Benjamin Zanon

Lung, multiliner and coloured pencil on paper, 2017

Zanon heightens his own creativity through collaboration with artists and scientists from various fields, one example being his continuing cooperation with contemporary composer, Daniel Oliver Moser, but there are also projects with archaeologists (Mercatorquartier Duisburg), geologists, urban planners, architects and musicians.

Immersion in his own work always involves outside stimulus: the impression serves as a starting point, as the foundation of all creative production. Insofar, it is understandable that Benjamin Zanon very much enjoys travelling and frequently does so, as exchange with the unfamiliar (on both a personal and a spatial level) acts as a motor on the one hand, always spurring on his creative production, and like a catalyst clarifying his thoughts and ideas on the other. Essential components of Zanon’s work, therefore, are openness towards the new and the unknown, thereby always adopting the role of the observer with an attentive eye, and translating experiences, impressions and perceptions into creative output.

Benjamin ZANON was born in Lienz/East Tyrol in 1981. From 2001 to 2004 he studied architecture at the Technical University in Vienna, followed by philosophy at the University of Vienna until 2006. In 2008 he moved to Düsseldorf, where he began studies of fine art and sculpture at the city’s art academy. As from 2009 he studied in Professor Richard Deacon’s class, becoming the latter’s master pupil in 2014. In February 2015 he completed his studies with the academy diploma and moved to Innsbruck, where he has lived and worked since. He has been a member of the Tiroler Künstler*schaft since summer 2015, and in April 2017 he moved into a studio in Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen.
www.benjamin-zanon.at

Benjamin Zanon

Benjamin Zanon, Zns, Multiliner auf Papier, 2017

Zanon vertieft sein Schaffen durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Künstlern und Wissenschaftlern aus unterschiedlichen Gebieten, als Beispiel sei die fortlaufende Kooperation mit dem zeitgenössischen Komponisten, Daniel Oliver Moser erwähnt aber auch Projekte mit Archäologen (Mercatorquartier Duisburg), Geologen, Stadtplanern, Architekten und Musikern.

Die Vertiefung in der eigenen Arbeit nimmt immer Anklang von außen, der Eindruck dient als Ausgangspunkt, die Impression als Grundlage jeder Schöpfung. Insofern ist es verständlich, dass sich Benjamin Zanon sehr gerne und häufig auf Reisen begibt, denn der Austausch mit dem Unbekannten (sowohl auf persönlicher, als auch auf räumlicher Ebene) wirkt einerseits wie ein Motor, der das kreative Schaffen stets vorantreibt und andererseits wie ein Katalysator, der die Gedanken und Ideen klärt. Offenheit gegenüber Neuem und Unbekanntem, dabei stets mit wachsamen Auge die Rolle des Beobachters ein zu nehmen und Erfahrungen, Eindrücke und Wahrnehmungen in kreativen Output zu übersetzen sind folglich wesentliche Bestandteile der Arbeit Zanons.

Von 2001 bis 2004 studierte Benjamin ZANON Architektur an der technischen Universität in Wien, anschließend bis 2006 Philosophie an der Universität Wien. 2008 wechselte er nach Düsseldorf und begann dort das Studium der freien Kunst, Bildhauerei an der hiesigen Kunstakademie. Ab 2009 studierte er in der Klasse von Professor Richard Deacon, der ihn 2014 zum Meisterschüler ernannte. Im Februar 2015 schloss er das Studium mit dem Akademiebrief ab und übersiedelte nach Innsbruck, wo er seitdem lebt und arbeitet. Seit Sommer 2015 ist er Mitglied bei der Tiroler Künstler*schaft und im April 2017 bezog er ein Atelier im Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen.
www.benjamin-zanon.at