Angela Anderson

Angela Anderson, North Dakota is on Fire, 2018.

Three (or more) Ecologies

A Feminist Articulation of Eco-Intersectionality

This project represents the most recent iteration of my ongoing research into the seemingly perpetual conflict between ‘labor’ and ‘nature’ in the context of industrial development. Central to my work is the question of value, and in particular the registers of value that fall out of or do not fit into capitalism’s system of “general[ized] equivalence” (Felix Guattari), in which every possible thing or relation is reduced to a monetary calculation. Of particular interest to me is the activation of the auto-poetic potential of audio-visual media, through associative and experimental montage, as a means of expressing affective registers that are difficult or impossible to articulate within the hegemonic patriarchal logics of austerity and efficiency, in turn within the constant speeding up of life under the banners of “growth” and “productivity”.

The title “Three (or more) Ecologies” refers to Felix Guattari’s short text in which he lays out what can be described as an intersectional mode of thinking ecology, namely as an “ethico-political articulation … between the three ecological registers (the environment, social relations and human subjectivity)”. Taking “The Three Ecologies” as a starting point, the audio-visual research project I will develop at Buechsenhausen attempts to bring together two seemingly disparate locations on the globe – the Dakotas in the US and Rojava in Northern Syria – where women are actively struggling against the patriarchal and earth-devouring machines of militarized extractive capital, and powerfully articulating the urgent need to recognize a different register (or registers) of value to the one currently offered by capitalism.

As the recent First Nations’ peaceful, women-led uprising on the Standing Rock Reservation, so powerfully demonstrated with the rallying cry “Mni wičoni”, or “water is life” in Lakota, the “environment” cannot be conceived separately from the formation of human subjectivity and our social organization. This sentiment is echoed in the on-the-ground experiments in stateless democracy rooted in feminist ecological sensibility happening in Rojava. It is no coincidence that both of these struggles have been met by an incredible amount of violence on the part of state and private forces driven largely by the interests and ideologies of extractive capital.

Through the creation of a multi-channel composition consisting of documentary footage, interview material, music, and text, my intention is to go far beyond merely representing an assumed reality or reporting on these particular topics. Through the conscious activation of the qualities and potentialities of aural and visual media as machines for creating worlds, my hope is to contribute towards feminist and post-human ethics that recognize the value of creative production and find strength in multiplicity, having as a goal, as Rosi Braidotti puts it, “the transformation of negative into positive passions“.*

Text: Angela Anderson

_______________
* Braidotti, Rosi: Affirming the Affirmative: On Nomadic Affectivity, Rhizomes 11/12 (Fall 2005/Spring 2006).

Angela ANDERSON is an artist and filmmaker working at the intersection of philosophy, ecology, economics, migration, media, and feminist & queer theory. Central to her work is an awareness of the intimate connection between media production, memory and apprehension, and the potential of audio-visual media to open up new lines of flight. She holds a BA in Economics and Latin American Studies from the University of Minnesota, an MA in Film and Media Studies from the New School (NYC) and is pursuing her PhD at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Originally from the northwoods of Wisconsin, USA, she lives and works in Berlin. Since 2013 Anderson has been collaborating with Angela Melitopoulos on the audio-visual research projects Unearthing Disaster, The Refrain (2015) and Crossings (2017), which was shown at documenta 14. In 2016 she produced her short film The Sea Between You and Me (2016) for the show Voice Outside the Echo Chamber curated by Katayoun Arian at Framer Framed (Amsterdam). Other recent exhibitions include Minnesota Street Project (San Francisco – 2017), Holbaek Images (2016) and the Thessaloniki Biennale (2015). Anderson is also the exhibition designer for Forum Expanded at the Berlin International Film Festival and has worked with many other artists and filmmakers on the realization of performative, filmic, and installation projects.
angelaolgaanderson.wordpress.com

Angela Anderson

Angela Anderson, North Dakota is on Fire, 2018.

Three (or more) Ecologies

A Feminist Articulation of Eco-Intersectionality

Dieses Projekt ist die jüngste Iteration meiner fortlaufenden Recherchen über den scheinbar unüberwindbaren Konflikt zwischen „Arbeit“ und „Natur“ im Kontext industrieller Entwicklung. Zentral für meine Untersuchung ist die Frage nach dem Wert, hier insbesondere die Frage nach den Wertvorstellungen, die herrschenden Begrifflichkeiten widerstehen, die nicht in das kapitalistische System „general[isierter] Äquivalenz“ (Felix Guattari) passen, wo jedes mögliche Ding oder jede mögliche Beziehung auf eine monetäre Berechnung reduziert wird. Ich interessiere mich insbesondere für die Aktivierung des auto-poetischen Potenzials der audio-visuellen Medien durch assoziative und experimentelle Montage. Dieses auto-poetische Potenzial kann als Ausdrucksmittel für affektive Register dienen, die in den hegemonialen Patriarchatslogiken von Austerität und Effizienz im Rahmen der ständigen Beschleunigung des Lebens unter dem Banner von „Wachstum“ und „Produktivität“ schwer, wenn gar unmöglich, zu artikulieren sind.

Der Titel Three or more Ecologies bezieht sich auf Felix Guattaris gleichnamigen Kurztext. Darin legt er einen Vorgang dar, der als ein intersektionaler Modus des Denkens von Ökologie beschrieben werden kann, als „ethisch-politische Artikulation … zwischen den drei ökologischen Registern (der Umwelt, den sozialen Beziehungen und der menschlichen Subjektivität)‟. Mit den „drei Ökologien‟ als Ausgangspunkt beabsichtigt das audio-visuelle Rechercheprojekt, das ich in Büchsenhausen entwickeln möchte, zwei scheinbar besonders disparate Orte auf der Erde zusammenzubringen – die Dakotas in den Vereinigten Staaten und Rojava in Nordsyrien – wo Frauen aktiv gegen die patriarchalen und erdverschlingenden Maschinerien des militarisierten, extraktiven Kapitals kämpfen und kraftvoll das dringende Bedürfnis nach der Anerkennung eines (oder mehrerer) Werteregister artikulieren, die sich von denjenigen unterscheiden, die derzeit vom Kapitalismus angeboten werden.

Wie der jüngste friedliche, von Frauen geführte Aufstand der „First Nations“ im Standing Rock Reservat so kraftvoll mit der Parole „Mni wičoni‟ oder „Wasser ist Leben‟ in Lakota zeigte, kann die „Umwelt‟ nicht getrennt von der Bildung menschlicher Subjektivität und von unserer sozialen Organisation gedacht werden. Dieses Gefühl spiegelt sich in Rojava in den lokalen Experimenten staatenloser Demokratie, die in feministisch ökologischem Einfühlungsvermögen verwurzelt ist. Es ist kein Zufall, dass beiden Kämpfen seitens staatlicher und privater Kräfte mit einem unglaublichen Ausmaß an Gewalt entgegnet wurde, größtenteils von den Interessen und Ideologien des extraktiven Kapitals angetrieben.

Mithilfe von dokumentarischen Filmmaterial, Interviewmaterial, Musik und Text möchte ich eine Mehrkanalinstallation produzieren, die jenseits üblicher Repräsentation von „Realität“ beziehungsweise der üblichen Berichterstattung über diese spezifischen Themen hinausreicht. Durch die bewusste Aktivierung der Qualitäten und Potenzialitäten auditiver und visueller Medien als Weltenerschaffungsmaschinen beabsichtige ich zu einer feministischen, post-humanen Ethik beizutragen, die den Wert kreativer Produktion anerkennt, in der die Vielfalt Stärke findet und sich als Ziel setzt, wie Rosi Braidotti es ausdrückt, „negative Leidenschaften in positive zu verwandeln‟.[1]

Text: Angela Anderson

_______________
[1] Braidotti, Rosi, Affirming the Affirmative: On Nomadic Affectivity, Rhizomes 11/12 (Herbst 2005/Frühling 2006).

Angela ANDERSON ist eine Künstlerin und Filmemacherin, die an der Schnittstelle zwischen den Feldern Philosophie, Ökologie, Wirtschaft, Migration, Medien und feministische & queere Theorie arbeitet. Ihrer Arbeit inhärent sind ein Bewusstsein über das Vorhanden-Sein einer intimen Verbindung zwischen medialer Produktion, Erinnerung und Vorahnung sowie das Potenzial audio-visueller Medien zur Eröffnung neuer Perspektiven. Ihr Studium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Lateinamerikanistik schloss sie mit einem BA der University of Minnesota ab, worauf wenig später ein MA in Film and Media Studies an der New School (NYC) folgte. Gegenwärtig schreibt Anderson an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien an ihrer Doktorarbeit. Seit 2013 arbeitet sie mit Angela Melitopoulos an den audio-visuellen Forschungsprojekten Unearthing Disaster, The Refrain (2015) und Crossings (2017), das bei der documenta 14 gezeigt wurde. 2016 produzierte sie ihren Kurzfilm The Sea Between You and Me für die Ausstellung Voice Outside the Echo Chamber kuratiert von Katayoun Arian im Framer Framed (Amsterdam). Neuere Ausstellungsbeteiligungen inkludieren das Minnesota Street Project (San Francisco, 2017), Holbaek Images (2016) und die Thessaloniki Biennale (2015). Sie ist außerdem als Ausstellungsdesignerin des Forum Expanded bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen in Berlin tätig und hat mit vielen anderen Künstler_innen und Filmemacher_innen an der Realisierung performativer, filmischer und installativer Projekte gearbeitet.
angelaolgaanderson.wordpress.com