Transgressions of the Real

Kush Badhwar | Yara Haskiel | Ash Moniz | Mykola Ridnyi

Photo: Andrei Siclodi | Design: Annette Sonnewend

An exhibition of the Büchsenhausen Fellowship Program for Art and Theory 2020-21.

curated by Andrei Siclodi

OPENING: Thursday 17 June 2021, 18.00 – 22.00
DURATION OF THE EXHIBITION: 18 June 2021 – 7 August 2021
OPENING HOURS: Wed – Fri 12.00 – 18.00; Sat 11.00 – 15.00

The participants of the Fellowship Program 2020-21 show works produced in Büchsenhausen, hypostatizing the real as socio-political scenarios of the present. Counter-narratives of the founding of the state in regard to Telangana, India’s youngest federal state; strategies of commemoration at socially contested sites in Thessaloniki; the phenomenon of “flags of convenience” and the legal and labor-social shifts that come along with this “territorial expansion” of national states, as well as the representation of violence without reproducing its images constitute the central themes around which the artistic works were developed.

Current information on events taking place at Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen in the context of the exhibition can be found on our website.

The visit of the exhibition and participating in the events is possible only in accordance with the current legal COVID-19 regulations.

Artists:

Kush BADHWAR is an artist and filmmaker operating across media, art, cinematic and other social contexts. He is interested in the ecology of sound and image across stretches of time and political change. He believes in the potential of research and collectivity. To this end he has worked closely with wala, Word Sound Power, Frontyard Projects and Khanabadosh.

Selected screening or exhibition of his work includes at Addis Video Art Festival, the Flaherty Seminar, Tallinn Photomonth Biennale, Five Million Incidents, Experimenta Bangalore, Sarai Reader 09, Videobrasil, and Forum Expanded, Berlinale. He has also undertaken Pad.ma’s Fellowship for Experiments with Video Archives and India Foundation of the Arts Archival Fellowship.
https://waydk.com/

Yara HASKIEL is a video artist and researcher. She studied Experimental Film and Art and Media at the University of Arts in Berlin and Hamburg with Hito Steyerl, Heinz Emigholz and Gerd Roscher. She holds a Master in Museology and Critical Theory from the Autonomous University of Barcelona. In 2014-15 she took part in the Independent Studies Program (PEI) at the Museum for Contemporary Art (MACBA) in Barcelona. Her collaborative exhibition project Personal Geographies was realized in Berlin and Belgrade (2016-2018). In 2019, her research project Assembly of Sleepless Matter was granted with the Artist Research Fellowship by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe, Berlin. Currently she is a PHD scholar of the Rosa-Luxemburg-Foundation and at the Visual Culture Department at Goldsmiths, London.
Central themes of her work are the connections between memory and (dis-) placement of minor and forgotten narratives and their trans-generational affective constellations. Further she focusses on micro politics and its precarities. Yara Haskiel generates video essays and multi-screen installations that embrace reflexivity by experimenting with video diary, found footage and new media.
https://vimeo.com/haskielproductions

Ash MONIZ is a multi-disciplinary artist whose practice spans performance, installation, video and film. Their research deals with the securitization of supply-chain logistics and its labor. Through interviews and performative collaborations, they work with the ways that stories are told, deconstructing the temporality of narrative structure in Just-In-Time transportation logistics. The word “plot” and its historical etymological connection between land ownership and the arrangement of dramatic structure on a stage, is foundational to how Moniz approaches the intersection of cartography and scenography. Working with artifacts, documents, and found media that span from London 1792 to Sokhna 2013, Moniz “plots” systematic procedures of motion within the flows of value, subject hood, and causality.

Along with a BA from OCAD University (Toronto), Moniz has participated in independent study programs such as Raw Academy (Dakar, Senegal), the Harun Farocki Institute (Berlin, Germany) and Mass Alexandria (Alexandria, Egypt). Moniz’s exhibitions include solo shows at Townhouse Gallery (Cairo), Sishang Museum (Beijing), and Birch Contemporary (Toronto); duo exhibitions at Kelder Projects (London) and Pari Nadimi (Toronto); and group shows at Forum Expanded | Berlinale (Berlin), the Dakar Biennale (Dakar), and the Minsheng Museum (Shanghai) [among others]. They teach at the Cairo Institute for Liberal Arts and Sciences, and write art criticism for the Egyptian online-magazine Mada Masr. Moniz was a member of the artist collective ADL from 2014-2018, and were the assistant curator of the AMNUA Museum in Nanjing, China, in 2014/15.

Mykola RIDNYI is an artist, filmmaker and essayist based in Kyiv, Ukraine. He works across media, ranging from early political actions in public space to the fusion of site-specific installations, photography and the moving image which constitute the current focus of his practice. In recent films he experiments with nonlinear montage, and a collage of documentary and fiction. His way of reflecting social and political reality draws on the contrast between fragility and resilience of individual stories and collective histories. A connection with alternative times and phenomena, the influence of the past to the present and future, and the pressing polemic of manipulating historical memory born out of contemporary political agendas are among the main issues revealed in his engagements, initiatives, and projects.

Ridnyi has been a founding member of the SOSka group – an art collective originated from Kharkiv, Ukraine. He is a contributing editor of Prostory, an online magazine about art and society. His works has been exhibited in Venice biennale for contemporary art, The School of Kyiv – Kyiv biennale, Pinakothek der Moderne in Munich, daad galerie in Berlin, Transmediale in Berlin, Zentrum fur Kunst und Media in Karlsruhe, Galerie fur Zeitgenossische Kunst in Leipzig, Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw, Bonniers konsthall in Stockholm and others. He has been a scholar of Akademie der Kunst in Berlin, Iaspis in Stockholm, Gaude Polonia in Krakow and others.
http://www.mykolaridnyi.com/

Location
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 58 11 33
office@kuenstlerschaft.at

Wed-Fri 12.00 – 18.00
Sat 11.00 – 15.00

Transgressions of the Real

Kush Badhwar | Yara Haskiel | Ash Moniz | Mykola Ridnyi

Foto: Andrei Siclodi | Design: Annette Sonnewend

Eine Ausstellung des Büchsenhausen Fellowship-Programms für Kunst und Theorie 2020-21.

kuratiert von Andrei Siclodi

ERÖFFNUNG: Donnerstag, 17. Juni 2021, 18.00 – 22.00
AUSSTELLUNGSDAUER: 18. Juni 2021 – 7. August 2021
ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN: Mi – Fr 12.00 – 18.00; Sa 11.00 – 15.00

Die Teilnehmer:innen am Fellowship-Programm 2020-21 zeigen in Büchsenhausen entwickelte Arbeiten, die das Reale als soziopolitische Szenarien der Gegenwart hypostasieren. Gegenerzählungen der Staatsgründung im Hinblick auf Telangana, den jüngsten Bundesstaat Indiens; Strategien des Erinnerns an gesellschaftlich umkämpften Orten in Thessaloniki; das Phänomen der „Billigflaggen“ und die rechtlichen und arbeitssozialen Verschiebungen, die mit dieser „territorialen Erweiterung“ von Nationalstaaten einhergehen sowie die Darstellbarkeit von Gewalt, ohne Gewaltbilder zu reproduzieren, bilden die thematischen Schwerpunkte, um die die künstlerischen Arbeiten entwickelt wurden.

Aktuelle Informationen zu im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen im Rahmen der Ausstellung stattfindenden Veranstaltungen finden Sie auf unserer Website.

Der Besuch der Ausstellung und der Veranstaltungen ist nur unter Einhaltung der aktuellen COVID-19 Regularien möglich.

Die Künstler:innen:

Kush BADHWAR ist ein Künstler und Filmemacher, der sich mit Medien, Kunst, Film und weiteren gesellschaftlichen Kontexten befasst. Er interessiert sich für die Ökologie von Ton und Bild über Zeitspannen und politische Veränderungen hinweg. Er glaubt an das Potenzial von Forschung und Kollektivität. Unter anderem hat er eng mit wala, Word Sound Power, Frontyard Projects und Khanabadosh zusammengearbeitet.

Ausgewählte Filmvorführungen oder Ausstellungen seiner Arbeit fanden u.a. beim Addis Video Art Festival, dem Flaherty Seminar, der Tallinn Photomonth Biennale, Five Million Incidents, Experimenta Bangalore, Sarai Reader 09, Videobrasil und Forum Expanded, Berlinale statt. Zudem war er Stipendiat des Pad.ma’s Fellowship for Experiments with Video Archives und des India Foundation of the Arts Archival Fellowship.
https://waydk.com/

Yara HASKIEL ist Videokünstlerin und Forscherin. Sie studierte Experimentalfilm sowie Kunst und Medienkunst an der Universität der Künste in Berlin und Hamburg bei Hito Steyerl, Heinz Emigholz und Gerd Roscher. Sie erhielt einen Master in Museologie und Kritischer Theorie von der Autonomen Universität Barcelona. 2014-15 nahm sie am Program for Independent Studies (PEI) am Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst (MACBA) in Barcelona teil. Ihr gemeinschaftliches Ausstellungsprojekt Personal Geographies wurde in Berlin und Belgrad (2016-2018) gezeigt. Im Jahr 2019 wurde ihr Forschungsprojekt Assembly of Sleepless Matter mit dem Künstler-Forschungsstipendium des Senatsreferats für Kultur und Europa, Berlin, ausgezeichnet. Derzeit ist sie Doktorandin der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung und des Institute for Visual Cultures am Goldsmiths, London.

Die Zusammenhänge zwischen Erinnerung und Dislokation von kleinen und vergessenen Erzählungen und deren transgenerationellen affektiven Konstellationen sind zentrale Themen in ihrer Arbeit. Darüber hinaus beschäftigt sie sich mit Mikropolitiken und deren Prekaritäten. Yara Haskiel experimentiert mit Videotagebüchern, Found Footage und neuen Medien und entwickelt daraus Video-Essays und Multi-Screen-Installationen, die sich der Reflexivität verschreiben.

Ihre Video-Essays wurden ausgestellt und vorgeführt unter anderem in: Goethe-Institut Toronto und Nikosia, Biennale Athen, Galerie àngels barcelona, Kunsthalle am Hamburger Platz, Capacete Athen, Podroom Galerie Belgrad, Contemporary Institute for Art & Thought, Berlin, texture Berlin, Galerie BHVH Stemmer Kopenhagen, Centre de Cultura de Dones Francesca, Barcelona, Monitor Fest Iraklio, Polychoros KET Athen, Dimitria Thessaloniki, Internationales Frauenfilmfestival Dortmund / Köln, Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen, Kassler Dokfest, goEast Wiesbaden, Moldoist Internationales Filmfestival Kiew, Festival du Court-Métrage de Clermont-Ferrand, Kampnagel-Theater Hamburg, Ballhaus Naunynstraße, Universität Wien, Alice-Salomon-Universität, Universität Perugia, Universität Thessalien.
https://vimeo.com/haskielproductions

Ash MONIZ ist ein* multidisziplinärer* Künstler*, dessen* Praxis die Medien Performance, Installation, Video und Film umfasst. In seinen* Recherchen geht es gegenwärtig um die Absicherungen von Lieferketten-Logistik und die damit verbundene Arbeit. Anhand von Interviews und mithilfe performativer Kollaborationen setzen sich die Investigationen mit der Art und Weise der Erzählung von Geschichten auseinander. Die Zeitlichkeit der Erzählstruktur der Just-in-Time-Transportlogistik wird dabei deskonstruiert. Das englische Wort „plot“ und seine historische etymologische Verbindung zwischen Landbesitz und der Anordnung der dramatischen Struktur einer Bühneinszenierung ist grundlegend dafür, wie Moniz an die Schnittstelle von Kartographie und Szenographie herangeht. Moniz arbeitet mit Artefakten, Dokumenten und gefundenen Medien, die von London 1792 bis Sokhna 2013 reichen, und „zeichnet“ systematische Bewegungsabläufe innerhalb der Wertströmungen, Subjektstatus und Kausalität „auf“.

Mit einem BA von der OCAD Universität,Toronto hat Moniz an unabhängigen Studienprogrammen wie der Raw Academy (Dakar, Senegal), dem Harun Farocki Institut (Berlin) und Mass Alexandria (Alexandria, Ägypten) teilgenommen. Einzelausstellungen fanden in der Townhouse Gallery (Kairo), dem Sishang Museum (Peking) und Birch Contemporary (Toronto) satt; Duo-Ausstellungen bei Kelder Projects (London) und Pari Nadimi (Toronto); und Gruppenausstellungen im Forum Expanded | Berlinale (Berlin), der Biennale Dakar (Dakar) und dem Minsheng Museum (Shanghai) [u.a.]. Er* lehrt am Cairo Institute for Liberal Arts and Sciences und schreibt Kunstkritiken für das ägyptische Online-Magazin Mada Masr. Moniz war von 2014-2018 Mitglied des Künstler:innenkollektivs ADL und 2014-15 stellvertretender Kurator* des AMNUA-Museums in Nanjing, China.

Mykola RIDNYI ist Künstler, Filmemacher und Essayist und lebt in Kiew, Ukraine. Seine Arbeit ist medienübergreifend und reicht von frühen politischen Aktionen im öffentlichen Raum bis hin zur Verschmelzung von ortsspezifischen Installationen, Fotografie und Bewegtbildern. In seinen jüngsten Filmen experimentiert er mit nichtlinearen Montage- und Collagetechniken an der Schnittstelle zwischen Dokumentation und Fiktion. Die Verbindung mit alternativen Zeiten und Phänomenen, der Einfluss der Vergangenheit auf die Gegenwart und Zukunft sowie die drängende Polemik der Manipulation des historischen Gedächtnisses, die sich aus zeitgenössischen politischen Agenden ableiten lässt, gehören zu den Hauptthemen, die sich in seinen Engagements, Initiativen und Projekten zeigen.
Ridnyi war Gründungsmitglied der Gruppe SOSka – ein Kunstkollektiv, das seinen Ursprung in Charkiw, Ukraine, hat. Er ist mitwirkender Herausgeber von Prostory, einem Online-Magazin über Kunst und Gesellschaft. Seine Werke wurden u.a. auf der Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst in Venedig, der Biennale Schule von Kiew – Kiew, der Pinakothek der Moderne in München, der daad galerie in Berlin, der Transmediale in Berlin, dem Zentrum für Kunst und Medien in Karlsruhe, der Galerie für Zeitgenossische Kunst in Leipzig, dem Museum für Moderne Kunst in Warschau und der Bonniers konsthall in Stockholm ausgestellt. Er war u.a. Stipendiat der Akademie der Künste in Berlin, Iaspis in Stockholm und Gaude Polonia in Krakau.
http://www.mykolaridnyi.com/

Veranstaltungsort
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 58 11 33
office@kuenstlerschaft.at

Mi-Fr 12.00 – 18.00
Sa 11.00 – 15.00