Unearthing Disaster I & II

by Angela ANDERSON & Angela MELITOPOULOS

Angela Anderson and Angela Melitopoulos, Still from Unearthing Disaster II, 2015.

Angela Anderson screens her – together with Angela Melitopoulos produced – two-channel films Unearthing Disaster I and II (2013 and 2015). The works present results of a long-term research about the destruction of Halkidiki in Northeastern Greece. The artists began documenting the environmental, social and psychological damage inflicted on the region by the construction of a massive open pit gold mine by the Canadian mining company Eldorado Gold.

Unearthing Disaster I (2013, 36min) accompanies local activists on a journey through their once-familiar landscape, transformed in a matter of days by the anti-productive forces of capitalism into something they no longer recognize. Through the course of this journey, the scale of the imminent disaster unfolds through stories about millions of trees cut, clean water which is disappearing from the mountain and the sell-out of the region by local politician. The violent repression of the social movement formed to prevent the destruction of the natural environment by the police and private security, as well as the encounters with workers who violently defend the short-sighted nature of their employment will be documented.

Unearthing Disaster II (2015, 26min) develops a poetic point of view on matters which are in the course of this violent conflict endangered. It contrasts the molecular, intelligent, rhizomatic networks of plants, trees, streams, and earth with the massive, violent, mechanized destruction of these networks in the name of profit and “development”.

You are invited to an open discussion with film maker Angela Anderson after the screening.

Angela ANDERSON is an artist and filmmaker working at the intersection of philosophy, ecology, economics, migration, media, and feminist & queer theory. Central to her work is an awareness of the intimate connection between media production, memory and apprehension, and the potential of audio-visual media to open up new lines of flight. She holds a BA in Economics and Latin American Studies from the University of Minnesota, an MA in Film and Media Studies from the New School (NYC) and is pursuing her PhD at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Originally from the northwoods of Wisconsin, USA, she lives and works in Berlin. Since 2013 Anderson has been collaborating with Angela Melitopoulos on the audio-visual research projects Unearthing Disaster, The Refrain (2015) and Crossings (2017), which was shown at documenta 14. In 2016 she produced her short film The Sea Between You and Me (2016) for the show Voice Outside the Echo Chamber curated by Katayoun Arian at Framer Framed (Amsterdam). Other recent exhibitions include Minnesota Street Project (San Francisco – 2017), Holbaek Images (2016) and the Thessaloniki Biennale (2015). Anderson is also the exhibition designer for Forum Expanded at the Berlin International Film Festival and has worked with many other artists and filmmakers on the realization of performative, filmic, and installation projects.
angelaolgaanderson.wordpress.com

Angela MELITOPOULOS is professor of the School of Media Arts at the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts in Copenhagen. Her videos, installations and sound pieces focus on memory, time, political geographies, migration and mobility. Together with her long-term colleague Maurizio Lazzarato, Melitopoulos produced works such as Assemblages (2010-12) that analysed Félix Guattaris’ term of an machinic Animismus. In 2017 she produced the four-channel video installation Crossings for the documenta 14 – a cooperation with Lazzarato and Angela Anderson who has been occupied with the current crisis in Greece. Together with Angela Anderson, Melitopoulos produced the two-channel video installations Unearthing Disaster I und II (2013 and 2015) which was the result of a long-term research about the impact of gold mining in Northeastern Greece.



Location
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at

Unearthing Disaster I & II

von Angela ANDERSON & Angela MELITOPOULOS

Plakat mit Bild von Angela Anderson und Angela Melitopoulos, Still aus Unearthing Disaster II, 2015.

Angela Anderson zeigt ihre gemeinsam mit Angela Melitopoulos entwickelten Zweikanal-Filme Unearthing Disaster I und II (2013 und 2015). Die Arbeiten stellen das Ergebnis jahrelanger Recherchen über die Zerstörung einer vormals unberührten Bergwaldregion im Nordosten Griechenlands durch Eldorado Gold, ein kanadisches Bergbauunternehmen, dar. Die Künstlerinnen dokumentieren darin den ökologischen, sozialen, ökonomischen und psychologischen Schaden, den die Errichtung dieses neuartigen Tagebaus zur Goldgewinnung verursacht hat.

Unearthing Disaster I (36 Min., 2013) begleitet lokale Umweltaktivist_innen auf einer Reise durch ihnen einst vertraute Landschaften, die innerhalb kürzester Zeit von den Mächten industriell-kapitalistischer Ressourcengewinnung bis zur Unkenntlichkeit verwandelt wurden. Das Ausmaß der bevorstehenden Zerstörung wird im Laufe der Reise immer deutlicher, wenn es um Millionen gefällter Bäume, Trinkwasserschwund und den Ausverkauf der Region durch lokale Politiker_innen geht. Die Künstlerinnen dokumentieren sowohl die gewalttätigen Begegnungen der Protestierenden mit der Polizei und der privaten Security der Bergbaufirma, als auch die Begegnungen mit dort beschäftigten Arbeitern, die das Abbauprojekt vehement verteidigen.

Unearthing Disaster II (26 Min, 2015) entfaltet eine poetische Sicht auf die Dinge, die im Zuge dieser gewaltvollen Auseinandersetzung auf dem Spiel stehen. Der Film stellt die molekularen, intelligenten, rhizomatischen Netzwerke von Pflanzen, Bäumen, Flüssen und Erde der massiv gewalttätigen, mechanischen Zerstörung dieser Netzwerke im Namen von Profit und „Entwicklung“ gegenüber.

Nach der Vorführung findet ein offenes Gespräch mit der Filmemacherin Angela Anderson statt.

Angela ANDERSON ist eine Künstlerin und Filmemacherin, die an der Schnittstelle zwischen den Feldern Philosophie, Ökologie, Wirtschaft, Migration, Medien und feministische & queere Theorie arbeitet. Ihrer Arbeit inhärent sind ein Bewusstsein über das Vorhanden-Sein einer intimen Verbindung zwischen medialer Produktion, Erinnerung und Vorahnung sowie das Potenzial audio-visueller Medien zur Eröffnung neuer Perspektiven. Ihr Studium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Lateinamerikanistik schloss sie mit einem BA der University of Minnesota ab, worauf wenig später ein MA in Film and Media Studies an der New School (NYC) folgte. Gegenwärtig schreibt Anderson an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien an ihrer Doktorarbeit. Seit 2013 arbeitet sie mit Angela Melitopoulos an den audio-visuellen Forschungsprojekten Unearthing Disaster, The Refrain (2015) und Crossings (2017), das bei der documenta 14 gezeigt wurde. 2016 produzierte sie ihren Kurzfilm The Sea Between You and Me für die Ausstellung Voice Outside the Echo Chamber kuratiert von Katayoun Arian im Framer Framed (Amsterdam). Neuere Ausstellungsbeteiligungen inkludieren das Minnesota Street Project (San Francisco, 2017), Holbaek Images (2016) und die Thessaloniki Biennale (2015). Sie ist außerdem als Ausstellungsdesignerin des Forum Expanded bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen in Berlin tätig und hat mit vielen anderen Künstler_innen und Filmemacher_innen an der Realisierung performativer, filmischer und installativer Projekte gearbeitet.
angelaolgaanderson.wordpress.com

Angela MELITOPOULOS ist Professorin an der School of Media Arts an der Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts in Kopenhagen. Ihre Videoarbeiten, Installationen und Klangarbeiten konzentrieren sich auf Erinnerung, Zeit, politische Geografien, Migration und Mobilität. Mit dem langjährigen Mitarbeiter Maurizio Lazzarato produzierte Melitopoulos Werke wie Assemblages (2010-12), die Félix Guattaris Begriff des maschinischen Animismus analysierten. Für die documenta 14 produzierte sie 2017 die vierkanalige Videoinstallation Crossings – eine Zusammenarbeit mit Lazzarato und Angela Anderson, die sich mit dem aktuellen Krisenzustand in Griechenland beschäftigt. Mit Angela Anderson produzierte sie die Zweikanal-Videoinstallationen Unearthing Disaster I und II (2013 und 2015), die das Ergebnis einer mehrjährigen Untersuchung der Auswirkungen des Goldbergbaues im Nordosten Griechenlands waren.
www.documenta14.de/angela-melitopoulos



Veranstaltungsort
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at