Start Up Lectures 2022-23

Presentations of the new Fellows 2022-23

Clockwise from top left: [1] (Folder) Bodies, 2020. Watercolor on wrapping paper, A4. Wandering Echoes Project, Kone Foundation. © Luis Guerra, 2020. [2] Duterte, Please Save America! from The PH News on Blogspot. Retrieved March 18, 2020 from Facebook.com. [3] Klodiana Millona, family archive. © Klodiana Millona. [4] Cecilia Vicuña, Galaxy of Litter, The Hudson River New York, 1989. Photo: César Paternosto.

The new Fellowship year has already begun and now we are happy to introduce the new Büchsenhausen Fellows 2022-23, most of whom arrived in Innsbruck in early October: Luis GUERRA, Bettina KNAUP, Alice SARMIENTO, and Endi TUPJA will be working on their projects in Büchsenhausen in the coming months.

The Fellowship Program for Art and Theory 2022-23 will explore a variety of relevant issues for today – without directly addressing current events. A loose thematic thread that could be attributed to all the projects is the examination of the tension between the private and the public. For example, in the work of the pedagogue Fernand Deligny, whose practice Luis Guerra proposes to read as a process of artistic knowledge production, as “gestural philosophy”; in Bettina Knaup‘s research on “common wastes,” which examines residencies, these art institutions of the “semi-private,” and waste infrastructures (such as landfills or recycling plants) in terms of relationships and processes of exchange; in Alice Sarmiento’s exploration of online memes in social media in the Philippines after the outbreak of COVID-19 – in a country where the concept of “public” has no spatial realization; or in Endi Tupja‘s artistic investigation of bathroom ecologies associated with menstruation in communist Albania.

On Friday 21 October 2022 at 19.00 the Fellows will present themselves, their work, and their Fellowship projects. After the four presentations, we cordially invite you to meet and exchange with the Fellows over food and drink.

Luis Guerra (*1974, Santiago de Chile) is a Visual Artist and Philosopher. Currently he is a University Researcher at the Academy of Fine Arts, University of the Arts Helsinki, Finland, and Fellow Researcher at the research group Post-foundational Contemporary Thought: Critical and theoretical analysis of the contemporary ontologies of negativity and the question of the violence of the foundation (2022–2025, University of Barcelona). Former Associate Professor of Aesthetics and Theory of the Arts at BAU University Center of Arts and Design Barcelona (2020-2022), GREDITS Design and Social Transformation Research Group Coordinator, and co-editor of the scientific review Immaterial, Design, Art and Society.
Luis Guerra did postdoctoral studies at the Center for Artistic Research (CfAR), University of the Arts Helsinki, 2019-2020. He was also Fellow Resident Artist at the Saastamoinen Foundation, Helsinki (2021) and Fellow grantee at the Kone Foundation, Helsinki (2020) with the artistic research project Wandering Echoes, rounds and litanies as performative maps under confinement. In 2022, he published his second book: Wandering Echoes, a handbook of operative losses, Errant Bodies Press, Berlin. In 2017 he published La Inexistencia del Arte, Brumaria Editores Madrid, after a research residency at the Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, Madrid, thanks to the support of Santander Foundation (2015-2016).
His praxis inhabits a zone of visual encounters between drawings and acts, writings and objects. His work revolves around the imaginary line that Western culture has created between art and philosophy. Among the concepts framing his artistic research are three main notions: the un-domiciled, the echoicity and the inexistent.
https://www.luisguerra.org/

Bettina Knaup, freelance curator and writer (Berlin), has (co-)curated numerous international festivals, exhibitions and projects, including the International Festival of Contemporary Arts City of Women (Ljubljana, 2001–2004), performing proximities (Beursschouwburg, Brussels, 2008), performance platform. body affects (Sophiensaele, Berlin, 2012) and the archive and performance project re.act.feminism, which toured Europe from 2008 to 2013 (i.a. Akademie der Künste Berlin, Fundació Antoni Tàpies, Barcelona, Wyspa Institute of Art, Gdańsk, Tallinn Art Hall) and has been re-launched in 2022 in the frame of Manifesta 14 in Pristina. She regularly publishes, teaches and collaborates with other artists* and curators*.
https://www.reactfeminism.org/

Alice Sarmiento (*1985; Manila, PH) is a writer, independent curator, and animal welfare worker. She has written extensively on topics such as the representation of the Filipina labor diaspora in contemporary art, the cultural ramifications of Duterte’s war on drugs, and how these phenomena relate to a feminist future. Alice was an awardee in the 2015 edition of the Japan Foundation Asia Center’s curatorial development program and a 2019 fellow in Cultural Journalism at the Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart. In 2021, she was among the residents of the Young Curators Residency Program of the Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo in Torino Italy.
www.alicesarmiento.wordpress.com

Endi Tupja (*1984) is an artist, filmmaker/storyteller, and cultural practitioner based between Berlin and Tirana. Her research centers on experimenting with strategies of memory recuperation and the potential of re-enactment with time witnesses. She explores the limits of (self-) representation as well as its tangential relation to video art. There is a friction between the essential and a sense of exaggeration omnipresent in her search for clarity. She continuously tries to challenge a certain idea of established institutional formality in artistic research and academic language. Her work has been shown in festivals and exhibitions in Germany, Kosovo, Mexico, the UK, the Netherlands, Georgia, Ukraine, Italy, San Marino, Greece, etc. She is currently a fellow at Centrale Fies, LIVE WORKS Vol. 10 – Free School of Performance, broadening her research in performative writing and staging techniques of Albanian female voices and memories in the Italian context between 1992-2011.
https://endintupja.wixsite.com/enditupja

Location
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at

Start Up Lectures 2022-23

Präsentationen der neuen Fellows 2022-23

Im Uhrzeigersinn von oben links: [1] (Folder) Bodies, 2020. Aquarell auf Packpapier, A4. Wandering Echoes Project, Kone Foundation. © Luis Guerra, 2020. [2] Duterte, Please Save America! aus The PH News auf Blogspot. Abgerufen am 18. März 2022 von Facebook. [3] Klodiana Millona, Familienarchiv. © Klodiana Millona. [4] Cecilia Vicuña, Galaxy of Litter, Hudson River New York, 1989. Foto: César Paternosto.

Das neue Fellowshipjahr hat begonnen und wir freuen uns, die neuen Büchsenhausen Fellows 2022-23, die größtenteils Anfang Oktober in Innsbruck angekommen sind, vorstellen zu dürfen: Luis GUERRA, Bettina KNAUP, Alice SARMIENTO und Endi TUPJA werden in den kommenden Monaten in Büchsenhausen an ihren Projekten arbeiten.

Das Fellowship-Programm für Kunst und Theorie 2022-23 beschäftigt sich mit einer Vielzahl relevanter Themen für die heutige Zeit – ohne sich direkt mit tagesaktuellen Ereignissen zu befassen. Ein loser Themenstrang, der allen Vorhaben zugeschrieben werden könnte, ist die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Spannungsverhältnis zwischen Privatem und Öffentlichem. So etwa in der Arbeit des Pädagogen Fernand Deligny, dessen Praxis Luis Guerra als ein Verfahren künstlerischer Wissensproduktion, als „gestische Philosophie“, lesen möchte; in Bettina Knaups Recherche zu „common wastes,“ die modellhaft Residencies, diese Kunstinstitutionen des „Semi-Privaten“, und Abfallinfrastrukturen (wie Deponien oder Recyclinganlagen) im Hinblick auf Beziehungen und Austauschprozesse untersucht; in der Auseinandersetzung Alice Sarmientos mit Online-Memes auf Social Media auf den Philippinen nach Ausbruch von COVID-19 – in einem Land, in dem der Begriff „Öffentlichkeit“ keine räumliche Umsetzung findet; oder in der künstlerischen Investigation von Endi Tupja hinsichtlich der mit der Menstruation verbundenen Badezimmerökologien im kommunistischen Albanien.

Am Freitag, 21. Oktober 2022 ab 19:00 werden sie sich, ihre Arbeit und ihre Vorhaben im Rahmen ihrer Fellowship vorstellen. Nach den vier Präsentationen laden wir Sie/Euch herzlich ein, mit den Fellows bei Speis und Trank ins Gespräch zu kommen.

Luis Guerra (*1974, Santiago de Chile) ist ein visueller Künstler und Philosoph. Derzeit ist er Universitätsforscher an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste, Universität der Künste Helsinki, Finnland, und Fellow der Post-foundational Contemporary Thought-Forschungsgruppe, die sich mit der kritischen und theoretischen Analyse der zeitgenössischen Ontologien von Negativität und der Frage nach der Gewalt des Fundaments beschäftigt (2022–2025, Universität Barcelona). Er war außerordentlicher Professor für Ästhetik und Theorie der Künste am BAU Universitäts-Zentrum für Kunst und Design Barcelona (2020–2022), Koordinator der GREDITS-Forschungsgruppe für Design und soziale Transformation und Mitherausgeber der wissenschaftlichen Zeitschrift Immaterial, Design, Art and Society.
Luis Guerra absolvierte ein Postdoc-Studium am Center for Artistic Research (CfAR), Universität der Künste, Helsinki, 2019–2020. Außerdem war er Fellow Resident Artist an der Saastamoinen Foundation, Helsinki (2021) und mit dem künstlerischen Forschungsprojekt Wandering Echoes, rounds and litanies as performative maps under confinement Fellow-Stipendiat der Kone Foundation, Helsinki (2020). Im Jahr 2022 erschien sein zweites Buch: Wandering Echoes, a handbook of operative losses, Errant Bodies Press, Berlin. 2017 veröffentlichte er La Inexistencia del Arte, Brumaria Editores Madrid, nach einem Forschungsaufenthalt am Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, Madrid, dank der Unterstützung der Santander Foundation (2015–2016).
Seine Praxis bewegt sich in einer Zone visueller Begegnungen zwischen Zeichnung und Handlung, zwischen Schrift und Objekt und verortet sich entlang der imaginären Linie, die die westliche Kultur zwischen Kunst und Philosophie gezogen hat. Unter den Konzepten, die seine künstlerische Forschung umrahmen, spielen vor allem drei eine zentrale Rolle: das Nicht-Domizilierte, das Echoische und das Nicht-Existierende.
https://www.luisguerra.org/

Bettina Knaup, freie Kuratorin und Autorin (Berlin), hat zahlreiche internationale Festivals, Ausstellungen und Projekte (ko-)kuratiert, darunter das International Festival of Contemporary Arts City of Women (Ljubljana, 2001–2004), performing proximities (Beursschouwburg, Brüssel, 2008), performance platform. body affects (Sophiensaele, Berlin, 2012) und das Archiv- und Performanceprojekt re.act.feminism, das von 2008 bis 2013 durch Europa tourte (u.a. Akademie der Künste Berlin, Fundació Antoni Tàpies, Barcelona, Wyspa Institute of Art, Gdańsk, Tallinn Art Hall) und 2022 im Rahmen der Manifesta 14 in Pristina eine Neuauflage erfuhr. Sie publiziert, unterrichtet und arbeitet regelmäßig mit anderen Künstler:innen und Kurator:innen zusammen.
https://www.reactfeminism.org/

Alice Sarmiento (*1985; Manila, PH) ist Autorin, unabhängige Kuratorin und Tierschutzaktivistin. Sie hat viel über Themen wie die Darstellung der philippinischen Arbeiter:innendiaspora in der zeitgenössischen Kunst, die kulturellen Auswirkungen von Dutertes Antidrogenkrieg und die Beziehung dieser Phänomene zu einer feministischen Zukunft geschrieben. 2015 war Alice Stipendiatin des kuratorischen Entwicklungsprogramms des Japan Foundation Asia Center, 2019 Stipendiatin im Bereich Kulturjournalismus an der Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart. Im Jahr 2021 war sie Teilnehmerin am Young Curators Residency Program der Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo in Turin, Italien.
www.alicesarmiento.wordpress.com

Endi Tupja (*1984) ist eine Künstlerin, Filmemacherin/Storyteller und Kulturschaffende, die zwischen Berlin und Tirana lebt und arbeitet. Ihre Praxis konzentriert sich auf das Experimentieren mit Strategien der Gedächtnisregeneration und dem Potenzial des Re-Enactments mit Zeitzeug:innen. Sie erforscht die Grenzen der (Selbst-)Darstellung sowie deren tangentiale Beziehung zur Videokunst. In ihrer Suche nach Klarheit ist die Reibung zwischen dem Wesentlichen und einem Gefühl der Übertreibung allgegenwärtig. Sie versucht immer wieder, eine bestimmte Vorstellung einer etablierten institutionellen Formalität in der künstlerischen Forschung und akademischen Sprache in Frage zu stellen. Ihre Arbeiten wurden auf Festivals und in Ausstellungen in Deutschland, im Kosovo, in Mexiko, im Vereinigten Königreich, in den Niederlanden, in Georgien, in der Ukraine, in Italien, in San Marino, in Griechenland usw. gezeigt. Derzeit ist sie Stipendiatin an der Centrale Fies, LIVE WORKS Vol. 10 – Free School of Performance, wo sie ihre Forschungen zu performativen Schreib- und Inszenierungstechniken albanischer weiblicher Stimmen und Erinnerungen im italienischen Kontext zwischen 1992–2011 vertieft.
https://endintupja.wixsite.com/enditupja

Veranstaltungsort

Künstler:innenhaus Büchsenhausen
Weiherburggasse 13
A-6020 Innsbruck

+43 512 27 86 27
office@buchsenhausen.at