Filmstill.

Fellow Anna DASOVIĆ ladet zur Teilnahme an der kritischen Lektüre eines Auszugs aus dem Videomaterial, das die Grundlage der Arbeit von Anna Dasović im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen darstellt. Im Mittelpunkt dieses Projekts steht die Frage, wie europäische Geschichten des Kolonialismus sowohl westeuropäische, militarisierte Maskulinitäten produziert wie auch die Beziehung des Kontinents zum (ethnisch) „Anderen“ und dessen Ästhetik geprägt haben.

Before the Fall there was no Fall ist somit ein Langzeitprojekt, das sich um rund hundert VHS-Kassetten dreht, die Übungen des niederländischen Militärs während des Jugoslawienkrieges zur Vorbereitung der Friedensmissionen in den UN-Sicherheitszonen von Srebrenica, Bihać und in der Gemeinde von Sapna (1994–1995) dokumentieren. Die Übungen, die in den NATO-Camps in Deutschland und Belgien inszeniert wurden, schufen einen ideologischen Rahmen, der den Soldaten dazu verhelfen sollte, ihre Beziehungen sowohl mit den Menschen innerhalb der Sicherheitszonen wie auch mit denjenigen, die sie zu überrollen drohten, zu reflektieren. Das niederländische Militär setzte zu diesem Zweck ehemals in Bosnien und Herzegowina stationierte Soldaten ein. Diese zu Schauspielern gewandelten Soldaten sollten Szenarien aus einem vorgegebenen Drehbuch proben („pre-enact“), während sie gleichzeitig ihre Wahrnehmungen der Menschen, denen sie in Bosnien und Herzegowina begegnet waren, nachzustellen und/oder zu reinszenieren hatten („re-enact“).

Anna Dasović wird diese Verfahrensweise diskutieren und folgende Fragen adressieren: Wie offenbaren scheinbar unschuldige Gesten, was die Historikerin Fatima El-Tayeb Verletzungen des „mächtigen Narrativs von Europa als farbblindem Kontinent“ nennt, „der weitgehend von der verheerenden Ideologie unberührt blieb, die er in die ganze Welt exportierte?“ Welche Formen einer durch den Kolonialismus verursachten Identifikation können wir aus diesen aufgenommenen Inszenierungen herauslesen?

Die Veranstaltung findet im Kontext der künstlerischen Investigation Before the Fall there was no Fall. Thinking and acting between Preenactment and Reenactment von Anna DASOVIĆ und in englischer Sprache statt.

Anna DASOVIĆs künstlerische Praxis konzentriert sich auf rhetorische Strukturen, die völkermörderische Gewalt sichtbar machen, die aber auch eingesetzt werden, um politisch unangenehme Aspekte solcher Konflikte zu verdecken. Sie fragt: An welchen ideologischen Narrativen nehmen Gewaltdarstellungen auf struktureller Ebene teil? Welche Formen von Trauma können solche Dokumente, die entweder im legislativen Bereich angesiedelt oder für das Archiv (hier im doppleten Sinn eines physischen Ortes aber auch als Metapher für kollektive Erniedrigung und Reue) konstitutiv sind, nicht bewältigen? Dasović hat Fotografie studiert, ihre Installationen und Videos weisen eine dementsprechende formale Präzision auf – heute arbeitet sie jedoch weitgehend interdisziplinär. Ihre Methodik schließt dabei Archiv- und Feldforschung, Interviews sowie bibliographische Recherche ein.

2017-2018 war Dasović Resident Artist an der Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten in Amsterdam. Sie ist Mitglied der Collection Collective, Template for a Future Model of Representation, einer Gruppe, die die gegenwärtige Krise der sammlungsbasierten Institutionen der zeitgenössischen Kunst untersucht und Potenziale in einem Modell der (Kunst-)Sammlung identifiziert, das gleichzeitig von Künstler_innen und anderen Kulturschaffenden zusammengestellt, besessen und betrieben wird. Ihre Arbeiten wurden an international bedeutenden Institutionen gezeigt, darunter in der Bergen Assembly, im Württembergischen Kunstverein Stuttgart, im Stedelijk Museum Bureau Amsterdam (SMBA), im Museum für moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst (MAMA) Algier, im Van Abbemuseum in Eindhoven, im Museum für jugoslawische Geschichte in Belgrad und im Niederländischen Photomuseum in Rotterdam. Zuvor war sie unter anderem Artist in Residence bei MAMA Algiers, Celeia Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst Celje Slowenien, Casa Tres Patios in Medellín und Residencia en La Tierra in Montenegro Kolumbien.

www.annadasovic.com

Veranstaltungsort
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at