Start Up Lectures 2018-19

The new 2018-19 Fellows' Presentations: Angela ANDERSON · Michael BAERS · Aikaterini GEGISIAN · Riccardo GIACCONI

Start Up Lectures 2018-19; poster designed by Annette Sonnewend.

The so-called Start Up Lectures of the Fellowship Program for Art and Theory 2018-19 will take place in Büchsenhausen at 7 pm on Friday, 12 October, 2018.

In this context the new fellows – Angela ANDERSON, Michael BAERS, Aikaterini GEGISIAN, Riccardo GIACCONI – will introduce themselves and their work, and provide some insight into their respective proposals for the coming months.

• Angela ANDERSON
Three (or more) Ecologies: A Feminist Articulation of Eco-Intersectionality
• Michael BAERS
The Past is an Arrow into the Future
• Aikaterini GEGISIAN
Third Person (Plural)
• Riccardo GIACCONI
Vizio di forma (Form Error)

Angela ANDERSON is an artist and filmmaker working at the intersection of philosophy, ecology, economics, migration, media, and feminist & queer theory. Central to her work is an awareness of the intimate connection between media production, memory and apprehension, and the potential of audio-visual media to open up new lines of flight. She holds a BA in Economics and Latin American Studies from the University of Minnesota, an MA in Film and Media Studies from the New School (NYC) and is pursuing her PhD at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Originally from the northwoods of Wisconsin, USA, she lives and works in Berlin. Since 2013 Anderson has been collaborating with Angela Melitopoulos on the audio-visual research projects Unearthing Disaster, The Refrain (2015) and Crossings (2017), which was shown at documenta 14. In 2016 she produced her short film The Sea Between You and Me (2016) for the show Voice Outside the Echo Chamber curated by Katayoun Arian at Framer Framed (Amsterdam). Other recent exhibitions include Minnesota Street Project (San Francisco – 2017), Holbaek Images (2016) and the Thessaloniki Biennale (2015). Anderson is also the exhibition designer for Forum Expanded at the Berlin International Film Festival and has worked with many other artists and filmmakers on the realization of performative, filmic, and installation projects.
angelaolgaanderson.wordpress.com

Michael BAERS received his PhD from the Akademie der Bildenden Künste in 2014 from its dedicated artistic research department. He has exhibited his artistic work internationally in many prominent art institutions including the Museum für Angewandte Kunst Frankfurt am Main, the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, and the Van Abbemuseum. Since 2010 his work has focused on the cultural outcomes of conflict irresolution in the Middle East and North Africa. Since 2013 he has conducted research on a unique photographic project that emerged from the war between the people of Western Sahara and Morocco, Necessità dei Volti. This has involved lateral research into media theory and visual studies, as well as the history of western North African. Previously Baers has researched cultural politics in Israel and Palestine, in 2014 publishing online with the Haus der Kulturen der Welt a lengthy graphic work about the 2011 Picasso in Palestine project, An Oral History of Picasso in Palestine. He has also published comics and texts on contemporary art and artistic research, cultural politics, and urbanism, contributing to a variety of publication projects and internationally recognized journals, such as A-Prior, the e-flux journal, and Vector – critical research in context.

Aikaterini GEGISIAN is an artist of Greek-Armenian heritage that lives and works in the UK and Greece. Building on her contribution to the Armenian Pavilion, 56th Venice Biennale (2015 Golden Lion for best national participation), she has over the past two years developed a series of new commissions exploring the role of images in the construction of national and gendered identities, amongst others: Jewish Museum, Moscow; National Arts Museum of China, Beijing; Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art; BALTIC, Newcastle; Calvert 22 Foundation, London; Kunsthalle Osnabruck; DEPO, Istanbul; Yermilov Centre, Ukraine. During 2018 she was a Research Fellow at the Library of Congress, Washington DC.
gegisian.com

Riccardo GIACCONI studied fine arts at the University IUAV of Venice. His work has been exhibited in various institutions, such as ar/ge kunst (Bolzano), MAC (Belfast), WUK Kunsthalle Exnergasse (Vienna), FRAC Champagne-Ardenne (Reims), tranzitdisplay (Prague), MAXXI (Rome), Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo (Turin) and at the 6th Moscow International Biennale for Young Art. He was artist-in-residence at the Centre international d’art et du paysage (Vassivière, France), lugar a dudas (Cali, Colombia), MACRO Museum of Contemporary Art of Rome and La Box (Bourges). He has presented his films at several festivals, including the New York Film Festival, Venice International Film Festival, International Film Festival Rotterdam, Visions du Réel and FID Marseille, where he won the Grand Prix of the international competition in 2015. In 2007 he co-founded the collective Blauer Hase, with which he curates the periodical publication Paesaggio and the Helicotrema festival.
riccardogiacconi.com

Location
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at

Start Up Lectures 2018-19

Präsentationen der Fellows 2018-19: Angela ANDERSON · Michael BAERS · Aikaterini GEGISIAN · Riccardo GIACCONI

Start Up Lectures 2018-19; Plakat-Gestaltung: Annette Sonnewend.

Am Freitag, 12. Oktober 2018, um 19.00 finden in Büchsenhausen die sogenannten Start Up Lectures des Fellowship-Programms für Kunst und Theorie 2018-19 statt.

In diesem Rahmen werden die neuen Fellows – Angela ANDERSON, Michael BAERS, Aikaterini GEGISIAN, Riccardo GIACCONI – sich und ihre Arbeit vorstellen und einen Ausblick auf das jeweilige Arbeitsvorhaben in den kommenden Monaten gewähren.

• Angela ANDERSON
Three (or more) Ecologies: A Feminist Articulation of Eco-Intersectionality
• Michael BAERS
The Past is an Arrow into the Future
• Aikaterini GEGISIAN
Third Person (Plural)
• Riccardo GIACCONI
Vizio di forma (Formfehler)

Angela ANDERSON ist eine Künstlerin und Filmemacherin, die an der Schnittstelle zwischen den Feldern Philosophie, Ökologie, Wirtschaft, Migration, Medien und feministische & queere Theorie arbeitet. Ihrer Arbeit inhärent sind ein Bewusstsein über das Vorhanden-Sein einer intimen Verbindung zwischen medialer Produktion, Erinnerung und Vorahnung sowie das Potenzial audio-visueller Medien zur Eröffnung neuer Perspektiven. Ihr Studium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Lateinamerikanistik schloss sie mit einem BA der University of Minnesota ab, worauf wenig später ein MA in Film and Media Studies an der New School (NYC) folgte. Gegenwärtig schreibt Anderson an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien an ihrer Doktorarbeit. Seit 2013 arbeitet sie mit Angela Melitopoulos an den audio-visuellen Forschungsprojekten Unearthing Disaster, The Refrain (2015) und Crossings (2017), das bei der documenta 14 gezeigt wurde. 2016 produzierte sie ihren Kurzfilm The Sea Between You and Me für die Ausstellung Voice Outside the Echo Chamber kuratiert von Katayoun Arian im Framer Framed (Amsterdam). Neuere Ausstellungsbeteiligungen inkludieren das Minnesota Street Project (San Francisco, 2017), Holbaek Images (2016) und die Thessaloniki Biennale (2015). Sie ist außerdem als Ausstellungsdesignerin des Forum Expanded bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen in Berlin tätig und hat mit vielen anderen Künstler_innen und Filmemacher_innen an der Realisierung performativer, filmischer und installativer Projekte gearbeitet.
angelaolgaanderson.wordpress.com

Michael BAERS erhielt 2014 seinen PhD in Practice von der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Wien. Er hat seine Arbeit international in vielen bedeutenden Kunstinstitutionen ausgestellt, unter anderem im Museum für Angewandte Kunst Frankfurt am Main, dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin, und dem Van Abbemuseum in Amsterdam. Seit 2010 war seine Arbeit auf die kulturellen Ergebnisse der fehlenden Konfliktlösung im Nahen Osten und in Nordafrika fokussiert. Seit 2013 hat er im Rahmen eines einzigartigen fotografischen Projekts mit dem Titel Necessità dei Volti geforscht, das aus dem Krieg zwischen den Völkern der Westsahara und Marokkos hervorgegangen ist. Dazu gehörten auch Recherchen auf dem Feld der Medientheorie und der Visual Studies in Verbindung mit der Geschichte des westlichen Nordafrika. Zuvor erforschte Baers Kulturpolitiken in Israel und Palästina, woraus 2014 in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin die Online-Publikation An Oral History of Picasso in Palestine entstand. Außerdem gestaltete er Comics und Texte über zeitgenössische Kunst und künstlerische Forschung, Kulturpolitik und Urbanismus und veröffentlichte Beiträge in internationalen Magazinen wie A-Prior, e-flux journal und Vector – critical research in context.

Aikaterini GEGISIAN ist griechisch-armenischer Herkunft; sie lebt und arbeitet zwischen Großbritannien und Griechenland. Aufbauend auf ihrem Beitrag im armenischen Pavillon bei der 56. Biennale von Venedig (2015, Goldener Löwe für die beste nationale Teilnahme), hat sie in den letzten beiden Jahren eine Reihe von Auftragsarbeiten entwickelt, die die Rolle von Bildern bei der Konstruktion nationaler und genderspezifischer Identitäten erkunden. Sie wurden unter anderem im Jüdischen Museum, Moskau; dem National Arts Museum of China, Peking; dem Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art,UK; im BALTIC, Newcastle; in der Calvert 22 Foundation, London; in der Kunsthalle Osnabrück; im DEPO, Istanbul; und dem Yermilov Centre, Ukraine gezeigt. 2018 war sie Research Fellow in der Library of Congress, Washington DC.
gegisian.com

Riccardo GIACCONI studierte Kunst an der Universität von Venedig. Seine Arbeit wurde unter anderem in ar/ge kunst Bozen, MAC Belfast, WUK Kunsthalle Exnergasse in Wien, FRAC Champagne-Ardenne in Reims, tranzitdisplay Prag, MAXXI in Rom, Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo (Turin) und an der 6. Moscow International Biennale for Young Art gezeigt. Er war artist-in-residence am Centre international d’art et du paysage in Vassivière (F), lugar a dudas in Cali (COL), am MACRO Museum of Contemporary Art in Rom (IT) und in La Box, Bourges (F). Seine Filme wurden unter anderem beim New York Film Festival, dem Venice International Film Festival, dem International Film Festival Rotterdam sowie bei Visions du Réel und FID Marseille, wo er im internationalen Wettbewerb den Großen Preis gewann (2015), präsentiert. Er ist Mitbegründer des Kollektivs Blauer Hase, mit dem er die Zeitschrift Paesaggio herausgibt und das Helicotrema Festival kuratiert.

Veranstaltungsort
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at