The Eyes and Ears of the World

Screening of the episode 4-6 of the film »Third Person (Plural) (2017-19)« by Aikaterini GEGISIAN and talk with Christian QUENDLER (film and media scholar, University of Innsbruck)

Aikaterini Gegisian, »Third Person (Plural)«, Filmstill, 2017-19

After presenting the first three episodes of Gegisian’s film Third Person (Plural) (2017-19) at the event entitled The Eye of the Camera on May 17, 2019, the last three episodes will be shown and discussed in a subsequent talk between the artist and the film and media scholar Christian Quendler.

For her film Third Person (Plural) (2017-19) artist Aikaterini Gegisian has gathered visual material from the extensive archive of U.S. post-World War II newsreels (1945-1957), found at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. Third Person (Plural) (2017-19) has been mainly produced during Gegisian’s fellowship at Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen. The film explores the role newsreel-driven popular, visual culture plays in shaping – and controlling – the ‘image’ of the world, in particular its implication of creating otherness as well as national and supranational imaginations.

The event takes place in the context of the artistic investigation Third Person (Plural) (2017-19) by Aikaterini GEGISIAN.

Aikaterini GEGISIAN is an artist of Greek-Armenian heritage that lives and works in the UK and Greece. Building on her contribution to the Armenian Pavilion, 56th Venice Biennale (2015 Golden Lion for best national participation), she has over the past two years developed a series of new commissions exploring the role of images in the construction of national and gendered identities, amongst others: Jewish Museum, Moscow; National Arts Museum of China, Beijing; Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art; BALTIC, Newcastle; Calvert 22 Foundation, London; Kunsthalle Osnabruck; DEPO, Istanbul; Yermilov Centre, Ukraine. During 2018 she was a Research Fellow at the Library of Congress, Washington DC.
gegisian.com

Christian QUENDLER is associate professor in the Department of American Studies at the University of Innsbruck, where he teaches film and media. His most recent book is The Camera-Eye Metaphor in Cinema (Routledge, 2017).

Location
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Wed-Fri 11.00 – 18.00
Sat 11.00 – 15.00

The Eyes and Ears of the World

Vorführung der Episoden 4-6 des Films »Third Person (Plural) (2017-19)« von Aikaterini GEGISIAN und Diskussion mit Christian QUENDLER (Film- und Medienwissenschaftler, Universität Innsbruck)

Aikaterini Gegisian, »Third Person (Plural)«, Filmstill, 2017-19

Nachdem bei der Veranstaltung mit dem Titel The Eye of the Camera am 17. Mai 2019 die ersten drei Episoden von Gegisians Film Third Person (Plural) (2017-19) vorgeführt wurden, werden an diesem Abend die letzten drei Episoden gezeigt und in einem anschließenden Gespräch zwischen der Künstlerin und dem Film- und Medienwissenschaftler Christian Quendler diskutiert.

Third Person (Plural) von Aikaterini Gegisian bezieht sein visuelles Material aus dem umfangreichen Archiv US-amerikanischer Wochenschauen der Nachkriegsjahre 1945–1957, die die Künstlerin aus der Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. zusammengetragen hat. Der Film entstand größtenteils während Gegisians Fellowship im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen. Er geht der Rolle nach , die die damalige visuelle Populärkultur unter dem starken Einfluss der Wochenschau-Ästhetik bei der Gestaltung – und Gestaltungs sowie Vermittlungskontrolle – des „Bildes“ der Welt spielte, insbesondere hinsichtlich ihrer Bedeutung in der Herstellung sowohl von Andersartigkeit als auch von nationalen sowie supranationalen Zugehörigkeitsvorstellungen.

Die Veranstaltung findet im Kontext der künstlerischen Investigation Third Person (Plural) (2017-19) von Aikaterini GEGISIAN und in englischer Sprache statt.

Aikaterini GEGISIAN ist griechisch-armenischer Herkunft; sie lebt und arbeitet zwischen Großbritannien und Griechenland. Aufbauend auf ihrem Beitrag im armenischen Pavillon bei der 56. Biennale von Venedig (2015, Goldener Löwe für die beste nationale Teilnahme), hat sie in den letzten beiden Jahren eine Reihe von Auftragsarbeiten entwickelt, die die Rolle von Bildern bei der Konstruktion nationaler und genderspezifischer Identitäten erkunden. Sie wurden unter anderem im Jüdischen Museum, Moskau; dem National Arts Museum of China, Peking; dem Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art,UK; im BALTIC, Newcastle; in der Calvert 22 Foundation, London; in der Kunsthalle Osnabrück; im DEPO, Istanbul; und dem Yermilov Centre, Ukraine gezeigt. 2018 war sie Research Fellow in der Library of Congress, Washington DC.
gegisian.com

Christian QUENDLER ist assoziierter Professor am Institut für Amerikastudien der Universität Innsbruck, wo er Film- und Medienwissenschaften unterrichtet. Er ist Autor von drei Monographien, zuletzt erschien The Camera-Eye Metaphor in Cinema (Routledge, 2017).

Veranstaltungsort
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Mi-Fr 11.00 – 18.00
Sa 11.00 – 15.00