Ecology of Images

Anne SAUVAGNARGUES

Deep Space Climate Observatory Satellite, NASA.

 

PLEASE NOTE:

Unfortunately the lecture by philosopher Anne SAUVAGNARGUES on the ecology of images, planned for Tue 15 January 2019, had to be cancelled at short notice due to illness. A new date will be announced as soon as possible.

___________

 

At Angela Anderson’s invitation, Anne Sauvagnargue will explore the notion of an „ecology of images“ as a processual development of desiring-machines and assemblages.

Gilles Deleuze and Félix Guattari, both singly and together, define any sign as an individuating encounter—what Gilbert Simondon calls a ‘signal’—that gains consistency as a vital perspective within a regime of signs or ecological semiotics. Such semiotics are always plural, characterized by interactions between material, biological and social codings, between functional qualities and associated milieus. Therefore, desiring-machines are collective and not individual, ecological and not imaginary milieus, ecological existential territories. These milieus become defined and diversified through expressive qualities as collective assemblages of habitation. Following Deleuze and Guattari, this spinozistic conception of signs is both dietetic and political, leading to what Sauvagnargues calls a „becomology“ of regimes of signs, connecting linguistic, discursive signifiers to asignifying material, including vital, technical, and social codings.

Anne Sauvagnargue’s lecture takes place in the context of the artistic investigation Three (or more) Ecologies: A Feminist Articulation of Eco-Intersectionality by Angela ANDERSON.

Angela ANDERSON is an artist and filmmaker working at the intersection of philosophy, ecology, economics, migration, media, and feminist & queer theory. Central to her work is an awareness of the intimate connection between media production, memory and apprehension, and the potential of audio-visual media to open up new lines of flight. She holds a BA in Economics and Latin American Studies from the University of Minnesota, an MA in Film and Media Studies from the New School (NYC) and is pursuing her PhD at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Originally from the northwoods of Wisconsin, USA, she lives and works in Berlin. Since 2013 Anderson has been collaborating with Angela Melitopoulos on the audio-visual research projects Unearthing Disaster, The Refrain (2015) and Crossings (2017), which was shown at documenta 14. In 2016 she produced her short film The Sea Between You and Me (2016) for the show Voice Outside the Echo Chamber curated by Katayoun Arian at Framer Framed (Amsterdam). Other recent exhibitions include Minnesota Street Project (San Francisco – 2017), Holbaek Images (2016) and the Thessaloniki Biennale (2015). Anderson is also the exhibition designer for Forum Expanded at the Berlin International Film Festival and has worked with many other artists and filmmakers on the realization of performative, filmic, and installation projects.
angelaolgaanderson.wordpress.com

Anne SAUVAGNARGUES is Professor of Philosophy in the Department of Philosophy at the University of Paris Ouest Nanterre La Défense. A specialist in aesthetics and the philosophy of Gilles Deleuze, she co-directs the collection ‘Lignes d’art’ with Fabienne Brugère for Presses Universitaires de France. She is the author of numerous works, including Deleuze and Art (Bloomsbury 2013), Artmachines: Deleuze, Guattari, Simondon (Edinburgh University Press 2016), and Deleuze. L’empirisme transcendental (Presses universitaires de France 2008, forthcoming with Edinburgh University Press).

Location
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at

Ecology of Images

Anne SAUVAGNARGUES

Deep Space Climate Observatory Satellite, NASA.

 

ACHTUNG:

Der für Dienstag 15. Jänner 2019 geplante Vortrag der Philosophin Anne SAUVAGNARGUES über die Ökologie der Bilder findet aus Krankheitsgründen nicht statt. Ein neuer Termin wird so bald als möglich bekannt gegeben.

___________

 

Auf Einladung von Angela Anderson wird Anne Sauvagnargues ihre Vorstellung einer „Ökologie der Bilder“ als prozessuale Entwicklung von Wunschmaschinen und Assemblagen erläutern.

Gilles Deleuze und Félix Guattari, sowohl einzeln als auch gemeinsam, definieren jedes Zeichen als eine individuierende Begegnung (als das, was Gilbert Simondon ein „Signal“ nennt), die Konsistenz als vitale Perspektive gewinnt, und zwar innerhalb eines Zeichenregimes oder einer ökologischen Semiotik . Eine solche Semiotik ist immer plural, sie wird durch Interaktionen zwischen materiellen, biologischen und sozialen Kodierungen, zwischen funktionalen Qualitäten und assoziierten Milieus charakterisiert. Aus diesem Grund sind Wunschmaschinen kollektiv und nicht individuell, ökologische und nicht imaginäre Milieus, ökologisch existenzielle Territorien. Diese Milieus werden durch expressive Qualitäten als kollektive Habitationsassemblagen definiert und diversifiziert. Nach Deleuze und Guattari ist dieses spinozistische Zeichenkonzept sowohl diätetisch wie auch politisch und führt zu der von Sauvagnargues so genannten „Becomology“ der Zeichenregimes, die linguistische, diskursive Signifikanten mit asignifizierendem Material, darunter lebensnotwendigen, technischen und sozialen Kodierungen verbindet.

Der Vortrag von Anne Sauvagnargues findet im Kontext der künstlerischen Investigation Three (or more) Ecologies: A Feminist Articulation of Eco-Intersectionality von Angela ANDERSON statt.

Angela ANDERSON ist eine Künstlerin und Filmemacherin, die an der Schnittstelle zwischen den Feldern Philosophie, Ökologie, Wirtschaft, Migration, Medien und feministische & queere Theorie arbeitet. Ihrer Arbeit inhärent sind ein Bewusstsein über das Vorhanden-Sein einer intimen Verbindung zwischen medialer Produktion, Erinnerung und Vorahnung sowie das Potenzial audio-visueller Medien zur Eröffnung neuer Perspektiven. Ihr Studium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Lateinamerikanistik schloss sie mit einem BA der University of Minnesota ab, worauf wenig später ein MA in Film and Media Studies an der New School (NYC) folgte. Gegenwärtig schreibt Anderson an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien an ihrer Doktorarbeit. Seit 2013 arbeitet sie mit Angela Melitopoulos an den audio-visuellen Forschungsprojekten Unearthing Disaster, The Refrain (2015) und Crossings (2017), das bei der documenta 14 gezeigt wurde. 2016 produzierte sie ihren Kurzfilm The Sea Between You and Me für die Ausstellung Voice Outside the Echo Chamber kuratiert von Katayoun Arian im Framer Framed (Amsterdam). Neuere Ausstellungsbeteiligungen inkludieren das Minnesota Street Project (San Francisco, 2017), Holbaek Images (2016) und die Thessaloniki Biennale (2015). Sie ist außerdem als Ausstellungsdesignerin des Forum Expanded bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen in Berlin tätig und hat mit vielen anderen Künstler_innen und Filmemacher_innen an der Realisierung performativer, filmischer und installativer Projekte gearbeitet.
angelaolgaanderson.wordpress.com

Anne SAUVAGNARGUES ist Professorin am Institut für Philosophie der University of Paris Ouest Nanterre La Défense. Sie ist eine Spezialistin für Ästhetik und die Philosophie von Gilles Deleuze und leitet gemeinsam mit Fabienne Brugère die Sammlung Lignes d’art für Presses Universitaires de France. Sie ist Autorin zahlreicher Abhandlungen, darunter Deleuze and Art (Bloomsbury 2013), Artmachines: Deleuze, Guattari, Simondon (Edinburgh University Press 2016), und Deleuze. L’empirisme transcendental (Presses universitaires de France 2008, erscheint in Kürze bei der Edinburgh University Press).

Veranstaltungsort
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at