Water Makes Us Wet – An Ecosexual Adventure

Screening of the film by Annie SPRINKLE & Beth STEPHENS and discussion with Angela ANDERSON, Nina TABASSOMI & the directors

Annie Sprinkle & Beth Stephens, »Water Makes Us Wet: An Ecosexual Adventure«, Juno Films 2019

With a poetic blend of curiosity, humor, sensuality and concern, Water Makes Us Wet chronicles the pleasures and politics of H2O from an ecosexual perspective. Travel around California with Annie, a former sex worker, Beth, a professor, and their dog Butch, in their E.A.R.T.H. Lab mobile unit, as they explore water in the Golden State. Ecosexuality shifts the metaphor “Earth as Mother” to “Earth as Lover” to create a more reciprocal and empathetic relationship with the natural world. Along the way, Annie and Beth interact with a diverse range of folks including performance artists, biologists, water treatment plant workers, scholars and others, climaxing in a shocking event that reaffirms the power of water, life and love.

After the screening, Angela Anderson, Nina Tabassomi and the filmmakers (via Skype) will discuss aspects of the film. The screening of the film Water Makes Us Wet and the subsequent discussion will take place in the context of Angela ANDERSON’s artistic investigation Three (or more) Ecologies: A Feminist Articulation of Eco-Intersectionality.

The event will be held in English, in cooperation with kinovi[sie]on, Taxispalais Kunsthalle Tirol and the American Corner Innsbruck.

Angela ANDERSON is an artist and filmmaker working at the intersection of philosophy, ecology, economics, migration, media, and feminist & queer theory. Central to her work is an awareness of the intimate connection between media production, memory and apprehension, and the potential of audio-visual media to open up new lines of flight. She holds a BA in Economics and Latin American Studies from the University of Minnesota, an MA in Film and Media Studies from the New School (NYC) and is pursuing her PhD at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Originally from the northwoods of Wisconsin, USA, she lives and works in Berlin. Since 2013 Anderson has been collaborating with Angela Melitopoulos on the audio-visual research projects Unearthing Disaster, The Refrain (2015) and Crossings (2017), which was shown at documenta 14. In 2016 she produced her short film The Sea Between You and Me (2016) for the show Voice Outside the Echo Chamber curated by Katayoun Arian at Framer Framed (Amsterdam). Other recent exhibitions include Minnesota Street Project (San Francisco – 2017), Holbaek Images (2016) and the Thessaloniki Biennale (2015). Anderson is also the exhibition designer for Forum Expanded at the Berlin International Film Festival and has worked with many other artists and filmmakers on the realization of performative, filmic, and installation projects.
angelaolgaanderson.wordpress.com

Annie SPRINKLE‘s & Beth STEPHENS‘ work reflects two lines of force within radical feminist art. While Stephens (born in 1960 in Montgomery, West Virginia) was intervening in the gallery space and within video art beginning in the late 1980s, introducing representations of lesbian and queer culture, Sprinkle (born in 1954 in Philadelphia) was working to undo the dominant codes of representation in pornography, as a porn actress and activist beginning in the 1970s, campaigning to defend the rights of sex workers. Their coming together as an art duo in the early 2000s represents the alliance of these divergent discourses as it gives way to “ecosex” art and activism.
http://sexecology.org

Nina TABASSOMI is a curator and theatre scholar. Having worked in Berlin (Based in Berlin, KW Institute for Contemporary Art), Kassel (Fridericianum) and New York (Ludlow 38), she is now director of the TAXISPALAIS Kunsthalle Tirol, a position she has held since the beginning of 2017. Among others, Nina curated the group exhibitions Infrastructures of Pain, Accentisms and the Trilogy Lieben – Sex – Lachen as well as solo exhibitions by Eric Baudelaire, Emeka Ogboh and Maryam Jafri.

Location

Leokino
Anichstraße 36
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 560470

Water Makes Us Wet – An Ecosexual Adventure

Vorführung des Films von Annie SPRINKLE & Beth STEPHENS sowie Diskussion zwischen Angela ANDERSON, Nina TABASSOMI und den Regisseurinnen

Annie Sprinkle & Beth Stephens, »Water Makes Us Wet: An Ecosexual Adventure«, Juno Films 2019

Mit einer poetischen Mischung aus Neugierde, Humor, Sinnlichkeit und Besorgnis erzählt Water Makes Us Wet die Freuden und die Politik von H2O aus ökosexueller Sicht. Reisen Sie mit Annie, einer ehemaligen Sexarbeiterin, Beth, einer Professorin, und ihrem Hund Butch in ihrer mobilen Anlage E.A.R.T.H. Lab durch Kalifornien, während sie das Wasser im Golden State erkunden. Die Ökosexualität verlagert die Metapher von der „Erde als Mutter“ auf „Erde als Liebhaber_in“, um eine wechselseitigere und einfühlsamere Beziehung zur natürlichen Welt zu schaffen. Auf dem Weg dorthin interagieren Annie und Beth mit einer Vielzahl von Menschen, darunter Performance-Künstler_innen, Biolog_innen, Arbeiter_innen von Wasseraufbereitungsanlagen, Wissenschaftler_innen und andere, und erreichen ihren Höhepunkt in einem schockierenden Ereignis, das die Kraft von Wasser, Leben und Liebe bestätigt.

Nach der Vorführung diskutieren Angela Anderson, Nina Tabassomi und die Filmemacher_innen (via Skype) Aspekte des gezeigten Films. Die Vorführung des Films Water Makes Us Wet und die anschließende Diskussion finden im Kontext der künstlerischen Investigation Three (or more) Ecologies: A Feminist Articulation of Eco-Intersectionality von Angela ANDERSON statt.

Die Veranstaltung wird in englischer Sprache abgehalten, in Kooperation mit kinovi[sie]on, Taxispalais Kunsthalle Tirol und dem American Corner Innsbruck.

Angela ANDERSON ist eine Künstlerin und Filmemacherin, die an der Schnittstelle zwischen den Feldern Philosophie, Ökologie, Wirtschaft, Migration, Medien und feministische & queere Theorie arbeitet. Ihrer Arbeit inhärent sind ein Bewusstsein über das Vorhanden-Sein einer intimen Verbindung zwischen medialer Produktion, Erinnerung und Vorahnung sowie das Potenzial audio-visueller Medien zur Eröffnung neuer Perspektiven. Ihr Studium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Lateinamerikanistik schloss sie mit einem BA der University of Minnesota ab, worauf wenig später ein MA in Film and Media Studies an der New School (NYC) folgte. Gegenwärtig schreibt Anderson an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien an ihrer Doktorarbeit. Seit 2013 arbeitet sie mit Angela Melitopoulos an den audio-visuellen Forschungsprojekten Unearthing Disaster, The Refrain (2015) und Crossings (2017), das bei der documenta 14 gezeigt wurde. 2016 produzierte sie ihren Kurzfilm The Sea Between You and Me für die Ausstellung Voice Outside the Echo Chamber kuratiert von Katayoun Arian im Framer Framed (Amsterdam). Neuere Ausstellungsbeteiligungen inkludieren das Minnesota Street Project (San Francisco, 2017), Holbaek Images (2016) und die Thessaloniki Biennale (2015). Sie ist außerdem als Ausstellungsdesignerin des Forum Expanded bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen in Berlin tätig und hat mit vielen anderen Künstler_innen und Filmemacher_innen an der Realisierung performativer, filmischer und installativer Projekte gearbeitet.
angelaolgaanderson.wordpress.com

Annie SPRINKLEs & Beth STEPHENS‘ Werk reflektiert zwei Strömungen innerhalb der radikalen feministischen Kunst. Während Stephens (geboren 1960 in Montgomery, West Virginia) ab Ende der 1980er Jahre in den Galerieraum und in die Videokunst eingriff und Darstellungen lesbischer und queerer Kultur vorstellte, arbeitete Sprinkle (geboren 1954 in Philadelphia) als Pornodarstellerin und Aktivistin ab den 1970er Jahren daran, die dominanten Codes der Repräsentation in der Pornografie rückgängig zu machen, und setzte sich für die Verteidigung der Rechte von Sexarbeiter_innen ein. Ihr Zusammenkommen als Kunstduo in den frühen 2000er Jahren stellt die Allianz dieser ursprünglich divergenten Diskurse dar und ermöglicht „Ecosex“-Kunst und -Aktivismus.
http://sexecology.org

Nina TABASSOMI ist Kuratorin und Theaterwissenschaftlerin. Nach Aufenthalten in Berlin (mit Sitz in Berlin, KW Institute for Contemporary Art), Kassel (Fridericianum) und New York (Ludlow 38) ist sie heute Direktorin der TAXISPALAIS Kunsthalle Tirol, die sie seit Anfang 2017 leitet. Unter anderem kuratierte Nina die Gruppenausstellungen Infrastructures of Pain, Accentisms und die Trilogie Lieben – Sex – Lachen sowie Einzelausstellungen von Eric Baudelaire, Emeka Ogboh und Maryam Jafri.

Veranstaltungsort

Leokino
Anichstraße 36
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 560470