Stefan Hayn

Stefan Hayn, NEVER EVER CLEVER, 2015

In Büchsenhausen Hayn would like to undertake a critical examination of contemporary premises and manifestations behind the visual narrative for children in various media – film, television, (audio-) book, Internet. His interest focuses on ideas articulated in these formats regarding the significance of images and narrative within the traditional context.

In the German-speaking countries children’s film, children’s media, family entertainment seem to have been (re-)discovered as a “highly-promising market sector” in the last ten to fifteen years. The branding campaigns to seduce a young audience across the board early on, meanwhile, are being copied successfully from the Disney productions originally seen as an all-powerful competitor. Beyond this profit aspect, however, a far-reaching analysis of content, visual quality and “morality” standards will be one of the study’s foremost interests; looking at how they are maintained above all by critically positioned forums (production and reception) and consortia dealing with “other”, “high-quality” children’s film. A majority of current German children’s media, according to Hayn, is characterized not least by a retro-trend. Here, it seems that standards of the media workers’ own childhood and youth, now that they have become parents, are being staged for children by the parent generation in a sentimentalizing, ironically heightened or distanced way – “Cold War”, anti-authoritarian ideas and, subconsciously, authoritarian national-socialist (still) influenced worlds of emotion.

Before the background of more recent psychoanalytical studies on the psychosexual development of children, another intention is to examine selected examples from the field of children’s media for their implications in this respect. A further aspect of the research will comprise narrative and artistic works that adopt an interim position, as they do not address (only) children and young people explicitly, but refer very precisely to childhood and youth and so (need to) deal with the question of how (intimate-personal) childhood experiences can be related/shown in order to make the outcome watchable for children. What taboos and limits are touched upon, breached, and possibly violated in this context?

Hayn’s work project will also seek to incorporate practical-empirical cooperation with children and young people, authors and artists, responsible parties in the media, therapists, educationalists and teachers. The results of the research will be shown in public presentations and discussed with invited guests.

Stefan Hayn lives in Berlin. His films released since 1989 question artistic as well as cinematic categorisation, and reject simplistic genre attributions. His works (films, painting, essays) have been presented in a wide range of art and film contexts. He has taught at Berlin University of the Arts, specializing in the interrelations of film and painting.

Stefan Hayn is a painter and filmmaker. In his more recent works he attempts to enable an emotional experience of film-immanent processes or – in comparisons within the exhibition space – processes of painterly or filmic perception including their social-historical and biographical-individual connections. He also reflects on artistic approaches aiming towards openness in conceptual-essayistic works. He presents his films in cinemas, on TV, and at international festivals. Most recently, the Heidelberger Kunstverein and the Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig, Vienna showed a selection of his film works and paintings.

For a filmography of Stefan Hayn, see also:
filmportal.de: Stefan Hayn

Stefan Hayn

Stefan Hayn, NIE WIEDER KLUG, 2015

In Büchsenhausen möchte Hayn gegenwärtige Prämissen und Ausprägungsformen bildhaften Erzählens für Kinder in unterschiedlichen Medien – Film, Fernsehen, (Hör)Buch, Internet – einer kritischen Untersuchung unterziehen. Im Mittelpunkt des Interesses stehen die in diesen Formaten sich artikulierenden Vorstellungen zur Bedeutung von Bildern und Erzählung im Tradierungszusammenhang.

Im deutschsprachigen Raum scheinen der Kinderfilm, die Kindermedien, das familiy entertainment seit etwa zehn bis fünfzehn Jahren als „vielversprechendes Marktsegment“ (wieder)entdeckt worden zu sein. Die ein Kinderpublikum frühzeitig und flächendeckend „verführenden“ Branding-Kampagnen werden mittlerweile erfolgreich von den ursprünglich als übermächtige Konkurrenz angesehenen Disney-Produktionen „abgeschaut“. Über diesen Profitaspekt hinaus interessiert in der Untersuchung aber in erster Linie eine tiefer gehende Analyse der inhaltlichen, bildnerischen und „moralischen“ Maßgaben, wie sie vor allem auch von den sich kritisch situierenden Foren bzw. (Produktions- und Rezeptions-) Zusammenschlüssen zum „anderen“, „wertvollen“ Kinderfilm behauptet werden. Aktuelle deutschsprachige Kindermedien zeichnen sich laut Hayn mehrheitlich nicht zuletzt durch einen Retro-Trend aus. Hier scheinen die Maßgaben der eigenen Kinder- und Jugendzeit der zu Eltern gewordenen Medienarbeiter_innen von diesen sentimentalisierend oder ironisch überhöht bzw. distanziert für Kinder ins Bild gesetzt zu werden – „Kalter Krieg“, antiautoritäre Ideen und unbewusst autoritär-nationalsozialistisch (weiter)geprägte Gefühlswelten.

Vor dem Hintergrund neuerer psychoanalytischer Studien zur psychosexuellen Entwicklung von Kindern sollen ausgewählte Beispiele aus dem Kindermedienbereich auf ihre jeweiligen Implikationen hin untersucht werden. Einen weiteren Teil der Recherche werden erzählerische wie bildnerische Werke ausmachen, die eine Zwischenposition einnehmen, da sie nicht explizit (nur) Kinder und Jugendliche ansprechen, sondern sich sehr genau auf Kindheit und Jugend beziehen und damit mit der Frage umgehen (müssen), wie (intim-persönliche) kindliche Erfahrungen erzählt/gezeigt werden können, um das Ergebnis auch für Kinder anschaubar zu machen. Welche Tabus und Grenzen werden dabei berührt, überschritten, möglicherweise verletzt?

Hayns Arbeitsvorhaben wird auch versuchen, praktisch-empirische Zusammenarbeit mit Kindern und Jugendlichen, Autor_innen und Künstler_innen, Medienverantwortlichen, Therapeut_innen, Erzieher_innen und Lehrer_innen einzubeziehen. Die Rechercheergebnisse sollen im Rahmen von öffentlichen Präsentationen vorgestellt und mit Gästen diskutiert werden.

Stefan Hayn lebt in Berlin. Seine seit 1989 veröffentlichten Filme hinterfragen künstlerische sowie filmische Kategorisierungen und verweigern sich einfachen Genrezuschreibungen. Seine Arbeiten (Filme, Malerei, Essays) wurden in unterschiedlichen Kunst- und Filmkontexten präsentiert. Er lehrte an der Universität der Künste Berlin schwerpunktmäßig zum Verhältnis von Film und Malerei.

Stefan Hayn ist Maler und Filmemacher. In seinen jüngeren Arbeiten versucht er, filmimmanent bzw. in Gegenüberstellungen im Ausstellungsraum malerische und filmische Wahrnehmungsprozesse in ihrer gesellschaftlich-historischen wie lebensgeschichtlich-individuellen Anbindung emotional erfahrbar zu machen. Die ins Offene angelegten bildnerischen Vorgehensweisen reflektiert er auch in begrifflich-essayistischen Arbeiten. Er präsentiert seine Filme im Kino, im Fernsehen und auf internationalen Festivals. Zuletzt zeigten der Heidelberger Kunstverein und das Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien eine Auswahl seiner malerischen und filmischen Arbeiten.

Zur Filmografie von Stefan Hayn siehe auch:
filmportal.de: Stefan Hayn