Anna Dasović

Anna Dasović, "Before the Fall there was no Fall. Thinking and acting between preenactment and reenactment", film still.

Before the Fall there was no Fall

Thinking and acting between preenactment and reenactment

Before the Fall there was no Fall is a research-based project that I will develop into a series of (video) works, public encounters and a book in collaboration with other makers and thinkers over the course of 2020. The resulting works will form the closing chapter of a series of works that I have made in recent years.

Central to the project is the way in which different representations of the (ethnic) “Other” were formed by the international community during the wars in Yugoslavia in the 1990s. Western politics itself produced a “civilized” Europe by (re)producing its “barbaric Balkan” counterpart as the radically “Other”. It is in this context that the United Nations signed one of its most controversial resolutions to date, formally establishing a “UN Safe Area” around Srebrenica.

In recent years I did intensive research on the role of representation of the genocide that took place in Srebrenica in the summer of 1995. The core of the research consists of a collection of VHS tapes that I discovered in 2014 in a closed archive of the Dutch Ministry of Defense. The tapes document military exercises of Dutch UN battalions prior to their deployment to UN designated Safe Area’s Srebrenica, Bihać and the Sapna finger, located in Eastern Bosnia in 1994/1995. After four years of negotiation, and on the basis of the Freedom of Information Act, the tapes were finally released to me in the fall of 2018.

The development of the material will translate into a series of episodic video works in which I want to focus on how the perception of race has instilled a profound impression on the culture of a Dutch Western military regime and how that cultural archive has influenced the behaviour of its soldiers. Central to this is the question of how thinking the “Self” in relation to the “Other” has influenced the behaviour and interpretation of their role as Dutch UN peacekeepers. And how to insert the found and archival material into public discourse in such a way as to shift the common perception of the events that took place in Srebrenica?

Text: Anna Dasović

Anna DASOVIĆ’s artistic practice focuses on the rhetorical structures that make genocidal violence visible and those deployed to obscure politically inconvenient aspects of such conflicts. She asks: What ideological narratives do representations of violence participate in on a structural level? What forms of trauma are such documents unable to cope with, either in the legislative arena or when constitutive of the archive, in both sense of a physical place and as metaphor of collective humiliation and remorse? Though Dasović studied photography, and although her installations and videos retain an element of formal precision, she now works in a broadly interdisciplinary manner. Her methodology involves archival research, fieldwork, interviews, and bibliographic research.

Dasović was a resident at the Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten in Amsterdam in 2017-2018. She is a member of Collection Collective, Template for a Future Model of Representation, a group that  explores the present-day crisis of collection-based institutions of contemporary art and identifies potential in a model of (art) collection that is simultaneously assembled, owned and run by artists and other cultural producers. Her work has been exhibited in Bergen Assembly, Württembergischer Kunstverein Stuttgart, Stedelijk Museum Bureau Amsterdam, Museum for Modern and Contemporary Art (MAMA) Algiers, the Van Abbemuseum in Eindhoven, the Museum of Yugoslav History in Belgrade and the Dutch Photomuseum in Rotterdam. She has previously been artist in residence at MAMA Algiers, Celeia Centre for Contemporary Art Celje Slovenia, Casa Tres Patios in Medellín and Residencia en La Tierra in Montenegro Colombia amongst others.

www.annadasovic.com

Anna Dasović

Anna Dasović, "Before the Fall there was no Fall. Thinking and acting between preenactment and reenactment", Filmstill.

Before the Fall there was no Fall

Thinking and acting between preenactment and reenactment

Before the Fall there was no Fall ist ein forschungsbasiertes Projekt, das ich im Laufe des Jahres 2020 zu einer Reihe von (Video-)Arbeiten, öffentlichen Begegnungen und einem Buch in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Produzent_innen und Theoretiker_innen entwickeln werde. Diese Ergebnisse werden das letzte Kapitel einer Reihe von Arbeiten bilden, die ich in den letzten Jahren gemacht habe.

Im Mittelpunkt des Projekts steht die Art und Weise, in der die internationale Gemeinschaft verschiedene Darstellungen des (ethnisch) „Anderen“ zur Zeit der Jugoslawienkriege in den 1990er Jahren hergestellt hat. Die westliche Politik selbst produzierte das Bild eines „zivilisierten“ Europas, indem sie ihr ein Gegenüber, den „barbarischen Balkan“, als das radikal „Andere“ (re)produzierte. In diesem Zusammenhang haben die Vereinten Nationen eine ihrer bislang umstrittensten Resolutionen unterzeichnet, mit der sie offiziell einen „UN-Sicherheitsraum“ um Srebrenica einrichteten.

In den letzten Jahren habe ich intensiv die Rolle der Repräsentation des Völkermords erforscht, der im Sommer 1995 in Srebrenica stattfand. Im Mittelpunkt des Interesses steht eine Sammlung von VHS-Kassetten, die ich 2014 in einem geschlossenen Archiv des niederländischen Verteidigungsministeriums entdeckt habe. Die Videos dokumentieren militärische Übungen niederländischer UN-Bataillone vor ihrem Einsatz in der von den Vereinten Nationen als Sicherheitsbereich Srebrenica eingerichteten Zone von 1994/1995. Nach vierjährigen Verhandlungen und auf der Grundlage des niederländischen Informationsfreiheitsgesetzes wurden mir die Bänder im Herbst 2018 schließlich freigegeben.

Die Verarbeitung dieses Materials wird in einer Reihe von episodischen Videoarbeiten resultieren, in denen ich mich auf die Frage konzentrieren werde, auf welche Weise, die in diesen Aufnahmen artikulierte Auffassung von Rasse einen erheblichen Einfluss auf die Kultur eines westlichen Militärregimes und seines Nationalstaates (am Beispiel der Niederlande) ausüben konnte. Ebenso im Mittelpunkt steht die Frage, wie Vorstellungen von „Selbst“ im Verhältnis zum „Anderen“ das Verhalten der Niederländer und ihre Rolle als Blauhelme beeinflussen. Inwieweit wirken sich diese Begriffe auf den Diskurs um das niederländische Militär aus? Und wie kann das gefundene und archivierte Material in den öffentlichen Diskurs eingebracht werden, um die geläufige Wahrnehmung der Ereignisse in Srebrenica verändern zu können?

Text: Anna Dasović

Anna DASOVIĆs künstlerische Praxis konzentriert sich auf rhetorische Strukturen, die völkermörderische Gewalt sichtbar machen, die aber auch eingesetzt werden, um politisch unangenehme Aspekte solcher Konflikte zu verdecken. Sie fragt: An welchen ideologischen Narrativen nehmen Gewaltdarstellungen auf struktureller Ebene teil? Welche Formen von Trauma können solche Dokumente, die entweder im legislativen Bereich angesiedelt oder für das Archiv (hier im doppleten Sinn eines physischen Ortes aber auch als Metapher für kollektive Erniedrigung und Reue) konstitutiv sind, nicht bewältigen? Dasović hat Fotografie studiert, ihre Installationen und Videos weisen eine dementsprechende formale Präzision auf – heute arbeitet sie jedoch weitgehend interdisziplinär. Ihre Methodik schließt dabei Archiv- und Feldforschung, Interviews sowie bibliographische Recherche ein.

2017-2018 war Dasović Resident Artist an der Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten in Amsterdam. Sie ist Mitglied der Collection Collective, Template for a Future Model of Representation, einer Gruppe, die die gegenwärtige Krise der sammlungsbasierten Institutionen der zeitgenössischen Kunst untersucht und Potenziale in einem Modell der (Kunst-)Sammlung identifiziert, das gleichzeitig von Künstler_innen und anderen Kulturschaffenden zusammengestellt, besessen und betrieben wird. Ihre Arbeiten wurden an international bedeutenden Institutionen gezeigt, darunter in der Bergen Assembly, im Württembergischen Kunstverein Stuttgart, im Stedelijk Museum Bureau Amsterdam (SMBA), im Museum für moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst (MAMA) Algier, im Van Abbemuseum in Eindhoven, im Museum für jugoslawische Geschichte in Belgrad und im Niederländischen Photomuseum in Rotterdam. Zuvor war sie unter anderem Artist in Residence bei MAMA Algiers, Celeia Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst Celje Slowenien, Casa Tres Patios in Medellín und Residencia en La Tierra in Montenegro Kolumbien.

www.annadasovic.com