A Theory of Obscurity

THE CHEAPEST UNIVERSITY

Julie Sas, untitled, 2018.

In the context of her artistic investigation Silent Red Alert: Speculative Materials on Anonymity, which centers strategies of disappearance and escape from normative regimes of visibilities, Julie Sas (artist and Büchsenhausen-Fellow) invites the Paris-based group The Cheapest University to Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen to work here for a week. The five-day workshop titled A Theory of Obscurity will explore different strategies of learning through or with obscurity, experiment with working methods and learning strategies—either scientific or esoteric—that take the invisible into account, will consider obscurity as a form of clear-sightedness, and so move away from a traditional conception of critical thinking as induced by a clear consciousness dispelling darkness.
For this, different sources will be taken into account: among other things, N. Senada‘s Theory of Obscurity which evolved in the context of the experimental band The Residents, Édouard Glissant‘s notion of opacity, as well as literary work by Dostoevsky (Notes from the Underground), Paul Valery (Monsieur Teste) and Joris-Karl Huysmans (Against the Grain).

The workshop (Mon 23 – Fri 27 April 2018) titled ‚A Theory of Obscurity‘ will be concluded by a public exhibition at 19.00 on Friday 27 April.

Julie SAS is a French artist based in Paris. In her practice she combines installations, writing, performance and collaborative projects, in which she organizes spaces and situations around plays on meanings, norms and identities that demonstrate a tension with certain linguistic or social data. Sas’ recent live installations present bodies involved in codified situations, particularly those linked to the production of public discourse, forms of self-representation, and quotation exercises. Those have led her to start developing long-time research and experimentation on the practice of anonymity and forms of invisibility in art, literature and musical fields.
juliesas.blogspot.com

The Cheapest University (TCU) is an experimental school based in Paris and created by artists. It introduces itself as a community of attention, and creates, since 2015, collective work events, public talks, experimental workshops, various online forms of research and work, as well as publications and artworks. The goal of The Cheapest University’s program is to allow artists to take the co-production and transmission of knowledge in their own hands. T.C.U, that has constituted itself through elective affinities, gathering a growing number of participants around an enthusiastic and open spirit, is contributive: it is immediate and committed, depending solely on the will-power of its members — all volunteers. It infiltrates their practice or is infiltrated by it, extending personal research or enabling the invention of collective situations that produce knowledge and/or/as art.

thecheapestuniversity.org

Location
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at

Wed-Fri 11.00 – 18.00
Sat 11.00 – 15.00

A Theory of Obscurity

THE CHEAPEST UNIVERSITY

Julie Sas, untitled, 2018.

Im Rahmen ihrer künstlerischen Investigation Silent Red Alert: Speculative Materials on Anonymity, in deren Mittelpunkt Strategien des Verschwindens und des Entkommens aus dem normativen Sichtbarkeitsregime unserer Gegenwartsgesellschaften stehen, lädt Julie Sas (Künstlerin und Büchsenhausen-Fellow) die Pariser Gruppe The Cheapest University zu einem „Underground-Workshop“ ins Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen ein. Der fünftägige Workshop wird den Fokus der Teilnehmer_innen auf unterschiedliche Modi des Lernens mithilfe des Obskuren lenken und mit wissenschaftlichen aber auch esoterischen Arbeitsmethoden und Lernstrategien experimentieren, die das Unsichtbare miteinbeziehen und Obskurität als eine Form der Klarsicht begreifen, die von der traditionellen Auffassung einer kritischen Denkweise durch ungetrübtes Bewusstsein absieht. Als Bezugspunkte sollen unter anderem N. Senadas Theory of Obscurity, die im Zusammenhang der experimentellen Band The Residents enstand,Édouard Glissants Begriff der Opazität sowie weitere literarische Bearbeitungen des Themas bei Dostojewski (Aufzeichnungen aus dem Kellerloch), Paul Valery (Monsieur Teste) und Joris-Karl Huysmans (Gegen den Strich) fungieren.

Am Freitag 27. April um 19 Uhr wird der Workshop (Mo 23. – Fr 27. 04. 2018) mit einer öffentlichen Ausstellung von The Cheapest University im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen abgeschlossen.

Julie SAS lebt als Künstlerin in Paris. In ihrer Praxis kombiniert sie Installationen, eigene Schriften, Performance und kollaborative Projekte. Sie stellt Räume und Situationen her, in deren Mittelpunkt das Spielen mit Bedeutungen, Normen und Identitäten steht, um eine Spannung zu bestimmten linguistischen und gesellschaftlichen Parametern zu verdeutlichen. Sas‘ neuere Live-Installationen zeigen Körper, die sich an chiffrierten Situationen beteiligen, insbesondere an solchen, die mit der Produktion eines öffentlichen Diskurses, mit Formen der Selbstdarstellung und mit Zitat-Übungen verbunden sind. Diese Arbeiten haben zu einer langfristigen Recherche und zu Experimenten zur Praxis der Anonymität wie auch zu Formen von Unsichtbarkeit in Kunst, Literatur und Musik geführt.
juliesas.blogspot.com

The Cheapest University (TCU) ist eine experimentelle Schule, die von Künstler_innen in Paris gegründet wurde. Seit 2015 organisiert sie kollektive Arbeitssessions, öffentliche Diskussionen und experimentelle Workshops, denkt über Formen von Online-Forschung und -Arbeit nach; darüber hinaus produziert sie Publikationen und Kunstwerke. Im Mittelpunkt der Aktivitäten steht die Selbstermächtigung der Künstler_innen in Bezug auf die eigene (Ko)Produktion und den damit verbundenen Wissenstransfer. TCU hat sich durch „Wahlverwandschaften“ konstituiert und versammelt eine wachsende Anzahl von enthusiastischen Freigeistern, die sich ohne finanziellem Interesse kollaborativ engagieren, die eigene Arbeit mit und durch andere infiltrieren (aber auch infiltrieren lassen) und so eigenwillige, wissensproduktive Vorgänge bzw. Kunst ermöglichen.

thecheapestuniversity.org

Veranstaltungsort
Künstler:innenhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at