Of(f) the Ground

Marianna CHRISTOFIDES

© Marianna Christofides / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

As part of her work in the context of the Fellowship Program, artist Marianna Christofides is showing two of her essay-films related to her artistic investigations at Büchsenhausen and other associated materials.

Deer in the Park (24’40 min., 2017) combines the sense of threat emanating from earthquakes and natural catastrophes like typhoons with the emotions of exposure, uncertainty and withdrawal experienced in exile. The example used is German architect and urban planner Bruno Taut, who fled from the Nazis and emigrated to Japan. Taking its viewers on a partly visual, partly essayistic journey, the work comprises a poetic collage from diverse sources: film recordings, historic press images and slides from the artist’s collection are interwoven with archive photographs and excerpts from Bruno Taut’s diary.

Shelter Cove (13 min, 2 channel video, 2015) juxtaposes two encounters on a road trip along the seam of the North American and Pacific Plates – the San Andreas Fault in California – and touches on questions regarding man’s union with nature and the dichotomy of protection and threat, being-at-home and being-at-somebody’s/something’s mercy, with uncertainty as a latent, ever existing inner state. Images from the garden of ‘La Miniatura’, a residential house in Pasadena designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, are coupled with those of a kayak anglers’ competition in Shelter Cove in northern California – at the point where the San Andreas Fault Line leaves the mainland and all traces of it vanish in the Pacific Ocean.
Sediments of history are manifest in present-day micro-histories, which tell of places and people and their vulnerability. The network of global interdependencies means that an earthquake in California – beyond coordinates – develops immediate proximity. In face of the world’s increasing instability, the film examines the uncanny sense of angst as a fear of what is possible.

Marianna CHRISTOFIDES is an artist originally from Cyprus who lives in Berlin. In her film essays and filmic installations, she focuses on the juxtaposition of geological with socio-historical narratives, and the (mis)use of the notion of nature as a justifying argument towards contingent cultural facts. Since 2009, Christofides has exhibited extensively internationally and presented her films at numerous film festivals in Europe. Recent solo exhibitions include Parkfield Studies at the Temporary Gallery, Cologne (2017), Shelter Cove at Annaelle Gallery, Stockholm (2016), and Perennial Limbo at waterside contemporary, London. Most recent group shows have been Viaggio in Sicilia, Salinas Archaeological Museum, Palermo (2017), Dejima. Concepts of In- and Exclusion, GAK Gesellschaft für Aktuelle Kunst, Bremen (2017), Terra Mediterranea: In Action, Nicosia Municipal Arts Centre, Nicosia (2017), and Uncertain States. Artistic strategies in States of Emergency / Uncertain States. Künstlerisches Handeln in Ausnahmezuständen, Akademie der Künste Berlin (2016). In 2011, Christofides co-represented Cyprus at the 54th Biennale in Venice (together with Elizabeth Hoak-Doering).
mariannachristofides.com

Location
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at

Of(f) the Ground

Marianna CHRISTOFIDES

© Marianna Christofides / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Als Teil ihrer Arbeit im Rahmen des Fellowship-Programms zeigt die Künstlerin Marianna Christofides zwei eigene Essay-Filme, die im inhaltlichen Zusammenhang mit ihrer künstlerischen Investigation in Büchsenhausen stehen, sowie weitere damit verbundene Materialien.

Deer in the Park (24:40 Min., 2017) verbindet die Bedrohung durch Erdbeben und Naturkatastrophen, wie etwa einem Taifun, mit dem Ausgesetztsein, der Unsicherheit und dem Rückzug des Exils am Beispiel des deutschen Architekten und Stadtplaners Bruno Taut, der vor den Nationalsozialisten flüchtete und nach Japan emigrierte. Indem der Film die Betrachter_innen auf eine teils visuelle, teils essayistische Reise führt, ist er eine poetische Collage aus verschiedenen Quellen: eigene Filmaufnahmen, historische Pressefotos und Dias aus der Sammlung der Künstlerin verflechten sich mit Archivfotografien und Tagebuchauszügen Tauts.

Shelter Cove (13 Min., 2-Kanal-Video, 2015) stellt zwei Begegnungen auf einem Road Trip entlang der Nahtstelle von Nordamerikanischer und Pazifscher Platte, dem San Andreas-Graben in Kalifornien, nebeneinander und berührt dabei Fragen der Einheit mit der Natur, der Macht und des Ausgeliefertseins, der Verunsicherung als eines latent stets vorhandenen inneren Zustands. Bilder von ‚La Miniatura‘, einem von Frank Lloyd Wright entworfenen Wohnhaus in Pasadena, verbinden sich mit Aufnahmen von einem Wettkampf von Kajak-Fischern in Shelter Cove im Norden Kaliforniens, an dem Punkt, wo der San Andreas-Graben das Festland verlässt und seine Spur im Pazifk verschwindet.
Ablagerungen der Geschichte manifestieren sich in Mikro-Geschichten in der Gegenwart, die von der Verletzlichkeit der Orte und Menschen erzählen. Durch das Netzwerk globaler Abhängigkeiten rückt ein Erdbeben in Kalifornien – jenseits von Koordinaten – in unmittelbare Nähe. Angesichts der zunehmenden Instabilität in der Welt untersucht der Film das unheimliche Gefühl der Furcht als Angst vor dem Möglichen.

Marianna CHRISTOFIDES ist eine Künstlerin, die aus Zypern stammt und in Berlin lebt. In ihren Filmessays und filmischen Installationen interessiert sie sich für das Nebeneinander geologischer und sozio-historischer Narrative sowie den Gebrauch bzw. Missbrauch des Naturbegriffs als Rechtfertigung für kulturelle Kontingenz. Seit 2009 weist Christofides eine international intensive Ausstellungstätigkeit auf; ihre Filme wurden auf vielen namhaften Filmfestivals in Europa gezeigt. Jüngste Einzelausstellungen: Parkfield Studies, Temporary Gallery, Köln (2017), Shelter Cove, Annaelle Gallery, Stockholm (2016), und Prennial Limbo, waterside contemporary, London (2016). Jüngste Ausstellungsbeteiligungen: Viaggio in Sicilia, Archäologisches Museum Salinas, Palermo (2017), Dejima. Concepts of In- and Exclusion, GAK Gesellschaft für Aktuelle Kunst, Bremen (2017), und Terra Mediterranea: In Action, Nicosia Municipal Arts Centre, Nicosia (2017), Uncertain States. Artistic strategies in States of Emergency / Uncertain States, und Künstlerisches Handeln in Ausnahmezuständen, Akademie der Künste Berlin (2016). Im Jahr 2011 vertrat Marianna Christofides (gemeinsam mit Elizabeth Hoak-Doering) Zypern auf der 54. Biennale in Venedig.
mariannachristofides.com

Veranstaltungsort
Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen

Weiherburggasse 13
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 278627
office@buchsenhausen.at

Mi-Fr 11.00 – 18.00
Sa 11.00 – 15.00