Life Expectancies: The Body between Exposure and Development

Films by Sandra LAHIRE and Discussion between Elsa RICHARDSON and Kerstin SCHROEDINGER

Plutonium Blonde, Sandra Lahire, UK 1986; courtesy: CINENOVA - feminist film and video distribution.

In the context of the exhibition Looking at the Present through Rear-View Mirrors, artist and Büchsenhausen-Fellow Kerstin Schroedinger will be showing two films – Arrows (UK, 1984) and Plutonium Blonde (UK, 1986) – by British filmmaker Sandra Lahire (1950-2001). This will be followed by a conversation between Elsa Richardson and Kerstin Schroedinger about the production of emotions and the relation between capitalism and feelings, as considered through moments in history that have challenged the relations between the economy, the body, the image and the mind. Kerstin Schroedinger will expand on this with regard to her performance piece The Alleged Body, which is part of the current exhibition at the Kunstpavillon. The Alleged Body looks at the shift from Fordist to immaterial labour during the 1980s. They will talk about the relation between women’s bodies and (mental) health, within the framework of the capitalist production of emotionality relating to British filmmaker Sandra Lahire’s work.

 

The event will be held with kind support from CINENOVA – Feminist Film and Video Distribution.

 

Kerstin Schroedinger is an artist working in video, sound and performance. Her historiographic practice questions the means of image production, historical continuities and ideological certainties of representation. Her works and curatorial practice are often collaborative. Recent works include The Alleged Body (performance), shown at Images Festival Toronto, and Les Complices* Zurich in 2017, Fugue (Film, 2015), as well as Rainbow’s Gravity (Video, 2014, GFTA-funded 2013) and Red, she said (Video, 2011) both with Mareike Bernien. Her work has been shown at the Whitney Museum of American Art, Anthology Film Archives New York, Forum Expanded of Berlinale, Short ٍFilm Festival Oberhausen, International Film Festival Toronto, Gasworks London, Arnolfini Bristol, Whitechapel Gallery London, and exhibited at MIT List Visual Arts Center Boston (2016), Photo Cairo #6 (2017), FMAC Mediathèque Geneva (2016), The School of Kyiv – 2nd Kiev Biennale 2015, Helmhaus Zurich (2015), Kunstpavillion Innsbruck (2017), amongst others.

Sandra Lahire (1950-2001) was a British filmmaker who worked around body-image and the social, material, and economic impacts of (capitalism) on the (female) body and self. The screening shows two of her works, each from a larger work cycle. Arrows (1984) is based on a poem by Sylvia Plath and reflects the continuous negotiation between one’s body, the larger political context and the way that society/the camera frames such a body. Plutonium Blonde (1986) explores the toxic effects of Uranium mining.

Elsa Richardson is a lecturer in the history of medicine at the University of Strathclyde Glasgow, affiliated with the Centre for the History of Health and Healthcare. Amongst other things her research considers the relation of heterodox practices, beliefs and movements to mainstream society and culture, focusing in particular on the interaction between medicine and the imagination, psychology and the occult, emotions and science. Her forthcoming monograph examines the place of extraordinary visionary experience in the Victorian scientific and popular imaginary, and her new research project looks at the history of vegetarianism and narratives of wellbeing in the early twentieth century.

Location
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Wed-Fri 11.00 – 18.00
Sat 11.00 – 15.00

Life Expectancies: The Body between Exposure and Development

Filme von Sandra LAHIRE und Diskussion zwischen Elsa RICHARDSON und Kerstin SCHROEDINGER

Plutonium Blonde, Sandra Lahire, UK 1986; courtesy: CINENOVA - feminist film and video distribution.

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung Die Gegenwart in Rückspiegeln betrachten zeigt die Künstlerin und Büchsenhausen-Fellow Kerstin Schroedinger Arrows (UK, 1984) und Plutonium Blonde (UK, 1986), zwei Filme der britischen Filmemacherin Sandra Lahire (1950–2001). Anschließend diskutiert sie mit der Medizin- und Kulturhistorikerin Elsa Richardson anhand bestimmter Momente in der Geschichte, in denen das Verhältnis von Ökonomie, Körper, Bild und Geist sich veränderte, über die Produktion von Emotionen sowie über Verbindungen zwischen Kapitalismus und Emotionalität. Schroedinger befragt diese Verbindungen in ihrem Performance-Stück Der angebliche Körper, das am 20. Mai im Rahmen der Ausstellung aufgeführt wurde. Darin befasst sie sich (unter anderem) mit der Umwandlung fordistischer in immaterielle Arbeit in den 1980er Jahren. In Bezug zu den beiden filmischen Arbeiten von Sandra Lahire werden Schroedinger und Richardson über Frauenkörper und (geistige) Gesundheit sprechen sowie über die Art und Weise, wie sich diese in sozialhistorischer Hinsicht im Rahmen der kapitalistischen Produktion von Emotionalität bedingen.

 

Die Veranstaltung findet mit freundlicher Unterstützung von CINENOVA – Feminist Film and Video Distribution statt.

 

Kerstin Schroedinger arbeitet in den Bereichen Video, Sound und Performance. Ihre historiographische Praxis befragt die Mittel der Bildproduktion, historische Kontinuitäten und ideologische Darstellungen der Repräsentation. Ihre Arbeiten und kuratorische Praxis sind meist kollaborativ. Zu ihren jüngsten Arbeiten gehören Der angebliche Körper (Performance), aufgeführt beim Images Festival Toronto und bei Les Complices * Zürich 2017, Fugue (Film, 2015) sowie Rainbow’s Gravity (Video, 2014) und Red, She Said (Video, 2011) beide in Zusammenarbeit mit Mareike Bernien. Ihre Arbeit wurde unter anderem im Whitney Museum of American Art, Anthology Film Archives New York, Forum Expanded der Berlinale, Kurzfilmfestival Oberhausen, Internationales Filmfestival Toronto, Gasworks London, Arnolfini Bristol, Whitechapel Gallery London gezeigt, Ausstellungen unter anderem im MIT List Visual Arts Center Boston (2016), PhotoCairo #6 (2017), FMAC Mediathèque Genf (2016), Die Schule von Kiew – 2. Kiew Biennale 2015, Helmhaus Zürich (2015), Kunstpavillion Innsbruck (2017).

Sandra Lahire (1950-2001) war eine britische Filmemacherin, die zu Körperbildern und den sozialen, materiellen und wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen des (Kapitalismus) auf den (weiblichen) Körper arbeitete. Das Screening zeigt zwei ihrer Werke, die jeweils aus einem größeren Arbeitszyklus stammen. Arrows (1984) basiert auf einem Gedicht von Sylvia Plath und reflektiert die kontinuierliche Verhandlung zwischen dem eigenen Körper, dem größeren politischen Kontext und wie die Gesellschaft / die Kamera einen solchen Körper umrahmt. Plutonium Blonde (1986) untersucht die toxischen Effekte des Uranbergbaus.

Elsa Richardson ist Dozentin für die Geschichte der Medizin am Zentrum für die Geschichte von Gesundheit und Gesundheitspflege der Universität Strathclyde Glasgow. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte umfassen unter anderem das Verhältnis zwischen Wissenschaft und dem Übersinnlichen, die Geschichte der Psychiatrie / Psychologie, Vegetarismus, utopische Sozialbewegungen, Stress und der Magen, Arbeit und Ernährung, die zweite Feminismus-Welle und Psychoanalyse.

Veranstaltungsort
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Mi-Fr 11.00 – 18.00
Sa 11.00 – 15.00