Image Diplomacy

Vladislav SHAPOVALOV

Vladislav Shapovalov, filmstill Image Diplomacy, 2017, hd video, 30 min.

As a follow-up to his Büchsenhausen-Fellowship in 2016/17, Vladislav Shapovalov is showing his new film Image Diplomacy, which he developed at Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen. It has been produced in cooperation with the V-A-C Foundation, Moscow.

The film deals with specific historical aspects of the construction of the political-imaginary by means of exhibition strategies and the photographic medium in the 20th century: on the one hand, it is about Soviet photo exhibitions and films that sought to convey socialist modernity and a controlled image of the USSR, with positive connotations, during the Cold War. On the other hand, the film sets these politics of representation against their western pendant: Edward Steichen’s famous, controversially discussed photo exhibition The Family of Man, which was also instrumentalized politically by the USA after 1955, elevated to the status of World Cultural Heritage by UNESCO in 2003, and can now be viewed as a permanent exhibition in Clervaux, Luxembourg. To realise this critical investigation, the artist used photo and film material from archives in Italy, Russia and the USA. Employing documentary, essayist means, Shapovalov conceived a filmic narration revealing how the social and political ideals of the Soviet Union were transported by means of cultural diplomacy during the Cold War. Sociopolitical ideals – free access to education, to the health system and sufficient living space, the emancipation of women – and real-political strategies like the “conquest” of space and socialist internationalism in the so-called Third World, thereby constitute the thematic framework to a visual communications policy in no way inferior to the American Family of Man exhibition with its complexity and universal pretensions. Image Diplomacy by Vladislav Shapovalov calls back to the present questions which are still extremely relevant to society but have been forgotten or pushed into the background after the fall of communism.

Vladislav Shapovalov (*1981, Rostov-on-Don, Russia) is an artist and researcher living and working in Milan and Moscow. He was a member of the art-group Radek Community from 1999-2007. Since 2008 he has been working independently on projects that focus on rethinking images, cultural artifacts and the construction of narratives as a way to construe and analyze geopolitical configurations. In 2016/17, Shapovalov took part in the Fellowship Program for Art and Theory in Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen with support from the City of Innsbruck. He is currently preparing his first solo exhibition Image Diplomacy in the Moscow Museum of Modern Art (as from 17.11.2017), in which the film of the same name as well as the installation produced in Büchsenhausen, I Left My Heart in Rhodesia (2017), will be shown among other things. A further solo exhibition by Vladislav Shapovalov will take place as from the beginning of December 2017 at ar/ge kunst in Bolzano.

Recent exhibitions include Atlas [of the ruins] of Europe, curated by Julia Morandeira Arrizabalaga and José Riello, CentroCentro, Madrid, 2016; Fear. The Origin of the State, curated by Fedor Blašák and Christian Kobald, Nová synagóga / Kunsthalle Žilina, Slovakia, 2015; The School of Kyiv. Kyiv Biennial, curated by Hedwig Saxenhuber and Georg Schollhammer, Kyiv, 2015; Sources Go Dark, curated by Valerio Borgonuovo and Silvia Franceschini, Futura Center for Contemporary Art, Prague, 2015.

vladislavshapovalov.com

Location
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at

Image Diplomacy

Vladislav SHAPOVALOV

Vladislav Shapovalov, Filmstill Image Diplomacy, 2017, HD Video, 30 Min.

Als Follow-Up seines Büchsenhausen-Fellowships im Jahr 2016/17 zeigt Vladislav Shapovalov seinen neuen Film Image Diplomacy, der im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen entwickelt und in Zusammenarbeit mit der V-A-C Foundation in Moskau produziert wurde.

Der Film behandelt bestimmte historische Aspekte der Konstruktion des Politisch-Imaginären durch Ausstellungsstrategien und das Medium der Fotografie im 20. Jahrhundert: Einerseits geht es um sowjetische Fotoausstellungen und Filme, die während des Kalten Krieges die sozialistische Moderne repräsentieren sowie ein kontrolliertes, positiv konnotiertes Bild der UdSSR vermitteln sollten. Andererseits stellt der Film dieser Repräsentationspolitik ihr westliches Pendant gegenüber: Edward Steichens berühmte und kontrovers diskutierte Fotoausstellung The Family of Man, die von den USA nach 1955 ebenfalls politisch instrumentalisiert, 2003 von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe erhoben wurde und heute in Clervaux, Luxemburg als Permanentausstellung besichtigt werden kann. Zur Umsetzung dieser kritischen Investigation verwendete der Künstler Foto- und Filmmaterialien aus Archiven in Italien, Russland und den USA. Mit dokumentaristisch-essayistischen Mitteln entwirft Shapovalov eine filmische Narration, die aufzeigt, wie die sozialen und politischen Ideale der Sowjetunion während des Kalten Kriegs mit den Mitteln kultureller Diplomatie transportiert wurden. Sozialpolitische Ideale – der freie Zugang zur Bildung, zum Gesundheitswesen und zu ausreichendem Wohnraum, die Emanzipation der Frauen – sowie realpolitische Strategien – die „Eroberung“ des Weltraums, der sozialistische Internationalismus in der sog. Dritten Welt – bilden dabei das thematische Rückgrat einer visuellen Kommunikationspolitik, die der amerikanischen Family of Man-Ausstellung in ihrer Komplexität und ihrem universalistischen Anspruch in nichts nachsteht. Image Diplomacy von Vladislav Shapovalov bringt schließlich gesellschaftlich weiterhin höchstrelevante aber nach dem Niedergang des Kommunismus vergessene beziehungsweise in den Hintergrund gerückte Fragen zurück in die Gegenwart.

Vladislav Shapovalov (*1981, Rostow-am-Don, Russland) ist Künstler und Forscher, der in Mailand und Moskau lebt und arbeitet. Er war Mitglied der Künstler_innengruppe Radek Community (1999-2007). Seit 2008 hat er als Einzelkünstler an Projekten gearbeitet, die sich vor allem mit der Neubewertung von Bildern, kulturellen Artefakten und der Konstruktion von Narrativen beschäftigt, die dazu dienen, geopolitische Konfigurationen zu konstruieren und zu analysieren. Shapovalov war 2016/17 mit Unterstützung der Stadt Innsbruck Teilnehmer am Fellowship-Programm für Kunst und Theorie im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen. Gegenwärtig bereitet er seine erste Einzelausstellung Image Diplomacy im Moscow Museum of Modern Art vor (ab 17.11.2017), in der unter anderem der gleichnamige Film sowie die in Büchsenhausen produzierte Installation I Left My Heart in Rodhesia (2017) gezeigt werden. Eine weitere Einzelausstellung von Vladislav Shapovalov findet ab Anfang Dezember 2017 bei ar/ge kunst in Bozen statt.

Zu seinen jüngsten Ausstellungsbeteiligungen gehören Atlas [of the ruins] of Europe, kuratiert von Julia Morandeira Arrizabalaga und José Riello, CentroCentro, Madrid, 2016; Fear. The Origin of the State, kuratiert von Fedor Blašák und Christian Kobald, Nová synagóga / Kunsthalle Žilina, Slowakei, 2015; The School of Kyiv, Biennale von Kiew, kuratiert von Hedwig Saxenhuber und Georg Schollhammer, Kiew, 2015; Sources Go Dark, kuratiert von Valerio Borgonuovo und Silvia Franceschini, Futura Center for Contemporary Art, Prag, 2015.

vladislavshapovalov.com

Veranstaltungsort
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at