The Whisper of the Steps

Office Ukraine film screening in cooperation with Cultural Platform Ukraine-Tirol

The Whisper of the Steps, 2019. Film still

As part of an evening organized by the Cultural Platform Ukraine-Tirol dedicated to the Independence Day of Ukraine, Office Ukraine invites you to the screening of the film The Whisper of the Steps (2019) at Künstler:innenhaus Büchsenhausen.

The Whisper of the Steps tells the story of the Ukrainian monumental artists Ada Rybachuk and Volodymyr Melnychenko (ARVM), who belong to the so-called Sixties generation. Their magnum opus, the Wall of Remembrance at the Baikove Cemetery in Kyiv, was supposed to be the largest high-relief in Europe but a few months before its completion in 1982, Soviet officials stopped the project. Considered as not being in line with Soviet values and aesthetics, the artwork was destroyed by covering it with cement. It was only after Ukraine gained independence in 1991 that it became possible to talk about the restoration of the artwork.

The documentary film artfully intertwines the life and work of the artist duo with the unfinished tale of the Wall of Remembrance and the liberation from the colonial burden in Ukraine. 32 years after the proclamation of independence, Ukraine is more threatened than ever due to the Russian war. The struggle to be seen and to be free continues to this day.

The entrance is free. The film will be shown in original languages with English subtitles.
The screening will be followed by a get-together with snacks and drinks.

The Whisper of the Steps
2019, 62 min
Director: Ksenia Kravtsova
Language: OV (ukr/rus) with eng subtitles
Special thanks to: Real Stories Production

 

Location

Künstler:innenhaus Büchsenhausen
Weiherburggasse 13
A-6020 Innsbruck

+43 512 27 86 27
office@buchsenhausen.at

The Whisper of the Steps

Office Ukraine Film Screening in Kooperation mit Kulturplattform Ukraine-Tirol

The Whisper of the Steps, 2019. Filmstill

Im Rahmen eines von der Kulturplattform Ukraine-Tirol organisierten Abends, der dem Unabhängigkeitstag der Ukraine gewidmet ist, lädt Office Ukraine zum Screening des Films The Whisper of the Steps (2019) ins Künstler:innenhaus Büchsenhausen ein.

The Whisper of the Steps erzählt die Geschichte der ukrainischen Monumentalkünstler:innen Ada Rybachuk und Volodymyr Melnychenko (ARVM), die zur sogenannten Sechzigerjahre-Generation gehören. Ihr Opus magnum, die Mauer der Erinnerung auf dem Baikove-Friedhof in Kyiv, sollte das umfangreichste Hochrelief Europas werden, doch wenige Monate vor seiner Fertigstellung im Jahr 1982 stoppten sowjetische Behörden das Projekt. Da man der Meinung war, das Kunstwerk entspräche nicht den sowjetischen Werten und der sowjetischen Ästhetik, wurde es mit Beton übergossen und damit zerstört. Erst mit der Unabhängigkeit der Ukraine im Jahr 1991 wurde es möglich, über die Restaurierung des Kunstwerks zu sprechen.

Der Dokumentarfilm verknüpft Leben und Werk des Künstler:innenduos kunstvoll mit der unvollendeten Geschichte der Mauer der Erinnerung und der Befreiung von der kolonialen Last in der Ukraine. 32 Jahre nach der Ausrufung der Unabhängigkeit ist die Ukraine durch den russischen Krieg mehr denn je bedroht. Das Ringen darum, gesehen zu werden und frei zu sein, dauert bis heute an.

Der Eintritt ist frei. Der Film wird in den Originalsprachen mit englischen Untertiteln gezeigt.
Im Anschluss an die Vorführung gibt es ein informelles Beisammensein mit Snacks und Getränken.

The Whisper of the Steps
2019, 62 min
Regie: Ksenia Kravtsova
Sprache: OV (ukr/rus) mit eng Untertiteln
Mit freundliche Genehmigung von: Real Stories Production

 

Veranstaltungsort
Künstler:innenhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at