Three (or more) Ecologies: Reports on ecology, democracy & feminist futures from Rojava & Bakur

Rojda TUGRUL, Dilar DIRIK, Angela ANDERSON

Angela Anderson, 2018.

Dams in Somewhere
Lecture Performance by Rojda TUGRUL (artist)

In 2008, the Turkish government announced the initiation of dozens of ‘Security Dam’ projects. These dams are to be built along the Turkish – Iraqi border, as well as in a few valleys in the central region of Turkish Kurdistan. These projects represent the most extensive intervention into the rural areas of Kurdistan since the 90’s, when 3000 Kurdish villages were forcibly evacuated and three million people displaced as part of a government counterinsurgency campaign intended to deprive the PKK of logistical support. The construction of these dams would in effect hinder and restrict PKK militants’ movements, blocking their mountain paths and disrupting logistical support from locals.

In her lecture performance, Rojda Tugrul will depict the destruction of habitats and ecosystems in the Kurdish regions of Turkey, Iraq and Syria through these dam projects, with a particular focus on endangered and extinct species.

Women’s Autonomy against Fascism: Experiences from Rojava
Talk by Dilar DIRIK (activist, sociologist)

Dilar Dirik, sociologist and activist of the Kurdish women’s movement, talks about social developments in the Democratic Federation of Northern Syria, better known under the Kurdish name Rojava. The focus is on women’s struggle for the solution of local ecological challenges as well as the establishment of alternative, radical democratic structures. Dirik places the previous experiences in a broader historical and social context in order to depict the precarious situation in which the social revolution is currently taking place.

Finally, a discussion with Angela ANDERSON (artist, Büchsenhausen-Fellow) will round off the evening.

The event is supported by the Austrian Development Agency and takes place in cooperation with Südwind Tyrol and in the context of the artistic investigation Three (or more) Ecologies: A Feminist Articulation of Eco-Intersectionality by Angela ANDERSON.

Both programmes and the concluding discussion will be held in English.

Angela ANDERSON is an artist and filmmaker working at the intersection of philosophy, ecology, economics, migration, media, and feminist & queer theory. Central to her work is an awareness of the intimate connection between media production, memory and apprehension, and the potential of audio-visual media to open up new lines of flight. She holds a BA in Economics and Latin American Studies from the University of Minnesota, an MA in Film and Media Studies from the New School (NYC) and is pursuing her PhD at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Originally from the northwoods of Wisconsin, USA, she lives and works in Berlin. Since 2013 Anderson has been collaborating with Angela Melitopoulos on the audio-visual research projects Unearthing Disaster, The Refrain (2015) and Crossings (2017), which was shown at documenta 14. In 2016 she produced her short film The Sea Between You and Me (2016) for the show Voice Outside the Echo Chamber curated by Katayoun Arian at Framer Framed (Amsterdam). Other recent exhibitions include Minnesota Street Project (San Francisco – 2017), Holbaek Images (2016) and the Thessaloniki Biennale (2015). Anderson is also the exhibition designer for Forum Expanded at the Berlin International Film Festival and has worked with many other artists and filmmakers on the realization of performative, filmic, and installation projects.
angelaolgaanderson.wordpress.com

Rojda TUGRUL is an interdisciplinary artist from Diyarbakir, primarily working on research-based theories concerning identity in relation to space. Her projects generally examine this binary relationship through photography and audiovisual installations. Following an MSc in Veterinary Science she graduated from Mardin Artuklu University in 2016 with an MA in fine arts. Currently she is undertaking a PhD in artistic practice and teaching position at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna.

Dilar DIRIK is an activist of the Kurdish Women’s Movement. She recently completed her PhD in Sociology at the University of Cambridge. Her research focuses on women’s liberation struggles in Kurdistan.

Location
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at

Three (or more) Ecologies: Reports on ecology, democracy & feminist futures from Rojava & Bakur

Rojda TUGRUL, Dilar DIRIK, Angela ANDERSON

Angela Anderson, 2018.

Dams in Somewhere
Lecture Performance von Rojda TUGRUL (Künstlerin)

Im Jahr 2008 kündigte die türkische Regierung die Einleitung von Dutzenden von „Sicherheitsdamm“-Projekten an. Diese Dämme sollen entlang der türkisch-irakischen Grenze sowie in einigen Tälern in der zentralen Region des türkischen Kurdistans gebaut werden. Diese Projekte stellen die umfangreichsten Eingriffe in den ländlichen Gebieten Kurdistans seit den 1990er Jahren dar, als im Zuge einer staatlichen Aufstandsbekämpfungskampagne, die der PKK logistische Unterstützung entziehen sollte, 3.000 kurdische Dörfer gewaltsam evakuiert und drei Millionen Menschen vertrieben wurden. Der Bau dieser Dämme würden die Mobilität der PKK-Kämpfer erschweren und einschränken, ihre Bergpfade blockieren und die logistische Unterstützung der Einheimischen verunmöglichen.

In ihrer Lecture Performance wird Rojda Tugrul die Zerstörung von Lebensräumen und Ökosystemen in den kurdischen Regionen der Türkei, des Irak und Syriens durch diese Staudammprojekte thematisieren. Besonders im Fokus werden der Einfluß der Projekte auf das vorhandene Naturhabitat sowie die darin gefährdeten oder bereits ausgestorbenen Arten stehen.

Women’s Autonomy against Fascism: Experiences from Rojava
Vortrag von Dilar DIRIK (Soziologin und Aktivistin)

Die Soziologin und Aktivistin der Kurdischen Frauenbewegung Dilar Dirik spricht über die gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen in der Demokratischen Föderation Nordsyrien, besser bekannt unter dem kurdischen Namen Rojava. Im Mittelpunkt steht der Kampf der Frauen um die Lösung lokaler ökologischer Herausforderungen sowie die Etablierung alternativer, radikal-demokratischer Strukturen. Dirik stellt die bisherigen Erfahrungen in einen erweiterten historischen und sozialen Kontext, um die prekäre Lage darzustellen, in der die dort stattfindende gesellschaftliche Revolution gegenwärtig vonstatten geht.

Abschließend wird eine Diskussion mit Angela ANDERSON (Künstlerin, Büchsenhausen-Fellow) den Abend abrunden.

Die Veranstatlung findet im Kontext der künstlerischen Investigation Three (or more) Ecologies: A Feminist Articulation of Eco-Intersectionality von Angela ANDERSON und in Zusammenarbeit mit Südwind Tirol statt und wird durch die österreichische Entwicklungszusammenarbeit gefördert.

Die Lecture Performance, der Vortrag und die abschließende Diskussion werden in englischer Sprache abgehalten.

Angela ANDERSON ist eine Künstlerin und Filmemacherin, die an der Schnittstelle zwischen den Feldern Philosophie, Ökologie, Wirtschaft, Migration, Medien und feministische & queere Theorie arbeitet. Ihrer Arbeit inhärent sind ein Bewusstsein über das Vorhanden-Sein einer intimen Verbindung zwischen medialer Produktion, Erinnerung und Vorahnung sowie das Potenzial audio-visueller Medien zur Eröffnung neuer Perspektiven. Ihr Studium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Lateinamerikanistik schloss sie mit einem BA der University of Minnesota ab, worauf wenig später ein MA in Film and Media Studies an der New School (NYC) folgte. Gegenwärtig schreibt Anderson an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien an ihrer Doktorarbeit. Seit 2013 arbeitet sie mit Angela Melitopoulos an den audio-visuellen Forschungsprojekten Unearthing Disaster, The Refrain (2015) und Crossings (2017), das bei der documenta 14 gezeigt wurde. 2016 produzierte sie ihren Kurzfilm The Sea Between You and Me für die Ausstellung Voice Outside the Echo Chamber kuratiert von Katayoun Arian im Framer Framed (Amsterdam). Neuere Ausstellungsbeteiligungen inkludieren das Minnesota Street Project (San Francisco, 2017), Holbaek Images (2016) und die Thessaloniki Biennale (2015). Sie ist außerdem als Ausstellungsdesignerin des Forum Expanded bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen in Berlin tätig und hat mit vielen anderen Künstler_innen und Filmemacher_innen an der Realisierung performativer, filmischer und installativer Projekte gearbeitet.
angelaolgaanderson.wordpress.com

Rojda TUGRUL ist eine interdisziplinär arbeitende Künstlerin aus Diyarbakir, die sich vor allem mit forschungsbasierten Theorien über Identität im Verhältnis zum Raum beschäftigt. Ihre Projekte untersuchen diese binäre Beziehung meist im Medium Fotografie sowie in audiovisuellen Installationen. Nach einem sMaster-Abschluss in Veterinärwissenschaften schloss Tugrul 2016 ein Kunst-Studium an der Mardin Artuklu University mit einem MA ab. Derzeit nimmt sie am PhD-in-Practice-Programm der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Wien, wo sie auch als Lektorin tätig ist.

Dilar DIRIK ist eine Aktivistin der Kurdischen Frauenbewegung. Kürzlich hat sie am Institut für Soziologie der University of Cambridge (UK) zu den Befreiungskämpfen der Frauen in Kurdistan promoviert.

Veranstaltungsort
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at