The Eye of the Camera

Screening of the episode 1-3 of the film »Third Person (Plural) (2017-19)« by Aikaterini GEGISIAN and discussion with Miguel AMADO (curator)

Aikaterini Gegisian, »Third Person (Plural)«, Filmstill, 2017-19

For her film Third Person (Plural) (2017-19) artist Aikaterini Gegisian has gathered visual material from the extensive archive of U.S. post-World War II newsreels, found at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. Third Person (Plural) (2017-19) has been mainly produced during Gegisian’s fellowship at Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen. The film explores the role newsreel-driven popular, visual culture plays in shaping – and controlling – the ‘image’ of the world, in particular its implication of creating otherness as well as national and supranational imaginations.

The event includes the presentation of the first three episodes of the film as well as a conversation between Gegisian and curator Miguel Amado on consequential questions. This includes topics like the newsreel as a specific film form which blends documentary and entertainment, as well as the complex relationship between Hollywood and the American armed forces while manufacturing ideological consent due to the development of new camera technologies and the formation of an industrial-spectacular-military complex.

The event takes place in the context of the artistic investigation Third Person (Plural) (2017-19) by Aikaterini GEGISIAN and will be held in English.

Aikaterini GEGISIAN is an artist of Greek-Armenian heritage that lives and works in the UK and Greece. Building on her contribution to the Armenian Pavilion, 56th Venice Biennale (2015 Golden Lion for best national participation), she has over the past two years developed a series of new commissions exploring the role of images in the construction of national and gendered identities, amongst others: Jewish Museum, Moscow; National Arts Museum of China, Beijing; Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art; BALTIC, Newcastle; Calvert 22 Foundation, London; Kunsthalle Osnabruck; DEPO, Istanbul; Yermilov Centre, Ukraine. During 2018 she was a Research Fellow at the Library of Congress, Washington DC.
gegisian.com

Miguel AMADO is a curator, currently Director and Curator of Cork Printmakers, Ireland. His practice explores alternative narratives of art history and art markets, revealing subaltern art practices and considering the useful dimension of art. He has been collaborating with Aikaterini Gegisian in recent years, curating her first film survey and commissioning various works for Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art, in England, where he served as Senior Curator between 2015 and 2018.

Location
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Wed-Fri 11.00 – 18.00
Sat 11.00 – 15.00

The Eye of the Camera

Vorführung der Episoden 1-3 des Films »Third Person (Plural) (2017-19)« von Aikaterini GEGISIAN und Diskussion mit Miguel AMADO (Kurator)

Aikaterini Gegisian, »Third Person (Plural)«, Filmstill, 2017-19

Third Person (Plural) (2017-19) von Aikaterini Gegisian bezieht sein visuelles Material aus dem umfangreichen Archiv US-amerikanischer Wochenschauen der Nachkriegsjahre 1945–1957, die die Künstlerin aus der Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. zusammengetragen hat. Der Film entstand größtenteils während Gegisians Fellowship im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen. Er geht der Rolle nach, die die damalige visuelle Populärkultur unter dem starken Einfluss der Wochenschau-Ästhetik bei der Gestaltung – und Gestaltungs- sowie Vermittlungskontrolle – des „Weltbildes“ spielte, insbesondere hinsichtlich ihrer Bedeutung in der Herstellung sowohl von Andersartigkeit als auch von nationalen sowie supranationalen Zugehörigkeitsvorstellungen.

Nach der Vorführung der ersten drei Episoden aus Gegisians Film werden einige der darin hervorgerufenen Fragen in einem Gespräch zwischen der Künstlerin und dem Kurator Miguel Amado diskutiert. Dazu gehören Themen wie die Wochenschau als spezifische Filmform, die Dokumentation und Unterhaltung miteinander verbindet, sowie das vielschichtige Verhältnis zwischen Hollywood und den amerikanischen Streitkräften bei der Herstellung eines ideologischen Konsenses durch die Entwicklung neuer Kameratechnologien und die Bildung eines industriell-spektakulär-militärischen Komplexes.

Die Veranstaltung findet im Kontext der künstlerischen Investigation Third Person (Plural) (2017-19) von Aikaterini GEGISIAN und in englischer Sprache statt.

Aikaterini GEGISIAN ist griechisch-armenischer Herkunft; sie lebt und arbeitet zwischen Großbritannien und Griechenland. Aufbauend auf ihrem Beitrag im armenischen Pavillon bei der 56. Biennale von Venedig (2015, Goldener Löwe für die beste nationale Teilnahme), hat sie in den letzten beiden Jahren eine Reihe von Auftragsarbeiten entwickelt, die die Rolle von Bildern bei der Konstruktion nationaler und genderspezifischer Identitäten erkunden. Sie wurden unter anderem im Jüdischen Museum, Moskau; dem National Arts Museum of China, Peking; dem Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art,UK; im BALTIC, Newcastle; in der Calvert 22 Foundation, London; in der Kunsthalle Osnabrück; im DEPO, Istanbul; und dem Yermilov Centre, Ukraine gezeigt. 2018 war sie Research Fellow in der Library of Congress, Washington DC.
gegisian.com

Miguel AMADO ist Direktor sowie Kurator von Cork Printmakers, Irland. Seine Praxis erforscht alternative Narrative zum Mainstream des Kunstmarkts und der Kustgeschichte, und kehrt unter Berücksichtigung von Zweckdienlichkeitsaspekten subalterne Kunstpraktiken hervor. In den letzten Jahren hat er mit Aikaterini Gegisian zusammengearbeitet, ihre erste Filmretrospektive kuratiert und verschiedene Arbeiten für das Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art, England, in Auftrag gegeben, wo er von 2015 bis 2018 als Senior Curator tätig war.

Veranstaltungsort
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Mi-Fr 11.00 – 18.00
Sa 11.00 – 15.00